Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,721 ratings
345 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP

Jul 28, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FM

Jun 28, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 344 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By ARBAZ K

Jun 28, 2020

It was full of knowledge and expertise.

Thanks to all the instructors for giving me such an amazing exposure to the autonomous world.

By Jose P

Apr 12, 2020

Thank you so much to the mentors for this well designed course. It gave lot of insight to the basics of autonomous car development.

By MOHIT P

Jun 28, 2020

Larned so many new things regarding self automation cars. All thanks to professor Steven Waslander who explained it some easily .

By Aravindaraja P

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent way of presentation.Given the mammoth task of providing a course on such a huge topic,I feel it is very well organized.

By Diego A P B

Jul 05, 2019

Challenging, but fun. While some of the projects need work, it is all the more rewarding once you successfully complete them.

By SELVAKUMAR R

May 30, 2020

real challenging course, I am amazed. i am more interested to do more in the same series .

thank you self deriving car team

By Shivam K

Aug 09, 2019

Best course for self-driving cars fundamentals. If you are interested in this field, this course is best place to start.

By isac r b

Dec 17, 2019

excelente course, I'm leaning a lot of things that it's very important for my future. and for the future of the people.

By Manish k

Jan 06, 2020

nice and very professional course I have taken so far. i think u must take on this course if you are interested in AV.

By WANG Q

Nov 30, 2019

It's a meaningful and great journey to start my self-driving study in this course. I learnt a lot and enjoy the study.

By Shauvik D

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent materials, but not easy to pass the assignment. One have to work hard as this is an advanced level course.

By park y

Sep 21, 2020

It was a little difficult to solve the program alone, but it was helpful enough. I hope it will help my future job.

By Sumit S S

Aug 06, 2020

Its a very important course. Instructors explained this course in easy language, this helps to understand faster.

By Ajay G

Jul 10, 2020

Provide good insight to Self Driving Cars. Final project using Carla Simulator is best way to learn and conclude.

By Dennis M

Jul 25, 2019

The course is very enlightening. at least I have learnt a lot so far. I wish to continue learning more and more.

By Dimitrios P

Oct 11, 2020

Excellent introductory course for any engineer interested in getting involved in the self-driving car industry.

By Dr. A K R

Sep 09, 2019

Course is very nice and having knowledgeable contents. It help me lot to know the secrets of self driving car.

By Maxwell D

May 12, 2019

Lots of time and effort was clearly put in to the development of this course - I'm so glad I got to try it out

By Imesh S

Oct 08, 2019

This course was a great learning experience for me and I learned a lot. Hope to continue the specialization..

By David C

Feb 25, 2019

Great course, very good overview of the field, excellent/challenging/rewarding projects. Highly recommended!

By Elnaz F

Jun 03, 2020

The best course ever in autonomous vehicles.

Thank you Coursera and also special thanks to the professors.

By Hussein A

Mar 24, 2020

Great introduction course! Briefly covers the overall autonomous system and focuses on the control system.

By Mathieu C

Aug 14, 2020

Fantastic introduction to self-driving car technology with very valuable hands-on programming experience

By Vinod M

Dec 06, 2019

Exceptional Course !! Lot of prerequisites required to complete, Really spend a good time to master it,

By Alejandro P C

Sep 17, 2019

Very good introduction course in terms of engineering. Would like to hace Deep Learning explanations.