Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,358 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

MP

Invalid date

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.

AK

Invalid date

A must do course for those you are willing to contribute to the open source projects via git hub. Its very informative and I'm happy that i enrolled and completed it. Thank you Coursera !!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,734 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Preston M

Aug 18, 2020

It was cool to get hands-on experience with some tricky examples and to see a step-by-step of how Git handles conflicts! This is the best Git training that I have seen yet!

By Marcelo B

May 23, 2021

The best course from Google I took. The instructor shows all you need to start using GitHub, without ever feeling rushed or too slow. Kudos to him for such great delivery.

By VANSH A

Aug 25, 2020

Using git for my project was always tempting since I started my CS degree program but also overwhelming, this course gave me all the skills and confidence that I needed.

By Michal B

Dec 12, 2020

This course contained a lot of useful concepts and is aimed at gaining practical experience. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to become a software developer.

By Michael E

Oct 23, 2020

Great course!

I loved the topic and how the instructor never missed to explain how this is useful in real life to people who work in programming and IT support.

Thanks!

Mike

By João M R d O

Aug 17, 2021

This is an excellent path to learn about VCS, Git and GitHub. I was looking for a teaching environment with good structure, therefore motivating me to finish the course.

By Rahul k S

Jul 19, 2020

This is a well-designed course for beginner and for those who don't have cs as background

this course is must for those who want to contribute as a open-source developer

By Joe B

Aug 5, 2020

This is an exception add in to the course, as I have yet to come across such a simple and thorough instruction set to learn Git command line to a basic functional level

By Michał M

Aug 7, 2023

I'm glad I started learning Git and GitHub here, because it is comprehensive course which can guide you through fundaments and direct you to more complex usage of Git.

By Nissi N E

Jun 28, 2020

Although already a bit familiar with git, I learned a lot and really enjoyed the instructor motivation and explanations! Qwiklabs were really excellent too. Well done!

By sutan m

Jun 23, 2022

very clear and concise. I love how it uses qwiklabs! I don't recommend this to beginners, but if you are already familiar with ssh and bash, this is a course for you!

By Khan L

Mar 1, 2021

Excellent course on Git and GitHub. Great content, labs and wonderful instructor. His name should be prominently shown on course overview. Thanks Google and Coursera.

By Sherzod O

Nov 15, 2020

I really liked this course. I used to have a hard time using Git & GitHub. But now, having finished this course, I can work with Git and GitHub. Thanks for the course

By Paulo S D

Jun 30, 2022

Great course! Excellent explanation the basic concepts involved and smoothly entering in advanced topics, good real life examples. Thanks google for this course.

By Marcel D

Aug 16, 2020

The course was really nice, I enrolled to expand and improve my git knowledge, and it worked. The instructor is also very nice and he knew how to explain very well.

By Lynda O

Mar 13, 2022

Thank you Coursera and Google, you're about to make my dream of a career switch to IT come through. Course is so intense and rich, loved every bit of the journey.

By René S K

May 28, 2021

This course is more than just an introduction. Not only beginners are picked up here but also experienced professionals can refresh their knowledge. Simply great.

By Greg F

Mar 23, 2021

Great course! I thought I knew Git but now realize I had a good working knowledge. Thanks to this course I now have a greater understanding of the power of Git.

By Hitesh V

Mar 16, 2021

Very helpful course for learning Git and GitHub for beginners. Very descriptive and assignments were very useful and the instructor was also very good. Thank You.

By Juan C C M

Aug 3, 2020

Simplemente genial! super agradecido! lo he aprovechado al maximo, y lo he disfrutado muchisimo gracias a todos por hacer posible esta grandiosa forma de aprender

By Nisar H

Apr 16, 2020

Thanks Goolge for such a great learning experience. I appreciate the course instructor, who precisely elaborated every single command of Hit and GitHub. Love it.

By Hyller V

Jul 26, 2021

Thanks to Coursera and Google for creating this course. No Doubt that the knowledge I gained on Git and GitHub will be instrumental in improving my code skills.

By Madhumita C

Dec 3, 2020

This course is a fun and an interactive way to learn git and github. It is very useful for someone who wants to be introduced into the world of version control.

By Vlad Z

Jul 31, 2020

Great class! Enjoyed learning about Git and GitHub and how they are used to keep project logs, restore previous versions of code, bug fixing, and collaboration.

By Omar E A

May 26, 2020

I really appreciate this experience. QwikLabs are just good. I learned so much more new things about the amazing tool Git and the platform GitHub. Quite good!