Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to GIS Mapping

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to GIS Mapping by University of Toronto

4.9
stars
1,436 ratings
471 reviews

About the Course

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top reviews

AF
Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

BA
Aug 3, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 469 Reviews for Introduction to GIS Mapping

By Aditya U K

Sep 6, 2020

Very nice course! Gives you a great background of some basic concepts in GIS; most importantly map projections which I needed very much. I am certainly looking to finish the remaining 3 courses in this series as well.

By Adam C A

Oct 4, 2020

I really like the way the instructor teaches me. I never get board or feel asleep as he presented. You'll get attentive as he can make you laugh. well anyway, thanks to you Sir Don Boyes of the University of Toronto

By Maruf M

Sep 12, 2020

Great Course!

Professor Dr. Don Boyes is highly professional and he knows how to teach a boring topic in an interesting way. I like this course very much. Finally Thanks to Professor Dr. Don Boyes for his great work.

By Shahriar I Z

Jun 1, 2020

Very good introductory course into mapping and ArcGIS. The basics of maps and projections are taught well by Don Boyes with his witty style of teaching. It should be taken as a primary step towards ArcMAP learning.

By Edward J O G

Jul 25, 2020

An excellent course, especially if you're interested in learning the basics of GIS, what it is and its relationship to the world. The videos and material are very complete and clear. Thanks for all the learning!

By Euijin J

Jun 20, 2020

I really like how the instructor views and explains key concepts of GIS. His conceptualization was very helpful as I learned so many fundamental things of GIS in a short time. I truly enjoyed taking this class!

By Dariia K

Apr 5, 2020

Great course for beginners in GIS and people who want to have systematic knowledge in GIS and appropriately understand GIS terminology. The very professional lecturer who gives interesting real-world examples

By Rafiuddin N

Mar 19, 2021

I took a GIS class at School as well and I believe this class was well developed and great for me to review the concept I covered in my class. Actually, some concepts become very clear Thank you Don and team

By Samantha F

Jun 23, 2020

Excellent course! I went into the course never using GIS software before and felt that this was a great introduction course. I really enjoyed learning the theory as well as the practical aspects of GIS.

By Alexandra S

May 6, 2021

Excellent course! Strongly recommended, although I started the course after the deadline, so I couldn't obtain the certificate (there weren't projects to review, and nobody available to review mine).

By Benhur K A

Aug 4, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

By Amrit K

Jul 17, 2020

This course is basic introduction to key concepts used in GIS. I found the instructor to be great. Complex terms are explained in simple way. Overall this is a very good course for beginners.

By Ada A A

Jun 16, 2020

I loved the course! Personally, I like to know the background of things and how they work. The course is not just a step by step ArcGIS course, it is an opportunity to understand further GIS.

By Fanie T T

Jul 24, 2020

Absolutely great course and very exciting. The course is more practical and the lecture is really good in explaining complex concepts. It is really a well structured introduction ti GIS.

By Thejus A

May 20, 2021

The passion & enthusiasm in which you handle the sessions and the logical reasoning that you provide is outstanding. Really appreciate your efforts and looking forward to more lectures.

By BOBIN A S

Sep 19, 2020

I am very grateful for this course, really got extraordinary knowledge from a great instructor and can explain very well (intonation, gesture, flow). Everything looks very professional.

By Camilo A E T

Aug 10, 2020

Muy bien desarrollado el curso, presenta una base teórica adecuada para iniciar con los SIG. Ya había usado ArcGIS, pero este curso me dió la base para usar muchas de las herramientas.

By Katherine V P J

Nov 17, 2020

El mejor curso introductorio a los sistemas de información geográficos, permite aclarar muchas inquietudes conecptuales que son fundamentales para avanzar en temáticas más complejas.

By sarah s

Oct 5, 2020

This course was very well done for an introduction course and the instructor is easy to listen to and understand. I recommend this course to anyone who would like to learn about GIS.

By Daša B

Aug 31, 2020

Great course. I strongly recommend it to everyone who wants to learn more about geographic information system and want to fully understand different settings while creating new map.

By Cedenia G M

Aug 17, 2020

This course is amazing. Perfect for learning theory and practice at the same time about the basic tools of ArcGIS and the necessary knowledge in Geographical information systems.

By Milton S

Jun 28, 2020

It was a great introduction to GIS, it has been really informative, easy to understand and useful. I strongly recomend this curse to anyone whos interested in GIS understanding

By Ar. R B

Jun 2, 2020

Professor Don Boyes is awesome, He knows very well how to make a class into interesting and enjoyable to the learner. His skillful video lecture session is very much helpful.

By Nahuel B

May 31, 2020

I learned a lot of foundation and theory about GIS, also about geographic coordinate systems, which is very helpful for my work. Very well explained and precise course.

By Marino M M R

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent descriptions of each topic proposed in the unit. The explanation of the coordinate systems and their projections exceeded my expectations. Excellent teacher.