Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,823 ratings
363 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 27, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FA
Jun 27, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 361 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Wentao T

May 14, 2020

some homework is too hard, and I think the professor should give more hints.

By 17ee013 S D

Aug 16, 2020

Good course for students pursuing Engineering in Electrical Technology.

By Jarno R

Sep 11, 2019

Nice introduction into the vast topic of self-driving cars/vehicles.

By Russell K

Mar 9, 2020

Good course. The projects were challenging but instructive as well.

By Akash B

May 26, 2020

Material is good but for programming part need more explanation.

By Swapnil N

Jul 18, 2020

great course enjoying the theory part but not programming one

By ROHITH

Oct 20, 2019

i strugggeled due to lack of assistance on programming part

By Varun W

Aug 24, 2020

Explanation should be little more easy and slow

By Bheemishetty S

Sep 23, 2020

a very informative course with best teaching

By CYN D

Oct 12, 2020

good introduction to self-driving basics

By Zain M

Oct 3, 2020

Great learning option for students

By NARAYANA A

May 5, 2020

Modules were good and challenging.

By BASAPURAM P

Sep 27, 2020

the course is very useful to me.

By 蒋阅

May 15, 2020

Need more coding quiz

By Foram S

Nov 27, 2020

it was amazing

By ismail o

Nov 25, 2019

It was hard

By vikas s

Jul 7, 2020

Was good !

By 78 F V R S

Oct 3, 2020

Amazing

By Gurveer D

May 20, 2020

nice

By Ali V

Dec 30, 2019

The knowledge about how to implement a PID controller with the high level and low-level controller could not be mentioned enough because there was no exact knowledge about implementing an engine and throttle graph in real applications.

The instructors seemed to want nonlinear MPC controller for the lateral control so that I really hardly worked on to analyze and implement the nonlinear MPC controller but in fact, there is no requirement to implement nonlinear MPC.

Otherwise, the course is really awesome to understand the motion dynamics of a car with an internal combustion engine. Now, I am able to implement both the longitudinal and lateral controller for the car.

By Sachin K

Jul 6, 2020

While the course content is good, it is skinny and it leaves a lot to be expected from the learner. That is ok if one is on the campus and there are people you can talk to and ask questions from the teaching assistant staff. Support for this course on the forums is non existent and expecting students to jump into CARLA and write a simulation loop is quite a leap. Especially when debugging CARLA is next to impossible since putting a breakpoint inturn breaks the connection to the server. The course requires way more smaller steps before throwing the student in the deep end.

By Sergio U S d C

Jan 31, 2020

Worse than expected. I learn something, of course, but I was expecting to really learn many things. The assignments are not teachable and I learnt very little with them, but I spent lot of time.

Not much help is provided in the forums by the instructors for passing the tedious assignments.

By Houssam H

Nov 6, 2020

Lots of useful information to learn in this course. However, the educational approach used isn't very efficient and you encounter a good number of mistakes or misorganisation, even after years of students signaling them.

By Isira V

May 17, 2019

Programming assignments were not structured well. Also lectures only cover a few amounts of details. Overall, the course is good to get an approach to self-driving cars. Thank you.

By Rajesh R

Jul 23, 2020

Informative but not much value addition in the post-covid era, in a somewhat hyped industry such as autonomous vehicles