Chevron Left
Back to International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
1,067 ratings
229 reviews

About the Course

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Top reviews

AK
Dec 14, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
May 30, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 227 Reviews for International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

By Emayaval N

Jan 16, 2019

I found the course helpful. It would have been better if all the details have been covered in the video lectures instead of making it necessary to read book. I found that the books had few extra information that was not covered in the video.

By Diabe P

May 28, 2019

Thank you Coursera, through this forum i have learnt a lot i never thought was possible. the good thing with this is that you can learnt anywhere, anytime, and at your own pace and time. i will highly recommend this forum to anyone.

By AKUL D

Sep 14, 2020

A very insightful course into the field of International humanitarian law and practice. The application of the law and Geneva convention of 1949 and additional protocols 1 and 2 both play a vital role herein.

By Nymoom S

Apr 29, 2020

I have had a tremendous experience taking the course. Because the contents were so articulately decorated and the instructors were very deliberate in response to giving lectures. Learnt a lot.

By Derek D (

Jun 6, 2020

A good basic course, but with some questions to the academic gap between videos and the comprehensive material which can be downloaded.

The general impression is, however, very good

By Mary B

Sep 14, 2019

The course could have been more interactive and the discussion forums better managed, but overall the content was very good and I was able to gain a sound basic knowledge of IHL.

By Dayo O

Jun 15, 2021

t​he course was enlightening, i was able to learn a-lot and i would definitely be about to implement what i have learnt in situation i want to be in.

By Abu B J

Jun 11, 2020

I had an amazing experience learning about the International Humanitarian Law and look forward to more such online courses through Coursera !!

By Amin Z

Nov 28, 2019

Please add more topics, videos and materials to this course. It seems some important issues in IHL have not been discussed. Thanks.

By Scholastica M

Dec 16, 2020

very insightful course on IHL for beginners and those working with non state actors in conflict contexts . Kudos

By Joanna H

May 28, 2020

Great introductory course. Highly recommended for those without earlier experience but interested in IH

By Sonia K

Apr 7, 2020

Very good course for the basic concepts of IHL. I enjoyed the lectures and podcasts with experts.

By BADAGA E

Mar 19, 2020

I appreciate the way this MOOC is designed to quench thirst of readers who are committed to learn

By Malou v B

May 1, 2019

I helpful, easy way to learn more about IHL. Great level and doable hours. Thank you!

By MBIANYOR B A J

Mar 15, 2020

A great course to understand the technicalities of International Humanitarian Law.

By Yasmin E

Jun 15, 2020

Recommending this course especially if you want more knowledge about IHL.

By Aurora S

May 1, 2020

Very clear and weel structured. It gives a good insights on the topic

By Maria A M

Jan 27, 2020

I am having problems with uploading my assignments and posts

By Anjali S

Oct 14, 2019

This course gave me a good foundation to IHL.

By Negasa D B

Aug 10, 2020

Thanks for the opportunity

By DUMISANI B

Aug 15, 2019

very good course

By Irene D O

May 15, 2019

Good insight

By kamranjames@fccollege.edu.pk

May 24, 2021

excellent

By Joy S

Jan 19, 2019

good info

By faizan

Jul 31, 2020

Noice