Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks by IBM

4.5
stars
7,045 ratings
1,942 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you the background needed to understand basic Cybersecurity. You will learn the history of Cybersecurity, types and motives of cyber attacks to further your knowledge of current threats to organizations and individuals. Key terminology, basic system concepts and tools will be examined as an introduction to the Cybersecurity field. You will learn about critical thinking and its importance to anyone looking to pursue a career in Cybersecurity. Finally, you will begin to learn about organizations and resources to further research cybersecurity issues in the Modern era. This course is intended for anyone who wants to gain a basic understanding of Cybersecurity or as the first course in a series of courses to acquire the skills to work in the Cybersecurity field as a Jr Cybersecurity Analyst. The completion of this course also makes you eligible to earn the Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks IBM digital badge. More information about the badge can be found https://www.youracclaim.com/org/ibm/badge/introduction-to-cybersecurity-tools-cyber-attacks...

Top reviews

RV
Dec 24, 2020

If you want to learn cybersecurity and you have no idea about that. Then this is the best course which covers all the basic topics and provide you a best knowledge about cybersecurity and their tools.

GV
Aug 14, 2020

The reading link to Week 03's Framework and their purpose is Broken. Please Fix it. Everything else seemed perfect. I would recommend this course for people who think of starting their careers in CyS.

Filter by:

1651 - 1675 of 1,968 Reviews for Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks

By SUTHAHAR P

May 8, 2020

Good

By Xianhan L

Feb 10, 2020

OK

By Deleted A

Jul 7, 2020

.

By Robert W

Jul 19, 2020

While there is plenty of very useful information in this course, there are several things that could be vastly improved. The test questions are sometimes oddly phrased and material that is not learned until Week 4 is tested in Week 1 (white hat, grey hat, black hat hackers) . There are several one question quizzes that seem arbitrary (ex. "What did this SOC Analyst say was the most useful tool for him?"). In Week one's Critical Thinking section, there appears to be a video that stops halfway. My biggest criticism is that this is a beginner level course but the instructors will throw out technical jargon that doesn't get defined until later in the course, if at all. The following video is the same video but it shows the whole thing. This has potential to be a truly great class but, IBM should really review this course, see what they can streamline, and identify what it is they want people to take away from this class.

By Nathan W

Oct 26, 2020

Honestly, I really enjoyed the content and thought the information they said while doing the presentations was great. The problem is IBM seem to be using the worst mic I have ever heard. Like you can see it was done in 2018 but they could afford to give the Lecturer a decent mic?? Unfortunate, else this would be a very good course, its just hard to understand what there actually saying. Even the subtitles don't know what they say sometimes...

Also to note, the quizes are really hard because it doesn't even say what I tried to answer. Disappointing, all the other courses I've done on Coursera at least let me see what I got right and wrong. And then video quality look 360p at times, terrible production quality.

By Yadira M

Jun 30, 2020

I think the information being discussed and shared is great, the quality of the videos is not good at all though. The audio is different on every video and I you can barely see what's being displayed on the slides, even when I change to higher quality on the settings. I appreciate the industry leaders providing their insight but there's too many "umms" and not enough well spoken presenters. I don't mean to be harsh because I think the content is good but you can barely understand what they are saying. Perhaps someone who's confident & does presentations often should do them. I would even lower the volume on the videos and tried to read what they are saying at the bottom but even that barely makes sense.

By Monique S

May 9, 2021

I think overall the way the course is offered is great. There were a few things that I found could use improvement. Audio is definitely something that could use an overhaul. The other thing is the way the information is conveyed. A lot of times the speaker was not only hard to understand, but the delivery made for a bit of confusion. It might help to write out what is going to be said rather than to wing it. Also, the word "So" is overused as well- some improvements in the English department would do a lot of good. Overall, you can certainly learn a basic understanding of Cybersecurity from this course. The convenience of fitting it into a busy life is the best thing about this.

By Eduardo A T C

Jul 27, 2021

I​t's alright as an introduction of the world of Cybersecurity. The selection of topics is neat, I just wish the execution was a lot better. The audio quality is really bad for most of the lectures, you'd expect that IBM would have the budget to give good mics to their instructors in 2018. Some of the slides are really bad depending on the instructor, the text is really squished together and for some reason they are plastered with comic sans as a font and silly stock images. Can't say I regret taking this course but I would say it's only for absolute beginners to the topic

By Theodore W

Oct 8, 2020

The course materials were unevenly elaborated, some concepts were very well explained others were not. I would suggest that on topics involving novice audience, it is very important to properly articulate and teach as opposed to delivering lectures. Sometimes, when the audience is more advanced on a subject matter, lecture format would be very helpful. But this course is usually taken by individuals who don't know anything about computers or security. We cannot perceive lecture format about specialized cyber security events as well as professionals can.

By Alexia K

Oct 22, 2020

Overall an informative course BUT there are some serious issues. For example, the content was very repetitive at various points. Additionally, some of the video content is of very low quality (e.g. we cannot see the slide content well or we cannot listen to the speaker clearly). Some improvements will be necessary for the course to be of better value. Right now, it seems like someone took clips from different talks/presentations and tried to compile them into a course (sometimes not successfully..)

By Jasmine J

Apr 14, 2021

The audio on the videos were poor and would go in an out as if the person was moving away and towards the mic. There were several videos that had background noises such as phone notifications and doors closing. Some of the speakers had strong accents that made it difficult to understand but the subtitles helped. Presentation skills need to be improved, speaking clearly, better slides, improve their skills on teaching, etc.

Overall, the content was very helpful and easy to understand.

By Maria C

May 8, 2021

The quality of the videos and audio is quite low. Some questions in the review quizzes are advanced compared to the level you say it's required. I have an extensive background in networking and found some advanced terminology used (without proper explanation) along the course that would make a beginner level feel completely lost. I was able to absorb a lot of information that will guide me trough this "career change" path. I'm starting the second course. Thanks!

By Livia K

Mar 29, 2021

The course was really great for those who want to have an overview of the main topics in Cybersecurity. However, the audio wasn't good and, because the professors were, most of them, from different countries, it was really complicated to understand them, even if you are fluent in English. So, I was trying to read the subscription, but I missed the slides . If the subscription was inserted on the video, it would be more pleasant for the students. Congrats!

By Poh S Y

Sep 15, 2020

There are many parts of the video where the speakers are not audible and the corresponding text is not helpful as well given it is a mere replication of the voice-text. This impedes actual understanding of the content. Moreover, while branded as a beginner course, the speakers used many different technical terms without explaining what they actually mean e.g. TCP, UDP, FTP etc. It's complicated for non-tech students to follow through.

By Frank B

Jul 12, 2021

S​ome of the disertations where it names the US (eledge) as one of the responsible of the creation of the Stuxnet virus assumes that it was part of the confabulation when in reality that has not been confirmed plus other implications to other nation states as responsbile for cyber attacks. The course left aside the legal frame of why being the US the country that receives most of the attacks it is unable to respond in accordance.

By Georgios P

Jan 8, 2021

Some recommendations:

>> Improve the quality of the content in the slides

>> Make URLs referenced in slides available/clickable in the script text

>> Make unintelligible voice bits intelligible in the script text

>> Brief instructors to focus on insightful narration as opposed to reading from the slides

>> Ensure that quality of lectures is commensurate with the level of difficulty required to pass module tests / final exam

By John L

Jun 16, 2020

I was disappointed in how some highly technical issues like data encryption and digital forensics were treated, mostly at the conclusion of the course. These topics seemed to be taught superficially, without enough background or explanation. Additionally, some instructors, while highly knowledgeable in the subject matter seemed to lack proficient communications skills and were, at times difficult to comprehend.

By Maziar E

Jun 14, 2020

Although the content of the course is amazing, however the quality of recordings is surprisingly very much below whatever online training material I have seen. Neighbours hammering a nail in the wall, another person talking at the same time in the room, very poor voice quality, typos in the presentations, 10 different types of slides, copy pastes from websites, etc.

I'm like, Are you serious IBM?

By Apostolos S

Nov 22, 2020

Interesting topic and content covered was right. But, the sound quality is really bad in most of the videos and the feeling I got is that the course was prepared fast, with cheap equipment (maybe through phone calls - not even using a proper mouse) and with no intention to update it (old links even from 2016, some not working anymore). Disappointing quality from a company like IBM.

By Raj S

May 18, 2021

I felt the Content was good but not all of it was actually useful. The videos should be crisp and point to point. Learned many new things and I appreciate IBM for making this wonderful course. But, the audio quality was terrible sometime. The audio is not recorded professionally. And, the instructor's accent was not understandable sometimes. I think this could be improved .

By Roger T

Aug 9, 2020

It was a good intro to cyber security for someone like me with zero knowledge in this field. However, at times it was difficult to understand the instructors who don't have English as their mother tongue. But it was especially difficult to understand Domenico Raguseo discussing the Cyber Kill Chain in Week 2. I just decided to turn off the audio and just read the slides.

By Daisy A

Apr 7, 2021

Some parts of the course were a little difficult to understand because of the organization. The presenters in some of the parts were jumping around or not fully explaining a concept which made it a little difficult to follow. Also if there were texts or websites that can be given before the course to help supplement with the course it would be greatly appreciated.

By Hemaraj D

Jun 22, 2020

Your content is very good but the sound quality is very worse not getting anythings. please put with good sound quality. You guys works on IBM and doesn't have good quality microphone? How cheap? The course cannot be best without audio with is everything and and the quality of sound is low that the microphone that you are using is less than a dollar.

By Ana D

Jul 7, 2020

Some of the material is repetitive (f.e. talks about the same exact classification of threaths in weeks 1,2 & 3). I feel there wasn't a good communication between the lecturers, hence the repetition. At some videos audio was really bad. Otherwise, the course gives a good, but brief introduction. Hope the next one in the specialisation is better.

By Sarah T

Sep 15, 2020

There were some great visuals and obvious tons of expert teaching. However, some of the audio was difficult to understand, I often felt like the instructor was reading off of a slide rather than elaborating and providing context or simple examples, and the general flow of the course didn't really make sense to me.