Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,306 ratings
262 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP

Jul 28, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FM

Jun 28, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 261 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Muthyala H

Jul 24, 2020

Good

By Arif S

Jul 03, 2020

good

By Joydeep p

May 02, 2020

Good

By BHAVESH K

May 01, 2020

NICE

By sushant p

Jul 20, 2020

ok

By Pranabesh G

Jul 16, 2020

.

By Suresh L

May 24, 2020

.

By Salah E D K M S S

Apr 12, 2020

I really enjoyed the final project of this course, it introduced me to a new tool that I haven't dealt with before (CARLA_Simulator).

I would like to share with you my review for this course:

- this course is a good memory refresher for someone with experience in dynamic modelling, control, and autonomous systems; no in-depth explanation in any of the mentioned, however, it provides excellent reading materials.

- Very interesting discussions about safety in autonomous vehicles and the levels of autonomy.

- Excellent explanation of the autonomous vehicles software and hardware stack.

I thought it would be technically more challenging, but it's good and I will proceed to the next course in this specialization, hoping for more challenges and new concepts.

By Hossam K

Mar 23, 2020

great contents overall interesting topics and well explained, but i think it needs more practical side i would say , the theoretical backgrounds are great and well used at the assignments and the final project but the lack of implementation during the class gave me a hard time dealing with the final project. Nevertheless I've had a great time during this course learning new and interesting topics, thanks for the professors and for the great materials/videos.

By Susavan B

Jun 23, 2019

This course is very helpful to get the basic idea of self driving cars. But, in a few cases, I believe, the course is designed for Researchers or academic persons. Those, who are working long time, in a related field (Say, automotive SW development professional like me), will face issue in deriving many mathematical equations. This course is not so self explanatory how that equation can be derived. Otherwise, it's really good.

By Amit C

Dec 28, 2019

Course is good if you want to start in Self-driving cars Industry. This is an advanced course so please learn about objected oriented programming in Python language. You will learn a lot while going through extra-readings. The only thing which troubled me is programming part and unavailability of some of articles for free.

keep exploring the new scenarios in Carla simulator .

By Tushar G

Aug 08, 2019

The knowledge and level of this introductory course was spot on. However, there could have been better explanations pertaining to the final project. Specifically the implementation of longitudinal and lateral controller. The explanations although intuitive were not very practical and many key concepts had been kept at bay from the user.

By Dane R

Jun 21, 2020

Overall a nice introduction, however, I did notice some minor errors in the drawings used in the slides. I also felt that some quiz questions were intentionally tricky/nuanced, which did accomplish the goal of making me review the lesson materials carefully, but on some I still had to guess even after quite careful review.

By Daniel Y

May 07, 2020

Very good introduction to several important aspects of developing ADAS and autonomous vehicle functions. The programming exercises in Python were easy to follow but interesting. Only the graded quizzes needs a bit of polishing (some unclear instructions, you need to check the forum to be able to solve all of them)

By Kevin M

Apr 06, 2019

The lectures were a bit hard to follow (can't read the text and listen to the speaker at the same time). Especially the programming assignments were not extremely well documented, making it a bit hard to come up with correct formulas here and there. But it is entirely possible.

But all in all good quality course.

By Nitesh h

May 26, 2020

is it very tough if you don't hai proper knowledge of mechanical engineering then you should not take this course, and if you don't know about PID controllers and object based programming then also you should not take this course

although a very introductory course in this subject

By Sam B

May 09, 2020

Assignments are based on trial and error to finding solutions which was the only drawback I felt significantly. If one puts their brains and do a lot of extra reading(supplementary material) along with the course, you can get a broad knowledge of what self driving technology

By Artem P

Aug 30, 2019

It is good course, but for me structure of the course wasn't the best.

Last week and the assignment was great, but for me it was more useful if i start to code earlier. I don't understand the importance of some information from the lections until the last week.

By Prashanth M

May 18, 2019

This is really an advanced course and you would be required to have good skillset in python and deriving at the control equations. Nevertheless, its an excellent course and provide you with basic fundamentals for design and architecture of self-driving cars

By Mohamed I A

Jun 30, 2019

the course materials presented here is very organized and well developed, they prepare you well both theoretical and practical through out assignments . Ionly hope they focus on students help through out discussion board.

By Vaishnavi G

Jul 19, 2020

Interesting course. Its a good start for someone interested in and relatively new to self-driving vehicles. Towards the end, it focuses majorly on controllers - in the last few weeks and in the final assignment as well.

By Kale K A P

Aug 01, 2020

coursera is a great platform to lear things which are very helpful in our career . and this self driving cars facinates me how great work of math behing the working of level 5 anotomy vehicles

By Ahmed G Y

May 18, 2020

Such an amazing course to introduce a technological revolution that will be a breakthrough in our world! Of course, there is some challenge to finish the course and expect some difficulties.

By Guruprasad M H

Apr 09, 2019

The programming exercise needs a little more introductory . For someone new its very difficult to follow and adapt and meet the deadlines. This could potentially be demotivating

By Swapnil P K

Jun 25, 2020

This Course is very useful .The lectures are well paced and the hands on coding exercises spread throughout the course make sure that you imbibe what is taught in the lectures.