Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Cyber Attacks by New York University

4.7
stars
1,609 ratings
421 reviews

About the Course

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Top reviews

PH

Jun 28, 2020

Ed is a very engaging instructor and tries to make the content applicable and understandable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is looking for an introduction to the world of cybersecurity!

HI

Mar 04, 2020

I'm so glad I could complete this course as I look forward to continuing other courses on Cyber attacks. Its been helpful as it gave me the background knowledge as to what is needed in Cyber Security.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 416 Reviews for Introduction to Cyber Attacks

By Aashu B

Apr 20, 2020

It's a nice course to learn the basics of Cyber Attacks. It helps in building strategies to solve Cyber Security Problems.

By Roland T

Feb 01, 2018

Some of the questions are hard to answer (not because they are hard, but because the answers need to be "guessed").

By Evgenii L

Sep 07, 2018

Speaker is super charismatic, additional readings are interesting but sometimes too complex for beginner.

By Paras S

Aug 02, 2020

Great course really changed my view of Cyber Security It's more of defense rather then being offence .

By Abhishek G

Dec 17, 2018

Nice introduction on Cyber Attacks and how to perform Risk Analysis. Worth spending time.

By Temesgen G G

Nov 16, 2019

Great Introductory lesson for anyone who is looking to start a career in cyber security.

By Anurag S

May 01, 2018

Its very good for beginner...and the videos are very interactive...once again thanks...

By V c k

Apr 18, 2020

Just basics of cyber Security.Could be better by including some real Techniques too.

By Aravind

Apr 12, 2020

This course is one of the best course because they are teaching it from basics.

By Shailendra K P

Oct 11, 2019

great info covered to understand how Cyber attackers use the method to hack the

By Shubham S G

Apr 29, 2020

It was a very nice experience with coursera for my first online certification.

By Mihai G F

Dec 09, 2017

The quizzes are a little bit confusing for non-English students understanding

By Thomas Z

Feb 05, 2019

Good overview. Good teacher. Wish there were some more practical excercises.

By Nagendra P T G

Sep 08, 2018

The course content is precise and lecturer is very knowledgeable. Thank you.

By Mohammed Y A

Jul 07, 2020

Question are not clear enough, but overall, I have learnt many new things!

By gautam s

May 18, 2020

I got some realastic condition of how does all those attack, risk holds

By Claudio R

Sep 27, 2019

some resources could not be downloaded and the final quiz was very bad.

By Ben-Collins E N

Aug 20, 2020

I recommend this course for anyone seeking to understand cybersecurity

By Daniel R

Dec 12, 2018

I liked the intro, but I wish there had been more hands on examples.

By Vasundhara T

Jun 07, 2020

Good course.Learnt a lot.More practice exercises should be included

By +27714749010

Mar 24, 2018

Very good really enjoyed the lectures thanks for a great course.

By BHUPESA K P

Apr 29, 2020

This course introduce the enemy in the field of Cyber Security.

By Xueqi X

Jun 22, 2018

Very good introduction. Lots of great readings and TED talks.

By Ogbe R O

Jun 05, 2019

The course is very interesting. have learnt a lot from it.

By Rangaraju M

Sep 24, 2020

Good training with correct amount off time interval