Chevron Left
Back to Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: How did we get here? by University of California San Diego

3.9
stars
1,048 ratings
327 reviews

About the Course

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top reviews

DR
Mar 7, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP
Jan 4, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 313 Reviews for Internet of Things: How did we get here?

By Josué S B C

Feb 22, 2016

Interesting but very introductory. Don't expect to really learn something significant. Easy course. Accent is hard to understand.

By Christos K

Feb 8, 2016

Introductory, not completely relevant to my goals, could be ommitted. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the delivery of the instructor.

By Manish K

Oct 7, 2016

Not much useful if you want to learn about IOT but helpful if you want to learn historical development that lead to IOT

By Sakshi D

Jul 13, 2020

Good course and great content, but the quizzes are tad irrelevant with the content. and have a lot in extra to answer.

By Abhinuv N P

Aug 20, 2016

It's a very basic course with little technical overview. The history and story of emergence of internet is described.

By Karen K

Sep 9, 2016

Gooed clear presenters. Give a good idea of how connectivity works. Last module was a bit obvious (IoT applications)

By Paul I

Nov 16, 2015

While this course is well organized and descriptive, it barely touches the Internet of Things technologies.

By RATHAN N

Jul 6, 2020

Course instruction and assessment are not related. Felt difficult to find answers for the questions.

By Sanjeev S

Nov 29, 2015

This course is a refresher and provides a High Level overview of IoT and its history

as advertised

By Vivek L

May 7, 2020

initial module quizs are not in sync with teaching . learned few core stuff though. thanks you.

By Suraj G

Apr 23, 2019

OK for the beginners as an introduction to IOT.

Course Videos and Quiz are hardly correlated.

By Donat G

May 23, 2016

Not really technical, but a good overview over the past years and even centuries...

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Aug 22, 2019

Good course but many quiz .May be to reduce quiz to get more star from students.

By Michael T

Feb 24, 2016

The topic was interesting , but most of the questions need to be rewritten.

By Jan S

Jan 14, 2016

Too much focusing on history of telephony and only little focus on IoT.

By Rishabh K

Jan 15, 2016

Too much theory and history in the course, no practical applications.

By Neo W M

Jul 4, 2020

needs to have better link between materials and quizzes

By utkarsh v

Dec 18, 2017

they will not teach you how to build your own iot board

By Geert H

Nov 11, 2015

Reasonable, but slow to come to the essence.

By Brandon L

Jul 2, 2020

The video got no relation to the quiz

By CHETAN

Jun 28, 2020

the contents are messed up and absent

By Siroros R

May 22, 2021

A bit boring on theory

By IOANNIS R P

Jan 27, 2021

Very hard

By Abdallah K

Jun 1, 2017

ok

By Lisa I

Sep 9, 2020

The course provided some useful background information but the quizzes for Modules 2, 3, and 4 had little to no connection to the content presented in the videos and many questions were poorly worded, to the point of incoherence. Other quiz questions focused on arbitrary knowledge checks rather than relevant content (there was overemphasis on WHO invented something, rather than on the more important WHAT it was and HOW that impacted the development of the IoT). It felt like there was mandatory external reading, but no links provided, and sometimes the professor said "don't worry about the technical details," but then the technical details (or others not covered in the videos) were the subject of the quiz questions. Those 3 modules needed some massive Quality Control overhaul, as does the transcription of that professor's comments ("tall" "call," "wise" vs "voice"). The Module 3 Assignment (build your own app) should have been linked to Module 5, it was completely out of context in Module 3. Module 6 should have probably been Module 1 as it provided much more background for the overall course and larger series.