Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,369 ratings
690 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 674 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Anna L

Jun 16, 2018

This was an incredibly rewarding and all-around fun course! I would definitely recommend this course to any beginners who want to learn a little Python in an interesting way!

By Kevin

Nov 13, 2017

It's a really fun and good course! I love every project in it, building games while learning is fun!

By xin j

Mar 10, 2018

Wonderful

By Deleted A

Jul 11, 2017

Very good for introduction to python

By Cg2218

Jan 25, 2017

It is an interesting course, and you can make a little game after learning it!

By Cristian A

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent!

By Fabio A

Apr 03, 2017

Fantastic!

By Evgeniia P

Jul 05, 2018

Great course - I used to learn on other resources but like this one the most of all. Right amount of fun and clear explanations, all lecturers are very nice!

By Henok S

Mar 23, 2017

I love it!! The teachers are very smart and fun!!

By Jose D

Sep 28, 2016

Excelente taller para iniciarse sin mayor experiencia e inclusive para aquellos que alguna vez han desarrollado y no lo hacen desde hace mucho tiempo, tal como es mi caso. Altamente recomendado para ampliar las competencias y capacidades de desarrollo de soluciones.

By Thomas M F

Nov 07, 2017

Tough but rewarding

By Tina H

Feb 11, 2018

Good learning experience! I'd like to learn more~

By Sergio J S

Mar 19, 2018

It was a great introduction to Python, I highly recommend it to anybody trying to learn programming, it was understandable and very applied.

By Yash C

Apr 18, 2017

Great course and i l love codeskulptor.But the ui is a little bit boring

By Louisa N

Jan 25, 2018

Enjoyed learning through games and the challenges put up. they make you practice a lot which is good when trying to grasp new concepts.The course is quite interesting and easy to spend a lot of time on without realizing.

By Márton A N

Aug 03, 2017

Fantastic! Quality work from the instructors on both the videos and the infrastructure created for this course. I plan on doing the whole series.

By Sathvik R

Jul 13, 2017

awesome course

By Jayadev H

Apr 05, 2018

Quite simple if one knows programming already but still quite fun mostly because of the fun assessments.

By Claire C

Nov 19, 2017

easy to access from a codesculptor. Looking forward to the following contents

By Irad B D

May 10, 2018

Very informative and vivid

By Alexandra L M

Jun 14, 2017

This course was very interesting in that it is centered around gaming. I have had previous experience with other coding languages (Fortran and C++) , and I found this a refreshing way to learn Python.

The course structure is very concise and well organized.

The quizzes and mini-projects are helpful in solidifying specific concepts.

The professors are engaging and well-spoken. You are given a lot of useful information in a condensed time period, so sometimes it's helpful to be able to re-watch the videos.

All-in-all, this was a great course!

By Arthur-Lance

May 27, 2017

thanks a lot!!

By Chenguang Z

Aug 09, 2017

A great class, which make me have a basic knowledge of Python and I think I will keep learning python since it is a interesting language! Thanks all the teachers!

By bingqing.he

Jun 12, 2017

I really like this course. It is not only helpful, but also triggers my interest of learning!

By Yitbarek G

Jan 24, 2018

very interersting course