Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Cyber Attacks by New York University

4.7
stars
1,598 ratings
419 reviews

About the Course

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Top reviews

PH

Jun 28, 2020

Ed is a very engaging instructor and tries to make the content applicable and understandable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is looking for an introduction to the world of cybersecurity!

HI

Mar 04, 2020

I'm so glad I could complete this course as I look forward to continuing other courses on Cyber attacks. Its been helpful as it gave me the background knowledge as to what is needed in Cyber Security.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 415 Reviews for Introduction to Cyber Attacks

By Rajendra S

Jun 23, 2020

course was really useful. Learnt a lot of new techniques to protect my clients from various types of attacks ........

By James A

May 21, 2020

Very nice lecture with tricky questions, pushing you to learn more in order to get the answers right! Loved it.

By Saumy A

Jun 20, 2020

A great way to learn something different beside ur field and the way they taught and helped is just amazing.

By Siddharth T

Apr 26, 2018

Energetic, passionate professor. Concise yet informative lectures. Also contains interesting guest lectures.

By G R S

Apr 10, 2019

I really loved this course as this helps pursue my passion and learn more about forensics investigations

By Fernando P L P

Jan 09, 2020

I loved the way I received the class, the materials... I could learn a lot about cyber security's world

By armando j m r

Apr 29, 2020

nice course for beginners ed is awesome and the videos are really interesting i'm ready for more

By Aneesh S

Nov 23, 2018

Even though this was a theory only course I didn't get bored. The course content is pretty useful.

By Abdul A

Sep 29, 2020

The content was so easy to understand and described in a cozy manner. Hope to catch more courses.

By Karan

Nov 30, 2018

Thank's a lot for making this course and series. Dr. Edward Amoroso is now my favorite lecturer.

By Ameya M

May 29, 2020

An amazing course which gave me a clear understanding of the concepts related to cybersecurity!

By David R

Apr 02, 2020

Great course! Loved the videos, especially the interviews as well as the TED discussion videos.

By Vivek S K

May 09, 2020

The course was really good giving a foundational insights into cyber attacks and cybersecurity

By Harsh N J

Jul 03, 2019

An exceptionally amazing introductory course for everyone who want to get into cyber security.

By Hemen P

Nov 23, 2019

This is a good Introductory primer on Cyber Security, great sources for in depth knowledge.

By Tan J F

Sep 15, 2018

Excellent course to study! This really helped me understand more about internet security.

By Óscar S I

Oct 02, 2018

A great introduction to security world, a must for everyone who want start in this world

By Joy C

Feb 26, 2018

This is an introductory course for someone who is a beginner to learning cyber security.

By Lucía P O

Feb 03, 2020

I enjoyed the course and they make very easy for you to learn with talks and activities

By martin k

Aug 04, 2018

Very good course and learnings, very good practical references to use in daily job life

By Rafael S

Jun 11, 2019

outstanding i learned a LOT of stuff i never knew before, good start for cybersecurity

By Kumar R

May 08, 2018

That is really a great course towards the fundamentals of cybersecurity understanding.

By Prankur

May 03, 2020

The course was awesome and is easy to understand just you need to remember the things

By SUMIT

Jan 07, 2020

It is an excellent course for gaining basic knowledge in the field of cyber security.

By Jerome C

Nov 19, 2019

Very technical but very informative. It is an honor to learn from Mr. Edward Amoroso.