Chevron Left
Back to Intellectual Humility: Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Intellectual Humility: Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
324 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Top reviews

GL
Jun 3, 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT
Jun 30, 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 88 Reviews for Intellectual Humility: Theory

By scalesr4

Mar 18, 2018

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

By Howard C

Jun 9, 2017

Excellent course to go through and learn from.

By Asif S B

Mar 14, 2017

One of the most important courses in Coursera!

By AHMED E M

Jan 9, 2021

Very Interesting and educational course.

By Mobashir A

Aug 26, 2020

Wonderful approach. Wonderful examples.

By Alma D

Apr 24, 2017

Very interesting and great course!

By Ionut M C

Apr 10, 2019

Great content, enjoyed the talks.

By Roberto R

Jan 14, 2018

thanks,everybody should do it :-)

By Andrew W

Sep 6, 2021

Great Course really enjoyed it

By Lojain A

Dec 29, 2016

worth every minute of my time!

By Ricardo V

Sep 6, 2020

Outstanding, really very good

By Abdulrahman M

Jan 7, 2019

This is an eye-opening course

By Daniel F

Jun 7, 2020

Un curso muy expectacular

By Mehrdad M

Jun 20, 2017

I learned a lot!

By Tolulope V K

Aug 14, 2017

its top noch

By Vishakha V J

May 24, 2020

Good course

By kerry a

May 24, 2020

loved it

By Oky T S

Dec 11, 2016

Superb !

By DrSHAIK L

Sep 5, 2020

Good

By Sebastian K

Mar 15, 2017

The course gives a good basic insight to the topic of intellectual humility although in the beginning it fails a little in telling why intellectual humility is so important. (roughly the message was: "you get along better with other people and yourself")

As the question "what is (intellectual) humility" is more a philosophical question than a practical experience this course cannot provide you with a tool that helps you to be more humble within a few days, to improve your humility and to measure someone elses humility but the course helps you asking yourself the right questions. ("Is social status important to me? Can I accept different opinions?...)

It was my first coursera experience and I am satisfied with it. However, the videos are a bit oldfahsioned in style - if it was intended to give the videos an antique look - well done ;-)

By Carey N

Feb 2, 2019

This was a somewhat difficult and challenging course for me. I felt it was more technical than I expected. I really liked it a lot. This is my first Coursera course so the four stars is more to leave room for future courses that I take that might exceed this one. This was a great course and I would highly recommend it.

By Robert S

Apr 22, 2020

This course was a wonderful change of pace. I really enjoyed taking a look at humanity in a different perspective. It arms you will another way to look at individuals and yourself to understand if you can justify their take on information in regards to looking at subjects with an epistemic view.

By Georgios K

Mar 25, 2017

A very good short course on an important intellectual trait, the intellectual humility. The videos were very informative, and the lecturers did not require a prior knowledge on philosophy or psychology. I managed to complete the course even though I did not have more than 2-3 hours per week.

By Miguel M

Dec 23, 2016

Very interesting subject and well structured course, with good exposition of the subject. Looking forward into Part 2! Knocked one star off (would be half if I could) just because there is some discontinuity between the three sections/speakers and still a couple of rough edges to smooth out.

By Stuart M

May 25, 2020

Topic and course are quite interesting. Lectures are clear and easy to follow, but don't have much spark, so not a five stars.