Chevron Left
Back to Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: How did we get here? by University of California San Diego

3.9
stars
1,010 ratings
317 reviews

About the Course

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top reviews

DR
Mar 7, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

AM
Aug 9, 2020

Excellent course to introduce on IoT, this is a fasinating trip since the begining of communications with analog devices to now the digital age with all things connected.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 304 Reviews for Internet of Things: How did we get here?

By Adriana F M

Aug 10, 2020

Excellent course to introduce on IoT, this is a fasinating trip since the begining of communications with analog devices to now the digital age with all things connected.

By Fuzail H

Mar 29, 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

By Shubam J

May 6, 2017

It was a wonderfull experience to learn IOT with all of YOU and it was totally a pleasure for me to attend the sessions!

Thanks for making me a part of that!

By Pratik M H

Jun 2, 2020

Course was good, but the only drawback is that Course Videos and Quizes are out of synch. Need to google and self learn a lot to answer the quiz questions.

By Amrut K

Oct 28, 2017

This is very good course to understand how we reach to Internet of Things.

Only one suggestion we can reduce the time in to the circuit switched history.

By Xavier C M

Dec 3, 2019

Really interesting and brought by the hands of one of they guys who implemented part of the technology we are using right now. Impressive!

By Sean H

Nov 26, 2016

Great course, really appreciated the relevant real life examples provided in week 2, with week 1 serving as a solid foundation base.

By Robert H

Jun 20, 2016

This is a good course to get up to speed with what has happened, we were there for some of it, but did not know the inside story.

By Rocio A M

Nov 6, 2015

it is an excellent review of the telecommunications computer world. Gives a solid foundation for the internet of things course.

By Parmeshwar M G

Oct 19, 2017

Thanks For coursera Team it provide such a new Information about The Iot and very Clear all the concepts provide in details

By Marvin S

Jul 29, 2016

It is very interessting to know something about the history of internet of things, so this course is very help- and useful

By Gowrishankar.M

May 28, 2019

It was good experience to learn from online. Coursera creating a platform for all to learn the coarse easy and joyful

By Vijay K R

Sep 26, 2017

The topics were explained in a very effective manner covering the basics to the advanced topics in a seamless fashion.

By ASHOK K K

Mar 7, 2017

This course is so useful to get basic idea about IoT. It must for everyone those who don't have any idea about IoT

By zafar

Nov 13, 2015

Great introduction to technologies involved in Internet of Things,

Instructors are passionate about teaching.

By M.S M S

Feb 15, 2016

so many basic info thigs are cleared and very helpful to learn this course and ahead this will more help

By 2451-17-733-313 A P K

Sep 8, 2020

No negative review course was well arranged and the tutiors were very good. Thank you for this course

By Ravi k y

Jun 7, 2017

The content was good and the way of teaching was awesome. I really enjoyed this course. Thanks a lot

By PIYUSH A

Jul 20, 2020

Exceptionally well designed course.A must for all the people involved in the technical field.

By Tim K

Jun 2, 2017

Interesting short intro session. Looking forward to more in the rest of the specialization.

By SACHIN T K

May 10, 2016

It was very nice experience doing this course.

Very nice contents and very good explanation.

By Jesus Z F

Nov 10, 2017

Very interesting course starting from the history of digital communication to our time.

By Angelo M

Mar 9, 2016

Pretty good course which get you clear about what the IoT is on the top of the shell.

By Àrjith A

Dec 9, 2017

Had a great experience to know the basics about IoT. Excited about further courses.

By Peter M

Jun 10, 2016

Very enjoyable course. It wet my appetite and I'm ready for the following courses.