Chevron Left
Back to Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: How did we get here? by University of California San Diego

3.9
stars
1,007 ratings
317 reviews

About the Course

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top reviews

DR
Mar 7, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

AM
Aug 9, 2020

Excellent course to introduce on IoT, this is a fasinating trip since the begining of communications with analog devices to now the digital age with all things connected.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 303 Reviews for Internet of Things: How did we get here?

By Mohamed H B A H

Jul 12, 2020

Many of the things tested in the quizzes at the end cannot be reasonably extrapolated from the lectures and only occasionally from the readings. It was very difficult for me to attain this certificate and I am now disincentivized from trying the other coursera modules if they all follow in the same vein.

By Mohamed H

Sep 15, 2020

most of course isn't useful for someone want to learn, it's all about history and the questions is so sick and aren't useful at all. the indian doctor can't explain or give you the information well beside his accent forcing you to read the subtitles to understand what he is saying

By Sim H X M

Jun 1, 2020

Arguably one of the worst online course that I've taken. Questions in the quiz weren't taught and little to no information were provided for learning in some later modules. For a beginner, it is extremely tedious to find the correct answers.

By KIRK H

Jun 22, 2020

The Course material, with the exception of the last 2 modules, did not relate to the quiz question. Unless you are prepared to spend countless hours looking up the EXACT answer, most of the course is wasting your time.

By Andre L

Jun 27, 2020

Very poorly structured course. The lectures and content provided do not match with the quizzes. It can takes hours to Google search the correct answer which is unreasonable, especially with the limited attempts.

By Lee Z Y

Jun 10, 2020

Seems like whoever prepared the quizzes from Week 2 onwards gave up following the lesson materials. As a result, I learnt nothing from the lecture and instead spent hours Googling in order to pass the quizzes.

By NICHOLAS N

Jul 20, 2020

Course content is completely irrelevant to the topics asked in the quiz. I had to rely mostly on discussion forums in order to help me get through this course. I would not recommend it at all.

By AMITPAL S

Jun 13, 2020

Pathetic. Multiple quizzes with questions out of syllabus. I got tired looking for answers on google and cancelled the subscription. Free text questions don’t accept the correct answers too.

By Brian N

Jul 29, 2016

Boring, most of them are history. Don't worth it ! 1 week into the course, very boring. Not technical enough. The test basically asked people to remember things that are not useful !

By Yi Y N

Sep 27, 2020

Terrible module that expects you to learn everything yourself, no relation between graded assignments and course content, and quizzes are RIDDEN with spelling errors.

By Dennis P

Jul 15, 2020

Absolute trash starting from Week 1 Module 2. Plenty of useless information that provide no benefits except for winning geeky obscure trivia games.

By Arman

Oct 19, 2015

Big part of the course videos devoted to history of how the technology was developed, not much technical information about the technology itself.

By Aravind R

Jan 18, 2016

Course advertised incorrectly. This course is more on the electronics and embedded systems end of IoT, as opposed to a high-level perspective.

By YASH T

Jul 7, 2020

The assignments are not at all related to the course and not even 10% of the questions are from the video or reading content.

By Filippo R

Apr 25, 2016

Nothing to do with IoT, misleading title and waste of time, apart from several incorrections in the novel narration.

By Pradeep N S

Jul 26, 2020

Worst Course.. Help me how i need to remove the course from in progress...Not interested to continue further...

By Shawn L

May 27, 2020

Questions in quizzes not taught in the modules. Unable to do without prior knowledge.

By Fernando I

Apr 3, 2016

a 10 page reading could have make it. not enough material to be consider a course

By gianfranco s

Feb 26, 2016

Very confused. So there is little point. Only vague news ... nothing substantial!

By ISHAN H S

Dec 11, 2016

Waste of money. What I learned in the first course could is useless information.

By Støre N

Oct 27, 2015

The presenter are very annoying and i did not learn anything from this...

By Yevhen M

Sep 26, 2020

Quizzes and lecture videos don't match. I have wasted so much time.

By MARATHE N U

Jun 3, 2020

Quizes are different that what lessons are! Too frustrating!

By Hooman M

Dec 7, 2015

Story telling module, not really useful for IOT purpose.

By Zheng C C

Jun 11, 2020

This course had taught me that Google is sometimes wrong