Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,359 ratings
689 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 673 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Víctor J V Z

Sep 06, 2017

Useful, contextualized and fun. It's a great start point for a newbie to programming.

Thanks!

By Sangil Y

Feb 04, 2018

the best

By Muskaan C

Apr 03, 2017

Good level of programming. But for submitting your assignments you need to purchase the course only that is a negative point for this course. But the learning is awesome!

By KALYAN

Nov 02, 2017

Good Course.

By jmoran82

Aug 30, 2016

buen curso para principiantes

By Ya-Chuan M

Apr 01, 2018

Nice course.

By Adam H

Nov 17, 2016

Well put together course, the CodeSkulptor environment makes it very easy to write, troubleshoot, and share code for the projects. The lectures are well done and tackle things in an order that makes it easy to pick up if you're a complete beginner. You can also jump ahead if you already have some experience.

By Andrey V

Jun 16, 2017

Life changer!

By Tae J Y

Mar 11, 2017

Great classes!

By Yu W

Aug 31, 2016

This is a great class! It's full of fun and I have learned a lot. Thank you, Prof.s!

By SERGIO E A

May 30, 2017

Excellent course, I recommend it!

By YI

Dec 11, 2016

like it.

like the mini project a lot. it really helps you build up what you have learned and put it into practice. and also it benefits a lot from examine other peers assignment.

By Sharath R

Aug 08, 2017

Very good course.....very helpful.....starts from scratch and end in a very professional manner.....thank you so much.

By Adrian M

Dec 20, 2016

Very good class. Provides the absolute basics of Python programming.

By Omar H

Jan 06, 2017

Excelente, gran curso, muy bien explicado y los profesores son carismaticos!

By novajo

Jan 30, 2017

Very nice Python course. The quiz integrated in the video and behind a/b sections are also excellent.

By Tiankuang Z

Jan 09, 2018

It's a very helpful class. Teachers give clear introductions and detailed explanations of all issues. As a beginner, I can see my progress every single day. I found the most helpful part is the practical exercises and mini projects. Once you start doing them, they are not perceived as homework anymore. I can't express enough how satisfying I felt every time I finished a project. It doesn't matter if it is a rock paper game, a screen saver or a stopwatch, they are all the stable stages on which I can see a higher myself. Enjoy the class guys!

By Quentin L

Sep 14, 2016

Good course to learn the concepts deeply and make it registered by the brain, especially if you test and think things in parallel by yourself. Starting the second course right now.

By Yonah Z

Sep 29, 2016

Excellent course. Had a totally excellent experience.

By Joel D

Jan 17, 2017

Well done, well structured and fun. I am addicted

By Ale D

Jun 10, 2017

Very useful. Excellent introduction

By Ren-Chao L

Apr 21, 2017

The courses were easily understandable even people have no experience to design programs. I learned how to code using Python and how to design a game.

By Michael A

Mar 02, 2017

Well done beginner course to Python and computer programming.

By Dimitry

Apr 12, 2017

As a linguist by education and a person with no programming exprerience I can say that this course is rather difficult. At the same time it is interesting and filled with not only knolwedge but also with humour and fun (thanks to the professors).

And as far as I was able to accomplish it and to build a Pong game, I can recommend it as a first step into programming.

See you in part II

By Aleksandar N

Jul 27, 2016

Gr8 intro into py.