Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to English Common Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to English Common Law by University of London

4.8
176 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

HJ

Jun 04, 2019

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

HZ

May 19, 2019

Very good overview to law, especially to someone who had never studied it before. Some parts were confusing, as I did not know the law term, but overall beneficial course.

Filter by:

26 - 41 of 41 Reviews for Introduction to English Common Law

By Rosemeire V d A

Jul 10, 2019

It was rewarding indeed. Such a good course. I have never studied at University here in Brazil, about the common law, and here I could see all its framework , how it works, what are the issues they have come across in a changeable modern society.

By FABIAN

Jul 23, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE. THANKS!

By Rehman F

Jul 24, 2019

It gives you complete knowledge about english legal system.

By Gonzalo E D P

Aug 08, 2019

Me ha gustado muchísimo

By Ravi R

Aug 19, 2019

I utilized this course to gain an understanding of English Common Law which is part of the Day 1 Outcome for the QLTS Exam ( Solicitor of E&W), that I have embarked upon. Thanks so much to University of London for the excellent course content and for Dr Eloise Ellis and Ms.Charlotte Crilly for the superb articulation and for inciting the interest in me. Thanks so much !

By Phutthaphot N

Aug 24, 2019

A good insight into one of the most influential legal systems.

By Konstantin T

Aug 26, 2019

It was a great experience learning about English Common Law with Coursera! It gave the basics to continue my education with other related courses!

By Linjun L G

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent lectures and course materials. Tons of thanks to both lecturers/professors.

By Abdriahman S H

Aug 29, 2019

Excellent introductory course on law in general. I have really enjoyed it.

By Vincenzo N

Sep 05, 2019

a good introduction to common law, it explains many basic concept for a good start into the topic

By Betsy B

Sep 12, 2019

Really informative and interactive. A great introduction to the basics!

By martin

Feb 27, 2019

Muy buen curso. Orientado a estudiantes de escuela secundaria (preparatoria) O alumnos en los primeros años de la carrera de derecho.

By Brigitte R

Jan 28, 2019

Good course! It was really good to correct other essays.

By Yuria M

Feb 10, 2019

Concise, clear, engaging. Fun quizzes to memorise fundamentals. Good bibliography notes at the end of each week.

By Thea D

Jul 24, 2019

Good course and useful, varied mediums of teaching. Some of the documents to read through were up to 70 pages long and I think with material like this it would be useful to have a quiz at the end (like end of week quizzes) so that you can actually try and absorb the information.

By Michael A O

Jun 11, 2019

A strong course with some great ideas in it. I would have liked to see a more explicit and embedded recognition of the rule of law throughout.