Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,358 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

MP

Invalid date

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.

AK

Invalid date

A must do course for those you are willing to contribute to the open source projects via git hub. Its very informative and I'm happy that i enrolled and completed it. Thank you Coursera !!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,734 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Gustavo F D A

Jul 13, 2020

The course covers all basics (and some intermediate I think) skills around Git/Github and version control. Explaining the workflow since creating files until upload the changes into a remote repo. I'm very happy.

By Gajendra S n

Aug 24, 2020

Great Introductory course on Git and GitHub.

I have taken few courses before but this course made all the concepts very clear.

Now I can't think of starting any programming project without Version Control System.

By Rishabh S

Sep 17, 2022

It's an amazing course and I would recommend it for everyone who has an interest in becomign a software developer as VCS is a crucial tool in the development field right now.

Thanks a lot Google and Coursera.

By Egor K A

Oct 20, 2020

Вполне полезный курс, где всё объяснено постепенно. Много коротких видео, в которых без воды объясняется только самое необходимое. Поддержка курса работает, вопросы не виснут без ответов на форуме. Рекомендую.

By Rafae K

Aug 4, 2020

Wonderful journey. Before this course i cannot able to understand the concept of pull request including collaboration. But now i can do this easily thanks to instructor who have made these videos interesting..

By Vinayak R D

Aug 19, 2023

It is a very thorough and organized course. Really loved the delivery and content of the lectures. Really thankful that I ever found this course. 100% recommended to anyone seeking out to learn Git and Github

By Jahnavi M

Jan 31, 2021

It was very smooth through this world of git, the instructor was super cool, and the Qwiklabs did help me understand things. This would be a great starting point for me to get into this world of development!!

By Aqib A

Oct 10, 2020

Very well crafted course, Instructor is wonderful, His way of teaching is nice, He speaks with a clear and confident voice which is good, i learnt a lot from this course thanks both Google and the Instructor.

By Dushyant k

Apr 7, 2020

This course was really helpful in understanding industry prevalent version control.so far keywords such as pull,push & fork seemed dreaded words.Thanks to this course for making things easier to understand.

By Mack S

Apr 3, 2020

Excellent course. An eye-opener indeed. Now I know how to track changes in my projects and collaborate with others. The instructor is very good he gives detailed information on how to accomplish each task

By Mareks O

Nov 28, 2022

I liked the course. It gave me a good insight into git and GitHub. The knowledge which I get from the course will allow me to use it in my future projects. I am very satisfied with this course.

By Shrivats A

Jul 23, 2021

A very well structured course with examples and sufficient explanation for every concept. In addition I absolutely loved the instructor, and it was so much fun to follow along with his videos.

By dean w

Sep 5, 2020

I have always looked at at Github when searching for code or help on a project, but never understood what it was all about. I now have a much better understanding and appreciation for Github.

By Shubham P

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really helpful for me. I was having experience with git and github but surprisingly I get to know many new things from this course and instructor is simply awesome and excited!

By Lance A

Aug 21, 2020

Loved this course as it helped me solidify my understanding of git and opened ways for me to think of and use git, github on contributing to open source projects and managing my own projects.

By Sumit M K

Jun 7, 2020

This was one of the best course I have done. Really easy to follow yet very detailed material and examples. Thank you Kenny and Team Google. One of the best courses ever. Highly recommended.

By Rameses

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent Intro to Git and GitHub. Covered everything I want to know to dig deeper. Course enthused me. Labs could have been a bit more challenging but OK considering the student population

By Adolfo A L

Jun 5, 2020

Great course! Well explained and examples are easy to understand. The use of quicklab from google is a great idea to teach with an unique environment for all the students. Congratullations!

By ASHUTHOSH P

May 18, 2020

A great course with a great instructor/guide. The online assessment tool is one of the best and easiest to work with and also teaches us how to connect to a google cloud instance passively.

By Amit K

Oct 20, 2020

A must do course for those you are willing to contribute to the open source projects via git hub. Its very informative and I'm happy that i enrolled and completed it. Thank you Coursera !!

By SY. R M A

Sep 13, 2020

This couse is owesome. This is the most complete git and github course i've ever taken. Thanks for google and the instructor for providing such a great course. I found this really handy.

By Suraj A

Jan 24, 2024

Excellent course, easy to understand, beginner friendly. I loved the way Kenny Sulaimon teach the concept of Git and GitHub. It is crystal clear to me. Thank you for this amazing course.

By Michelle S

Dec 11, 2021

You learn a lot of things that are more subtle that help with understanding things like what is the HEAD and origin. Also the explanations on the git flow and the github flow are great.

By Favre d M

Mar 28, 2021

very good course. the skills are difficult but the instructor manages to make them clear and easier to understand. The labs are also good to practice as well as the cheat sheets. Thanks!

By Marko S P

Jan 23, 2020

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.