Chevron Left
Back to Innovation Through Design: Think, Make, Break, Repeat

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Innovation Through Design: Think, Make, Break, Repeat by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
724 ratings
215 reviews

About the Course

The evolution of design has seen it become a discipline no longer limited to the concerns of a singular, specific domain and develop to become a pathway for solving complex, nonlinear problems. Design is becoming a capability-enhancing skill, equipping people with the ability to deal with uncertainty, complexity and failure. In this course, we demonstrate how you can use design as a way of thinking to provide strategic and innovative advantage within your profession. Suitable for anyone who is curious about design and translating the processes and tools of design thinking into innovative opportunities, over 5 weeks we explore, apply and practice the design process: think, make, break and repeat. Through introducing theoretical concepts and examining industry case studies with leading Australian design firms, we investigate design as learning about the context (the thinking part), building prototypes as tangible representations (the making part) and testing potential solutions (the breaking part). We build on this by showing the productive value of moving through the process quickly and often (the repeating part), to improve ideas and develop new insights. Throughout the course, you will follow us through three of Australia’s most exciting design offices and learn from practicing designers and leaders in design. This insight into industry will enable you to develop a comprehensive understanding of design and the role it can and does play within the innovation landscape. You will leave this course with a set of practical tools and techniques to apply to situations within your own professional context, to translate problems into opportunities and solutions, and ultimately to innovate through design....

Top reviews

LL
Nov 7, 2020

Great overview of the design innovation process! The content is up-to-date and the professors really go above and beyond to make the course feel like a regular university course as much as possible.

AS
Feb 14, 2020

a light introduction to design thinking. not too taxing. easy to understand concepts with some practical applications tested. good stepping stone to more rigorous and testing design thinking courses

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 216 Reviews for Innovation Through Design: Think, Make, Break, Repeat

By Nuno M G

Dec 26, 2019

Nice course plan, liked mostly the contribution of companies. Reasing could be updated in some topics.

By Jhonny P S G

Oct 21, 2020

Excellent course. It provides a very clear theoretical and practical vision of innovation management.

By Sivabaraneedaran K

Jun 14, 2021

An excellent introduction to design principles.... A great eyeopener. Thank you very much Faculties.

By HITESH P M

Jan 26, 2021

The course contents are excellent and leads to self changing mode towards Total Positivity...

By SUBASH N N

Jan 26, 2021

USEFUL AND LEARNED NEW KNOWLEDGE AND ALSO NEW IDEAS I THANK UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY AND COURSERA

By Julián D V M

Sep 16, 2020

The most amazing course in the world! Very good explain, so interactive and full of knowledge

By rohijas s

Mar 3, 2021

The combination of video, reading assignment, quizzes etc. is effective and helpful to me.

By KANDUKURI S R V T

Sep 25, 2020

One of the well designed and well organized courses. Thoroughly satisfied by the course.

By Ms. B A C

Jun 13, 2020

Great learning opportunity.. very helpful and can be implemented in teaching methodology

By Ishani S C

Nov 1, 2020

I loved the course!! It really made me get more interested about designing!! Thank you!

By Dan M

May 17, 2021

Well paced and great practical examples. Loved the industry involvement and insights.

By ALEXANDER D S L

Apr 22, 2021

The course is very efficient and allows a raise on the vision about the design world.

By Aman A

Jan 25, 2021

Thanks peeps! Knowledge and learning is the starting point to all change.

Keep it up!

By Daniel S

Feb 12, 2021

A great short course to provide informative insights into Design and Design Thinking

By Teerapipat P

Jun 29, 2020

Such an inspiring and great start of my first design thinking class. I'm so impress.

By Oscar R

Feb 25, 2021

A very informartive and useful course that casn be applied for the education field.

By Ogunrinola V

Jan 30, 2021

Such an Interesting course that gives you a great insight into the world of Design.

By Sheeraz R

Jan 26, 2021

Amazing Course for Designers belonging to any field to learn D&I fundamentals,

By Aira C

Mar 23, 2021

I learned a lot in this course. I'm looking forward to use it for my future.

By Hormuzd U

Nov 22, 2018

Love the course and the format. The structure and flexibility works for me.

By Y S R R

May 31, 2020

This corse helped me a lot in learning the fundamentals of Design thinking

By Felipe S P

Feb 9, 2021

Excelente curso, muy explicativo y contiene mucho material para aprender.

By Lilekha

May 24, 2020

Really helpful for those who want to know more about design as a process.

By Ravi S J

Feb 28, 2021

Course was helpful to learn about the basic concepts of Design thinking

By RAMESH S K

Jan 24, 2021

Amazing course & very well explained by faculty, really useful for all