Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,332 ratings
683 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 666 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By James A

Jan 25, 2017

Quite enjoyable introduction to Python

By Alice L

Jun 23, 2017

I highly recommend this course. It's good and challenging, and the instructors are very good at introducing standards and concepts.

By avinash a

Jun 27, 2017

The course starts with building your foundations in python. It is really basic and anyone with basic knowledge of computing can finish this course. It is really enjoyable.

By Rohit K

Mar 24, 2017

Great course!!

By Abhishek K A

Jan 14, 2018

Great Course, Great Instructors!

By pit

Dec 18, 2016

Good For Beginners... Must check out this course

By Zhiyuan C

Jan 13, 2017

Awesome teachers, I learned a lot in testing as well as mini-programs

By Víctor J V Z

Sep 06, 2017

Useful, contextualized and fun. It's a great start point for a newbie to programming.

Thanks!

By Teijo N

Feb 16, 2017

Great course!

By Sangil Y

Feb 04, 2018

the best

By Muskaan C

Apr 03, 2017

Good level of programming. But for submitting your assignments you need to purchase the course only that is a negative point for this course. But the learning is awesome!

By Curtis S

Mar 14, 2017

What a great platform for e-learning. Thank you!

By YI

Dec 11, 2016

like it.

like the mini project a lot. it really helps you build up what you have learned and put it into practice. and also it benefits a lot from examine other peers assignment.

By Sharath R

Aug 08, 2017

Very good course.....very helpful.....starts from scratch and end in a very professional manner.....thank you so much.

By Deleted A

Jul 11, 2017

Very good for introduction to python

By Adrian M

Dec 20, 2016

Very good class. Provides the absolute basics of Python programming.

By Cg2218

Jan 25, 2017

It is an interesting course, and you can make a little game after learning it!

By Cristian A

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent!

By Omar H

Jan 06, 2017

Excelente, gran curso, muy bien explicado y los profesores son carismaticos!

By novajo

Jan 30, 2017

Very nice Python course. The quiz integrated in the video and behind a/b sections are also excellent.

By Tiankuang Z

Jan 09, 2018

It's a very helpful class. Teachers give clear introductions and detailed explanations of all issues. As a beginner, I can see my progress every single day. I found the most helpful part is the practical exercises and mini projects. Once you start doing them, they are not perceived as homework anymore. I can't express enough how satisfying I felt every time I finished a project. It doesn't matter if it is a rock paper game, a screen saver or a stopwatch, they are all the stable stages on which I can see a higher myself. Enjoy the class guys!

By Oswaldo S J

Sep 14, 2016

This course teaches the basics of programming in a very accesible way, and the professors adopt a cool and easy to grasp way of teaching.

10/10 - Would take the course again

By Donovan H M

Oct 27, 2016

Very informative class. A little bit on the easy side.

By kirioking

Nov 25, 2016

I love the projects. You learn essential problem-solving skills by developing simple games. I can't wait for Part 2 of the course.

By Alex B

Nov 26, 2017

Hands on right from the start. No BS.

User friendly working environment. No need to download any fancy text editors or heavy IDE.