Chevron Left
Back to Programming for the Internet of Things Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for the Internet of Things Project by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
884 ratings

About the Course

In this Capstone course, you will design a microcontroller-based embedded system. As an option, you can also build and test a system. The focus of your project will be to design the system so that it can be built on a low-cost budget for a real-world application. To complete this project you'll need to use all the skills you've learned in the course (programming microcontrollers, system design, interfacing, etc.). The project will include some core requirements, but leave room for your creativity in how you approach the project. In the end, you will produce a unique final project, suitable for showcasing to future potential employers. Note that for the three required assignments you do NOT need to purchase software and hardware to complete this course. There is an optional fourth assignment for students who wish to build and demonstrate their system using an Arduino or Raspberry Pi. Please also note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write a requirements specification document 2. Create a system-level design 3. Explore design options 4. Create a test plan...

Top reviews

JT

Jun 6, 2020

Great course. It forced me to sit down and design something. Unfortunately, the week 4 optional submission is not editable. I left something out of the short pdf document. I hope it's ok :)

BS

Sep 10, 2019

A very interesting course. Students get the freedom to choose their own ideas and are allowed to implement it. Learnt how to approach a project logically and systematically.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 154 Reviews for Programming for the Internet of Things Project

By DADDA M

Mar 3, 2020

This excellent course is about the pragmatic steps you need to follow when you starts any embedded system or IoT devices project.

By MANYAM S A

Feb 11, 2019

good

By MOHAN S P

Nov 30, 2018

good

By Supratim D

Jun 9, 2020

overall nice course, but the assignment process could be better. I've seen lot of plagiarism involved in the submission. There should be an option to lock submission, after one submits, this will stop users from copying from others.

By Andreas N

Jun 13, 2020

This part of specialization is very bad because a lot of people use the same shared documents over and over again to get a certificate (e.g. WIFI printer, Automated Room Controlling). In the previous parts/courses of the specialization it was already the case, but here it is really extreme and it makes the benefit of these course really bad.

By مالك ا

Jan 10, 2022

this take so much time waiting for others to review you and pass the exam and maybe it will take forever the crew should think about if they give this course some ad on social media but for the project was amazing and very challenging that's why I'm giving 5 stars

By Ed H C

Jan 25, 2021

I had fun doing this capstone. Although, I understand the importance of documenting your design plan but I fully grasp it when I need to review other's documentation and understanding their designs. I highly recommend this specialization to those beginners of IoT.

By George I

Mar 6, 2022

I very much enjoyed Professor Harris's style: engaging and enthusiatic to share his love of things of the internet. I found this specialization especially useful as I build my own remotely operated amateur astronomy observatory.

By Omar S F

Aug 9, 2020

the final project was a very good opportunity to apply all of the concepts we did in previous course.

we did a good practice with it.

By G R

Dec 15, 2020

This is really an extraordinary course for beginners .The way this course designed is tremendous. Kudos to the team .

By Parijat G

Sep 17, 2020

A great course indeed.Thanks a lot professor and coursera team. Learned a lot. Waiting for more advanced courses.

By ANDANAGARAM D

Dec 6, 2022

Coursera is the one of the best online training platform to learn various courses related to engineering.

By Manikant R

Jun 13, 2020

It was fun learning the internet of things, a lot of practical knowledge was gained throughout the course

By Kevin M

Oct 3, 2019

One of the most enjoyable courses that I have ever undertaken. Excellent structure, support and content.

By Vikas Y

May 31, 2017

I learnt the systematic design process that has to be followed while developing an IoT solution.

By Enrique A

Nov 19, 2020

Mil gracias maestro Ian, es usted genial, reciba mi agradecimiento, Mil gracias Coursera.

By Sachidanand S

Jul 15, 2020

This is a good course for every enthusiastic to learn to complete projects on their own.

By Nagarajah R

Nov 1, 2020

The best inductor and those who are beginners to learn IOT it is the best way to learn

By Eng S Y

Oct 31, 2019

Given nice example for each stage and guide student to complete the project well.

By Akella K M

Jul 27, 2020

This course as a whole taught me many things and I have throughly enjoyed it!

By Shubham Y

Jun 5, 2020

Learnt & Enjoyed doing the 6 Course Specialization in Programming the IOT.

By Mandar K

Nov 3, 2020

This Course tests your practical skills. Best way to evaluate yourself.

By Vamshi T

May 11, 2022

its a overall good course feel very happy to finally complete it

By Sendo T

Jul 25, 2017

Good organization. Easy to follow but covers all the essentials.

By Adele P

Mar 31, 2021

I highly recommend this course! It was great hands-on learning.