Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
1,972 ratings
606 reviews

About the Course

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top reviews

DA
May 27, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
Mar 24, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 602 Reviews for Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

By kouassi n c

Aug 5, 2017

très bon cours dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sous-titres en français j'ai appris beaucoup sur ce pays

By Amy F

May 15, 2019

Was wonderful. Instructor is very knowledgeable and this was great beginner's learning. Recommend.

By Kate M

Feb 5, 2017

Very interesting material covered by the course. The Professor teaching it sounds a little dry.

By Tamar W

Feb 20, 2018

Frequently even with my sound turned full up I have difficulties hearing the Coursera classes.

By Ajlan A

Nov 13, 2016

needs more data visiualizations.. images that used repeated many times which is confusinng.

By joyce b

Nov 23, 2020

generally fascinating, but far too many names and details given too quickly to absorb.

By Johan N P E

Mar 8, 2019

I liked this course..thanksfull with you coursera and the university from penssilvanya

By Alicechrr

Jul 3, 2020

Really great course but there could have been less videos by making them longer.

By Marly Y

Jan 16, 2017

It needs more written notes so that it would be easier for a person follow up.

By Sachin R

Apr 26, 2017

I wanted to give it 4.5 Stars. The course was wonderful and was well thought.

By Christian W

Nov 20, 2016

Nice and rather short course, giving a good introduction about Ancient Egypt.

By Tanya

Apr 4, 2020

A lovely introduction on different aspects of ancient Egyptian civilization!

By Vir K

May 1, 2020

info is great but it might be a little overwhelming, layout can be improved

By Colleen M

Apr 8, 2017

Interesting course stimulated my desire to learn more about ancient Egypt

By Nancy D

Oct 11, 2019

it was slightly hard to follow but a great class. i enjoyed it immensly.

By Mirela F C

Apr 10, 2020

Probably too much of a general approach and not enough information.

By Domen H

Apr 8, 2018

This was a very good introduction to the history of Ancient Egypt.

By V.B. V

Sep 22, 2020

I loved it. I only wish there was even more details and quizzes.

By Mack G

May 2, 2017

Lots of detail, particularly about the Penn museum.

Descriptive

By Philippe A

Dec 20, 2016

Interesting class, which give a good overview of Ancient Egypt.

By Enrique U U

May 4, 2019

It's been a very interesting course, quick and easy to follow.

By Shreya S

Mar 19, 2020

I learnt interesting facts about Egypt that blew my mind.

By Clotilde D

Oct 20, 2018

Thanks for all the informations, it's a great course !

By Rachel A

Dec 12, 2016

Fantastic content, I really learnt some new things

By Rony K

May 5, 2020

very interesting course! I love ancient Egypt