Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing by IBM

4.3
stars
1,150 ratings

About the Course

Computer Vision is one of the most exciting fields in Machine Learning and AI. It has applications in many industries, such as self-driving cars, robotics, augmented reality, and much more. In this beginner-friendly course, you will understand computer vision and learn about its various applications across many industries. As part of this course, you will utilize Python, Pillow, and OpenCV for basic image processing and perform image classification and object detection. This is a hands-on course and involves several labs and exercises. Labs will combine Jupyter Labs and Computer Vision Learning Studio (CV Studio), a free learning tool for computer vision. CV Studio allows you to upload, train, and test your own custom image classifier and detection models. At the end of the course, you will create your own computer vision web app and deploy it to the Cloud. This course does not require any prior Machine Learning or Computer Vision experience. However, some knowledge of the Python programming language and high school math is necessary....

Top reviews

M

Invalid date

this course need some improvement like update on the third apps (cv studio) also open cloud (so we can train the model in our own IDE) not in jupyter

SK

Invalid date

very informative course which truly helped me learn .The labs service however is very bad but teaching staff is always there to help

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 255 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing

By Sachin K

Dec 19, 2021

This course's last assignment is with error. I am unable to submit the assignment.

By Hristo T

Mar 26, 2024

Too many writing mistakes and incorrect code formatting in the labs

By simon l

Feb 12, 2023

the labs are incomplete, we cannot deploy our model on CV studio

By Rohan T

Nov 23, 2020

More practical knowledge but less technical knowledge.

By Mohsin S

May 6, 2023

Good course for computer vision but not best course.

By Yaser Y A

Oct 19, 2021

I hope they fix the platform they are using

By FRANCISCO J E J

May 10, 2020

Doesn't show nothing about computer vision

By Mauricio P

Dec 22, 2022

Good course but lot of technical issues

By Markey S

Mar 1, 2024

Course Material needs updated.

By William W

Jan 27, 2020

bad codes

By Alexey K

Jan 23, 2023

A gargantuan amount of contents crammed into one small course: OpenCV, Numpy, Pillow, Pytorch, Scikit-learn, Normal Neural Networks, Convolutional Neural Networks, Hyper-parameters search, Fine-tuning, Deployment strategies. I must have forgotten something for sure. Okay for revision, if you have already learned the stuff elsewhere. Absolutely no chance you will remember any of it 1 week after completion otherwise.

A ton of projects, but all just click-through or copy-and-paste a-la Udemy style. One could absolutely understand none of the given code and easily end up with 100% grade from quizzes that only test basic knowledge or could be brute-forced. That is, if you are lucky and don't get docked marks during inadequate peer-assessment. All it takes is just one grumpy student to drop your grade into oblivion... without any feedback or reasons given... possibly because you previously flagged their totally empty submission.

And don't even get me started about IBM constantly pitching their Watson and CV Studio, which no one uses... Which doesn't even work half of the time. Good luck deploying your model on the last project!

Unfortunately, this was the third course in the certificate. If only it were the first one, I would have abandoned this cursed specialization like some dirty diapers.

By Nam N

Aug 17, 2021

I have participated in many courses on IBM but this is the first course that I feel very bad. The only good point is the first 2 weeks where they teach you the insights of Pillow and OpenCV. The rest is terrible. I feel like the knowledge is given without a clear explanation. The LAB Section is probably only for Python experts, you won't understand what they do at all if you haven't learned Pytorch before. Just run cell, look at the result, then run cell, look at the result, run cell, and so on... The final project is just like a slideshow no more no less, you follow the steps and show out results, done. You will not learn anything from data-processing step to refine-model step. I gave 2 Stars simply because I was inherently sympathetic to IBM before, but with this course itself, all was disappointment.

By Francisco V

Jan 16, 2024

Content is very relevant and complete. But often hard to follow. Videos are narrated by a computer generated voice, making it hard to follow, and not well segmented into the different ideas and concepts presented. The labs are basically examples of code for the different models presented in the videos. There is only a minimal amount of own coding required. The graded exams are only multiple choice and no coding is required to pass. Everything I say i based on the first three weeks, then I dropped out. I was quite disappointed by this course.

By Wallace F d S

Mar 30, 2020

This course has some of most interesting labs from all this certificate. However, they are full of bugs and outdated information. I spent hours searching for tips and workarounds in the foruns. By the way all my questions are still there waiting for answers.

Overall, it was a frustating experience mixed with some some interesting technologies and approaches.

By Karsten B D

Jun 13, 2024

IMO this course is not constructed in a way that supports learning. Particularly, I find that the exercises simply show examples of implementation without guiding the learner to familiarize with the content. Moreover, the focus on CV Studio seems to have mostly promotional relevance.

By ajay s

Mar 12, 2024

The trainer sounds so disinterested in lectures. Lectures are monotonous. Also there are bugs in the CV Studio that makes it much harder to submit assignments on time. Course topics are otherwise good, but lots of scope to become better. I don't recommend buying this one.

By Prasad K

Jan 25, 2022

Course content is good. Too many issues & errors in getting CV Studio working. Submitting assignment had been the most time consuming and frustrating task. People are struggling to submit the assignment and discussion forums are full with these system errors.

By Veronica A T S

May 2, 2022

I have a lot of problems and issues with this course. And the last 2 questions of the final assignment are not very easy to understand what is it you want. My experience has been so bad I am just glad it is over

By Richard I

Sep 14, 2020

Good course, but terribly maintained Lab and Capstone project. Lab has been broken for two weeks. Coursera has however agreed to cancel the last monthly charge, but the labs need some serious TLC…

By Lucas S

Feb 13, 2022

The cource content was a good overview of nerual networks and thier use in computer vision. The labs however where sloppily put together, and in most cases, not formatted correctly.

By Jan S

May 18, 2022

Some of the practice notebooks don't seem finished. CVStudio is very unreliable and doing the final project didn't really work (lots of comments in the forum but no action)

By Mohammad A

Dec 21, 2023

Computer vision material is very weak. It did not cover enough theoretical material or programming tools. Programming labs used pytourch wich is covered in the next course.

By André P

Nov 10, 2023

Little explanation and too much lab work. Doesn't get your curious about learning and out of date course. Some parts don't work correctly.

By Kieran B

Nov 28, 2020

Great tech, great teachers, completely let down by course material that is almost always broken, out-of-date, or buggy.

By Matt T

Oct 28, 2022

Completey broken tools and incomplete directions make a great topic hard to follow