Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to English Common Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to English Common Law by University of London

4.8
stars
1,226 ratings
373 reviews

About the Course

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

FA
May 21, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ
Jun 3, 2019

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 377 Reviews for Introduction to English Common Law

By Nathan H

Jun 14, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot, which I hope will help me when I start a law degree in October.

By Ralitsa P

Dec 18, 2020

Excellent and informative course. The structure and pace we measured and the level appropriate for beginners.

By Bineet S

Oct 4, 2020

very well-drafted course with great instructors. I learned about all the basics of English common law. thanks

By Abdus S

Aug 2, 2020

Really thankful to Coursera. For creating such course. Now I have learnt many things about English Common law

By Wallane M A

Jul 27, 2020

Very good course, specially for people that work with legal translation like me. Congratulations to the team!

By whynnot

Apr 19, 2020

I really loved the course. The history and principles of the English Common Law legal system are well taught.

By Janaina d A C

Sep 26, 2020

I really enjoy to study about English Law, and I am looking foward to the next course about law. Thank you

By Stanislav A

Aug 2, 2020

An excellent course! I recommend that every lawyer take it, regardless of specialization and jurisdiction.

By Srikant S

Jul 29, 2020

The course was really interesting. The additional materials with the course were informative and helpful.

By Harriet P

Jun 22, 2020

A very useful introduction into English Common Law, I plan on doing some further studying of the subject.

By NY Y

Sep 23, 2019

The course illustrates the concept with relevant samples. Thanks for creating this online course for us!!

By Patrick J

Mar 16, 2019

I have found the course very useful. I hope there is a part 2 etc for deeper knowledge and certification.

By Hero C

Feb 25, 2021

The lectures are easy to understand and the contents are very clear. I finished this course in 6 days.

By Pankaj

Aug 9, 2020

Excellent understanding will surely be developed on English Legal system after this course completion.

By Gabriella H

Jul 17, 2020

I absolutley enjoyed this course, the teaching was so simple to understand, i gained alot. Thank you!

By Sabina F

Jun 9, 2020

I highly recommend this course. It was easy to manage , well planned useful and interesting content.

By Aline d C S

Jan 14, 2020

O curso é maravilhoso! Tive a oportunidade de aprender mais sobre common law e aperfeiçoar o inglês.

By SIMON B N T

Dec 22, 2020

Good videos and very informative literature to accompany the course. Really interesting and useful.

By Anthony T

Aug 21, 2020

A very enjoyable course that has taught me the key information I was seeking regarding common law.

By Dirk S

Feb 24, 2021

A really good introduction to common law; I enjoyed it, and the two lecturers were great. Thanks.

By Marios I K

Nov 25, 2020

Excellent introductory course on all the fundamentals of English Common Law and the legal system.

By WANG G

Mar 21, 2020

Very helpful. It is very interesting to express and review different point of views on the forum.

By Vincenzo N

Sep 5, 2019

a good introduction to common law, it explains many basic concept for a good start into the topic

By Sandy F

Sep 27, 2020

One question wasn't correct anymore. Head of the european comission is now Ursula von der Leyen.