Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,357 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

JZ

Invalid date

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

MP

Invalid date

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,733 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By xin h

Jun 30, 2020

Very good. Everything well explained and in an easy-to-understand way. I highly recommend this for everyone wants to learn Git from an entry level.

By RAJA S N Y K S - A

May 9, 2020

the course is very intresting and its the topics are properly scheduled, so that any person irrespective of programming background can learn easlly

By Jayaram R

Apr 3, 2020

This course helped me immensely.

But, the overall course certificate format is not that great.

Kindly, provide us with better formatted certificates.

By Özer Ö

Jan 23, 2021

If someone is looking for a comprehensive git and github course, it's the one. You'll use git in a real world. I absolutely recommend this course.

By Aman R

Nov 28, 2020

This was like sauce on the bread, VCS is the most useful things that i have came to know and how to use it is the another most important chapter.

By Patricia D A

Nov 24, 2021

I really like the course. Great teacher! I've been using git for a time now and I never understood some of the commands until now. Thanks a lot!

By Holy C

Sep 11, 2021

Very thorough and comprehensive course. Even as a long time practitioner, doing this course gave interesting insights to Git usage and practices.

By Bala G G S

Jun 1, 2021

This was so helpful in knowing all about working with git an github. Thanks to the tutors and team for making a wonder content struct and visual.

By Asmit M

Apr 22, 2021

This is one of the best courses available on Git and Github. Got to learn something new and will definitely apply my skills in upcoming projects!

By Pradyumna K

Mar 9, 2021

This course is great. It helped me to learn about Git and Github, initially, I thought both are the same but after this course, I learned a lot.

By Thales A K N

Aug 23, 2020

Amazing course!! I want to specially congratulate the Instructor that taught all the concepts very clearly and had my attention the whole time!!

By Anubhav S

Jun 10, 2021

I like this course specially their teaching method and content. I learned a lot abut git and github and how to handle my projects using github.

By Edvan d S S

Sep 26, 2020

Muito bom curso. Há pontos a serem melhorados, mas nada a impedir o aprendizado. De resto, uma excelente experiência formativa em git e github.

By Cindy E

Feb 20, 2023

Great introduction course, really well explained and easy to follow. Touched other important concepts apart from basic usage of Git and Github

By Nikita K

Jun 28, 2020

Very well taught and explained. The labs can inculcate the harder topics taught in the lectures instead fo the simpler ones for more practice.

By nahomy e s v

Sep 7, 2021

It was hard at the beginning, but it gets better as you continue. The instructor was amazing. Don't forget to take notes and practice, guys!!

By Anu R U

Jun 26, 2021

THE OVERALL COURSE WAS INTERESTING AND I THANK MR. KENNY SULAIMON SIR FOR EXPLAINING EVERY INFORMATION IN A VERY EASY AND UNDERSTANDABLE WAY.

By jitendra k

Aug 30, 2020

IT is a great course to learn git and git hub. 1 Suggestion to all the learners, Read the suggested reading/articles they give many insights.

By Vincent D

Aug 14, 2020

I've been using git and GitHub for quite some time now but I still managed to pick up a lot of best practices in using git from this course.

By Nameer W

Jul 31, 2020

Lovely course. I definitely will recommend it to my friends and colleagues. Thanks Coursera and Google for giving this opportunity to learn.

By ANANT T

Sep 15, 2021

Instructor is very enthusiastic in teaching this course and also the queries in the discussion forums are quickly answered by the mentors.

By Leandro P

Jul 5, 2020

Excellent course.

Contents were solid and the instructor explained them very clearly.

Very recommended if you want to start with Git/Github.

By Akshay M

May 1, 2020

The instructor was so good, and the course content was also well balanced. it lets you know so many things in a very short period of time.

By Deleted A

Jun 29, 2021

It was fun to learn more about using Git and Github. Would recommend, The videos are pretty easily understood and the class went smoothly

By Susan M

Jul 25, 2021

Nicely done. I"ve been using git and github for several years, but have never taken the course. Learned a few things & filled in gaps.