Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
2,237 ratings
453 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 27, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FA
Jun 27, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 450 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Milind S

Aug 27, 2020

Absolutely amazing course, the instructor's explaination is very good. Definitely recommend the course to those who wish to explore the domain of self driving cars.

By Yash B

Dec 30, 2020

Learnt a lot of new stuff related to Controls, Safety, etc. Professors have provided a great and easy-to-understand explanation of various concepts in this course.

By B-53 P N R

May 20, 2020

Great course!

offered conceptual understanding to the various concepts and later on hand on training to the modeling of vehicle controller with guided content.

By SALVADOR A G

Sep 5, 2020

Very challenging and complete course for the undestanding and development of Autonommous Vehicles. Glady surprised with the quality and level of engineering.

By DIPICA K T

Sep 15, 2020

This course has offered a great foundation to self driving cars,all the assignments and projects were useful and tested our understanding in that concept.

By Shumaila A

Jun 4, 2020

very comprehensive and well delivered. I was able to revisit many of my engineering concepts not only revising them but reinforcing the understanding too.

By Karthik B K

Jun 2, 2019

Exceptional Advanced Course that also provides the subtle basic nudges for everyone to comprehend as well. Really Delighted on taking this Course.

By Yoel R C

Oct 30, 2019

Really good content. Even real stuff used auto industry. Forums not that good but I liked it a lot in general. Looking forward to the next one.

By HAYTOUMI A

Feb 14, 2021

This is course is very strong, there are a lot of information, I like and i 'am proud of it especially because it is my first course in coursera

By Anatoly T

Sep 27, 2019

High quality material with clear explanations. Quantity and volume of supplementary reading kills me, but these articles/books are very useful.

By Jonathan C

Mar 27, 2020

I loved this course and learned a great deal about the in and outs of self-driving cars. I am definitely looking forward to the next courses.

By Eliav V

Oct 10, 2020

Great introduction to self-driving cars although minor engineering background will be needed for the longitudinal and lateral control weeks

By Revanthkumar B

Sep 3, 2020

maybe the SV course i have ever come across,it shoots and peaks at the correct inter

vals enabling hands on experience at the perfect time.

By Sai K

Jun 1, 2020

The best course for any beginners in the industry. It really helped me a lot with the basics. The explanation is really clear and precise.

By Omar S

May 7, 2020

programming lessons should be added to help the students solve the programming assignments and gain more skills to help them in the future

By zhaoxinrong

Feb 19, 2021

Very fruitful learning experience. Especially the programming part which put everything together! Thanks for the teaching and material!

By ARBAZ K

Jun 28, 2020

It was full of knowledge and expertise.

Thanks to all the instructors for giving me such an amazing exposure to the autonomous world.

By Jose P

Apr 12, 2020

Thank you so much to the mentors for this well designed course. It gave lot of insight to the basics of autonomous car development.

By Majid G

Jun 26, 2021

It covers fundamental and essential topics of the self-driving car area. I recommend this for starting in autonomous driving cars.

By MOHIT P

Jun 28, 2020

Larned so many new things regarding self automation cars. All thanks to professor Steven Waslander who explained it some easily .

By Deleted A

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent way of presentation.Given the mammoth task of providing a course on such a huge topic,I feel it is very well organized.

By Diego A P B

Jul 4, 2019

Challenging, but fun. While some of the projects need work, it is all the more rewarding once you successfully complete them.

By Islam A

Jan 3, 2021

It was really helpful to learn about all these essential techniques for controlling the vehicle I enjoyed this course a lot

By Abdulrahman H

Jun 28, 2021

Very crucial course for introducing the fundamentals of self-driving cars and take you to the world of autonomous vehicles

By aamir h

Dec 4, 2020

its a wonder course to understand the fundaments of autonomous car. this course teach me the basic of self driving vehicle