Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,830 ratings
365 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 27, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FA
Jun 27, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 364 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Elnaz F

Jun 3, 2020

The best course ever in autonomous vehicles.

Thank you Coursera and also special thanks to the professors.

By Hussein A

Mar 24, 2020

Great introduction course! Briefly covers the overall autonomous system and focuses on the control system.

By Mathieu C

Aug 14, 2020

Fantastic introduction to self-driving car technology with very valuable hands-on programming experience

By Vinod M

Dec 6, 2019

Exceptional Course !! Lot of prerequisites required to complete, Really spend a good time to master it,

By Alejandro P C

Sep 17, 2019

Very good introduction course in terms of engineering. Would like to hace Deep Learning explanations.

By Harsh C

Jul 12, 2019

Learning a lot that too in a very great environment Thank you University of Toronto and Professors

By PRASHANT K R

Jun 27, 2019

Its a nice course from UofT, I love this course, It covers the fundamental of self driving cars!

By Tushar G

Apr 28, 2020

This course provides very fundamental concept to create our own Self Driving vehicle controller

By MOHAN R

Jun 25, 2019

Learnt more about the architecture of Self Driving Cars and longitudinal and lateral control.

By Sujeet B

Oct 26, 2020

Great learning... I find a place where I could put all my mathematical knowledge into play.

By Carlos E S V

Dec 4, 2019

Excellent, It says it is introductory but it is a challenging course, strongly recommended!

By BASIREDDY

Nov 9, 2020

I LOVED IT BUT THE DIFFICULTY LEVEL IS TOO HIGH FOR TO MANAGE AND COMPLETE AT FASTER RATE

By Javaji H

Jul 19, 2020

This course is awesome and good explanation but the assignment given are way to advanced.

By Purushottam B

May 12, 2020

Nice course work, more insights should be given for implementation of models in software.

By Mohab A

Oct 30, 2020

A concise and informative introduction to the topic

With a lot of supplementing material

By Alon T

Aug 16, 2020

Very good, course staff is not responsive though, but still a great learning experience

By Jegan A

Dec 30, 2019

Very Nice, Good Project and detail explanation on vehicle dynamics and control concepts

By Mohammad A

Feb 25, 2019

Excellent education and supporting material! It is fully worthy of doing this course.

By Prashant Y

Apr 18, 2020

If you are someone like me, who likes to know everything about cars, this is for you

By aniruddha

May 15, 2020

The best course till now . This has definitely made me get masters in this field

By M. T Y

Jul 23, 2019

Amazing course. I wanna enroll and complete it as soon as possible. Magnificant.

By Chyavan P

Oct 1, 2020

Great course! The flow was very smooth, topics were explained crystal clear.

By Venkatesan J

May 1, 2020

Excellent explanation of critical concepts by Tutor. Well organized content.

By Sanura N

Jun 4, 2020

g

o

o

d course but its better if more guidance is given related to programming

By Santhosh T

Jan 5, 2020

Bit advanced and assignment and project takes longer that mentioned time.