Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,966 ratings
392 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 27, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FA
Jun 27, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 388 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Shumaila A

Jun 4, 2020

very comprehensive and well delivered. I was able to revisit many of my engineering concepts not only revising them but reinforcing the understanding too.

By Karthik B K

Jun 2, 2019

Exceptional Advanced Course that also provides the subtle basic nudges for everyone to comprehend as well. Really Delighted on taking this Course.

By Yoel R C

Oct 30, 2019

Really good content. Even real stuff used auto industry. Forums not that good but I liked it a lot in general. Looking forward to the next one.

By Anatoly T

Sep 27, 2019

High quality material with clear explanations. Quantity and volume of supplementary reading kills me, but these articles/books are very useful.

By Jonathan C

Mar 27, 2020

I loved this course and learned a great deal about the in and outs of self-driving cars. I am definitely looking forward to the next courses.

By Eliav V

Oct 10, 2020

Great introduction to self-driving cars although minor engineering background will be needed for the longitudinal and lateral control weeks

By Revanthkumar B

Sep 3, 2020

maybe the SV course i have ever come across,it shoots and peaks at the correct inter

vals enabling hands on experience at the perfect time.

By Sai K

Jun 1, 2020

The best course for any beginners in the industry. It really helped me a lot with the basics. The explanation is really clear and precise.

By Omar S

May 7, 2020

programming lessons should be added to help the students solve the programming assignments and gain more skills to help them in the future

By ARBAZ K

Jun 28, 2020

It was full of knowledge and expertise.

Thanks to all the instructors for giving me such an amazing exposure to the autonomous world.

By Jose P

Apr 12, 2020

Thank you so much to the mentors for this well designed course. It gave lot of insight to the basics of autonomous car development.

By MOHIT P

Jun 28, 2020

Larned so many new things regarding self automation cars. All thanks to professor Steven Waslander who explained it some easily .

By Aravindaraja P

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent way of presentation.Given the mammoth task of providing a course on such a huge topic,I feel it is very well organized.

By Diego A P B

Jul 4, 2019

Challenging, but fun. While some of the projects need work, it is all the more rewarding once you successfully complete them.

By Islam A

Jan 3, 2021

It was really helpful to learn about all these essential techniques for controlling the vehicle I enjoyed this course a lot

By MOHD A

Dec 4, 2020

its a wonder course to understand the fundaments of autonomous car. this course teach me the basic of self driving vehicle

By SELVAKUMAR R

May 30, 2020

real challenging course, I am amazed. i am more interested to do more in the same series .

thank you self deriving car team

By Shivam K

Aug 9, 2019

Best course for self-driving cars fundamentals. If you are interested in this field, this course is best place to start.

By isac r b

Dec 16, 2019

excelente course, I'm leaning a lot of things that it's very important for my future. and for the future of the people.

By Manish k

Jan 6, 2020

nice and very professional course I have taken so far. i think u must take on this course if you are interested in AV.

By WANG Q

Nov 30, 2019

It's a meaningful and great journey to start my self-driving study in this course. I learnt a lot and enjoy the study.

By Ismael L

Dec 23, 2020

Un cours formidable complet et très bien structuré. Des évaluations et tests excellents avec un coté très pratique .

By Rajat S

Dec 17, 2020

It was a Fun and challenging course to understand insides of self driving cars. I truly enjoyed the Quality content.

By Shauvik D

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent materials, but not easy to pass the assignment. One have to work hard as this is an advanced level course.

By park y

Sep 21, 2020

It was a little difficult to solve the program alone, but it was helpful enough. I hope it will help my future job.