Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
917 ratings
221 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Top reviews

RD
Oct 24, 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

KS
Jul 30, 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 223 Reviews for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

By Amogh G

May 28, 2019

A great course

By Ankit d

Jul 19, 2021

thank you sir

By Akshat B

Apr 21, 2020

Great Course!

By Azamat Z

Apr 28, 2020

I learn more

By Syed K A B

Jan 26, 2020

Great Course

By Isaac E J

Jul 21, 2019

Great Course

By GALLA Y L

Oct 22, 2020

Good course

By Pathan B k

Oct 28, 2019

good course

By Geovanny E Q

Jan 23, 2019

Really good

By segu v n k

Nov 4, 2020

very good

By narala p

Jan 20, 2020

very good

By SHAIK H I

Sep 24, 2019

EXCELLENT

By Jason X

Jun 25, 2020

Nice

By Pentyala E C

Mar 16, 2020

good

By Ravi K

Nov 8, 2019

GOOD

By rajkumar g

Nov 8, 2019

Good

By Khalid J

Jan 28, 2020

This course is very helpful for FPGA learners, engineers, computer scientists, and hardware geeks. You will find everything you need about FPGA conception and architecture. You will learn about how to use Altera Quartus Prime, how to select the best technology based on your projects and assignments, FPGA design and analysis, and many more techniques that will upgrade your domain skills. But this course is not about programming FPGAs using VHDL or VERILOG. I really liked it and the tutor is amazing. Thanks Coursera for such helpful programs.

By Andrew K

Jun 8, 2020

I thought the class was very useful and I am confident I can select the proper device and design for it in Quartus and Qsys. The quizzes during the videos were very effective in keeping my focus on the video and cementing the ideas. Really good pace and level. Some of the books and the demo boards sugested were not used much or not used at all. It took me to the end of the class to get the hang of submitting and grading assignments. The best online class I have had.

By Filip K

May 17, 2020

Course is a good introduction.

Knowledge of Boolean algebra is a plus for the first exercises.

The Altera BeMicroMax10 is used as reference in this course.

FPGA dev board is not needed for this course. The suggestion of the Terrasic DE10-lite is a bit misleading, as it's referred to for future courses.

Certain parts of the course are not working as shown in the Quartus II. (bug in 16.1 196 build?)

By Steven K

Aug 1, 2020

Enjoyed the course and found it useful and challenging. There were a few minor but annoying bugs in the material that should have been fixed long ago, however. Also, it appears as if the forums where students can ask questions are unmonitored, since questions often go unanswered, and the same questions seem to pop up repeatedly.

By Joshua R

Aug 12, 2019

It was a nice course. But I feel the Designing part could have been taught more slowly so that those who are new to FPGA might understand a little bit better. Regardless, the syllabus was very nice, covering everything. I thank the course instructors also for taking effort to provide such a nice course.

By Jason C

Feb 4, 2021

This class feels a bit dated in that it doesn't mention Xilinx Zynq. It is also less useful to individuals focused on FPGA platforms other than the Altera platform used in the exercises.

Nevertheless, it is a good class that provides perspective that one might not get elsewhere on the web.

By David G

Apr 29, 2021

It is a nice course! I did learn lots new things and quizzes and homeworks are properly aligned with the content. Though I don't believe this is an intermediate course, this is more close to an almost beginner course, maybe upgrading it to have more of a challenge would be good :)

By Muhammad S A

Jun 21, 2020

It was a good one overall as it provided new ways to design and improve on FPGA which is not taught in most undergrad universities. Although, if they made assignments a little engaging and challenging, It will be really good for whoever comes next.

By K S

Jun 12, 2020

The Course was very good, But Week 3 was only regarding FPGA by various companies. I would rather suggest to limit that two 2 or 3 videos and get some more insights on FPGA in that week. Other than that the course was great. Thank you So much!!