Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to English Common Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to English Common Law by University of London

4.8
stars
1,631 ratings

About the Course

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

FA

May 21, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ

Jun 3, 2019

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 481 Reviews for Introduction to English Common Law

By Yogesh B

Aug 22, 2020

Hello sir/mam,

My overall experience with the course was good but sir/mam i am not able to complete my course as my assignments are locked. please help me out in this regard.

Sincerely,

Yogesh Bains

By Angelina C

Mar 17, 2020

Good course in itself, no complaints. However, would just like to say that all the information provided can be found in the textbooks they reference, if you prefer that style of learning!

By Emily C

May 9, 2020

Very in depth introduction to the English Legal System, provides lots of real life examples of how laws are implemented, and very interesting historical context

By Yuen M Y

May 19, 2021

it is a course introducing you the basic knowledge of English common system, they teach us in an easy understanding way, which is very suitable for beginners.

By Harris A

Jun 10, 2022

Very indpeth indtroduction to the basics of English Common Law. Great way to entier into the field and comprehend if its for you, and how it operates.

By Janet b

May 31, 2021

the course information needs updating alot of the information is superceded by Brexit. Some of the quiz answers required outside research.

By Pratham M

May 15, 2020

Charlotte Crilly & Eloise Ellis are having excellent teaching skills and its a worthy to made out the strong Base in English Common Law.

By martin

Feb 27, 2019

Muy buen curso. Orientado a estudiantes de escuela secundaria (preparatoria) O alumnos en los primeros años de la carrera de derecho.

By SOURABH J

Oct 7, 2019

it is one of different thing and study which i have done it enhance my treasure of knowledge i just say that it is out of the box

By Ahmed B

Apr 22, 2021

there is always need for betterment, in my opinion there should be more references about cases making the course interesting

By Bina S

Jun 8, 2020

Really interesting broad overview of the English legal system and its part in the constitutional governance of the UK

By Nicolás S

Jun 29, 2020

Very helpful to understand the basics of English Common Law! Thanks to Coursera and U of London for the opportunity!

By Yuria M

Feb 10, 2019

Concise, clear, engaging. Fun quizzes to memorise fundamentals. Good bibliography notes at the end of each week.

By Rafael E

Sep 23, 2021

The course was very helpful and well structured. Technology and different kind of online learning are used well

By Alex J

Aug 2, 2020

Good foundation course for UK law. It's geared towards a very basic level but was still very informative.

By Uday

May 6, 2021

After finishing this course, you will gain a lot of knowledge related to the law system in England.

By sricharan s

Apr 28, 2020

The Course is very well structured and it helps in understanding the basics of English common law.

By Antony A

May 15, 2021

It was amazing not only exploring British Common Law but about the Government and Law in General!

By anadi m

Apr 21, 2020

the court system can be explained in more detailed like court with their different jurisdiction

By Natasha S

Aug 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course. It is a good primer for anybody interested in the English legal system.

By A S

Mar 13, 2021

Very good learning of ELS, a lot of material guidance provided to have the understanding.

By VIBHA J 2

Sep 23, 2020

We were asked to read too much and there were too many assignments but they were helpful.

By mwaji s

Feb 14, 2021

Really informative course. I now have the foundation on which to build my law career.

By Drewpow

Oct 25, 2022

Insighful and broken into managable sessions with useful resources and guides.

By Harsh R s

Sep 15, 2021

It was insightful. As an international student i found it simple yet important.