Chevron Left
Back to Internet History, Technology, and Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet History, Technology, and Security by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
2,203 ratings
590 reviews

About the Course

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Top reviews

TR

Aug 12, 2020

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB

Jan 07, 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 579 Reviews for Internet History, Technology, and Security

By Octavian C

Nov 16, 2015

The course is very interesting, even for IT pros.

By BHUPESA K P

Apr 29, 2020

This course clear the and understand the basics.

By Mathurshan V

Oct 08, 2015

Good stuff. Informative overview and fun teacher

By Zheyan S

Nov 13, 2015

Give a broad overview of Internet, seems good

By 李万丹

Nov 22, 2015

I didn't really understand a lot of concepts

By Bernard A B

Dec 27, 2016

Just Awesome, key lectures on the internet.

By Ahammad U

Jun 14, 2020

Excellent course and outstanding tutor.

By Maria V P d A S D

Jul 03, 2020

The videos on enigma could be clearer

By chacha m

Feb 21, 2019

interesting information learnt alot.

By Xolelwa S

May 16, 2020

Its a good course for a beginner

By Ashutosh v

Oct 16, 2015

awesome and informative course

By Marci A B

Oct 22, 2015

Lots of fun learned alot.

By Moresh M

Jul 11, 2020

very informative course

By Ludlow P

May 13, 2020

Not interesting to me.

By Pawan K

Jul 04, 2020

Good course to learn.

By Jorge P

Oct 07, 2017

Very informative

By 解银朋

Jan 19, 2016

老师讲的很有趣,科技方面有点少

By vivek r

Aug 16, 2015

Very useful..

By Antonio C d O I

Nov 07, 2015

Excellent!

By Aniket D

Sep 12, 2020

thank you

By Santiago F M

Sep 09, 2017

Great!!

By Daphne F

May 26, 2017

It was ok, sometimes the videos were dry. I found myself using code.org and techquickie videos to better understand the material in a more interesting way.

By Zoltán Z

Aug 28, 2015

It was more historical than I expected. Gave me some new and interesting knowledge especially in security topic.

By Ali B

Aug 17, 2015

very funny,enjoyable and helpful

By David P

Oct 03, 2015

Perhaps it's just that I'm not a part of the target audience of this course, but I am deeply dissatisfied with it. Aside from a couple of rare interviews and old video records [which admittedly were very interesting, though too few], I found nothing of value that cannot be learned by reading Wikipedia or other easily accessible sources. The course is pretty light on technical details and there could [and perhaps should] have been much more beyond-the-scenes content, as well as references to specific documents and events in order to justify this course's existence.

In other words, if you are a techie and are indeed interested in this topic, chances are that you already know most of the material taught.