Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python by EDHEC Business School

4.8
stars
1,046 ratings
305 reviews

About the Course

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. This course provides an introduction to the underlying science, with the aim of giving you a thorough understanding of that scientific basis. However, instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. This course is the first in a four course specialization in Data Science and Machine Learning in Asset Management but can be taken independently. In this course, we cover the basics of Investment Science, and we'll build practical implementations of each of the concepts along the way. We'll start with the very basics of risk and return and quickly progress to cover a range of topics including several Nobel Prize winning concepts. We'll cover some of the most popular practical techniques in modern, state of the art investment management and portfolio construction. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods....

Top reviews

MA
Nov 29, 2020

Awesome Course, Great instructors that give a nice balance of theory and practice, the practice is very hands-on and will help you understand the theory and give you useful tools from the first week.

SW
Aug 5, 2020

I am self taught in Python and have an industry background in Finance. This course was a good connector/provided additional insight on using Python to process portfolio performance and data analysis.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 306 Reviews for Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

By HAN J

Dec 29, 2020

Great course!

By Radka M

Apr 25, 2020

Great course!

By Chintan J

Nov 13, 2020

Good course.

By Huu P H

Aug 24, 2020

great course

By Kevin B

Jul 10, 2020

Excellent!!!

By Ron J

May 31, 2020

Great course

By Gabriel d A M

Apr 16, 2021

Muito Bom!

By Pruthul R

Jul 17, 2021

Top notch

By mohamed h

Nov 24, 2019

awesome

By Martin W

Apr 19, 2021

Bieng

By Luke D L

May 27, 2020

good

By Anna P

Jun 28, 2021

This is a high quality course with top material included!

The skills are relevant for the industry.

The course is also interesting and fun to take.

I have only two comments for thought:

Instead of copy pasting in some videos, a more thorough explanation would be nice and

some strategies require essentially continuous rebalancing something that cannot happen in practice. So it would be best if strategies allowed for less frequent rebalancing.

We can of course build our strategies to allow for less frequent rebal, I am just saying!

By Paolo G

Oct 14, 2020

Nice course that brings to life real-world applications of Python in the context of institutional investor's portfolios. Requires a background in investment management basics (e.g. discount rates, portfolio analysis) and is ok for Python novices, like me. I found the course especially interesting in the last part, when LDI modelling via Python was presented. At the same time, the Python part feels a bit rushed in this last chapter, although a lot has to do with my beginner-level knowledge of this programming platform.

By Mark K

Aug 6, 2021

This is an excellent course for the finance professional who has a deep and genuine interest in both Python (for Machine Learning) and Portfolio Analysis. Don't take it if you can't check off both because it is rigorous in both regards.

The instructor does especially well in describing the Python code that he is using: in great line-by-line detail for much of the Python notebooks. He falls a little short on providing full Portfolio Finance Theory, ...which is why I provided 4 stars, not 5.

By rami y

May 12, 2020

The instructors have done a great job at helping learners gain hands on experience with rather sophisticated investment management techniques. However, illustrating the practicalities of portfolio construction and insurance came at the expense of only brushing on the theory behind some of the notions introduced. Maybe it was meant to be this way but I would have loved to see more analysis of CPPI and the pricing of ZC bonds under CIR model.

By Francisco V A

Jun 4, 2020

I think this is a good course! THe thing that I like the most ist that Vijay gets stuff wrong live, which is in line with your experience as a coder.

There are two things that I don't really like. You almost need a pre-course to know how to manage Python. And the exams are super difficult, particularly the coding related questions. Probably intermediate homeworks would be in order.

By Jacob W

Apr 24, 2020

Main concepts in portfolio management were well reinforced with relevant coding applications. The only drawback was that some of the code needed a bit of massaging to execute correctly. Example: an index was used in a calculation when it needed to be converted to an array for a defined function to return a calculated value. Nonetheless, a great course.

By Dirk W

Feb 5, 2020

Well-constructed course, right balance between theory and lab sessions. Lab sessions thoroughly detailed, which is really a forte. The 5th star is missing because of a few frustrating problems with automatic interpreting of answers in quizzes and because of the lack of (quick/relevant) responses or answers of the moderators in the forum.

By Christopher B

May 8, 2020

The accompanying materials were incredibly well organized and helpful and the coding walkthroughs were great for beginners. However, I'd argue that some of the topics covered were not very mainstream as far as finance concepts and I had trouble finding further information on them outside of the course, which was necessary in some cases.

By Mike M

Feb 16, 2020

Nicely balanced between financial theory and programming in Python. Working through the topics by coding them in Python made the financial conception much more approachable and easier to remember. Leading approaches to portfolio construction and learned new concepts about best python practices. Recommend this course.

By Mychajlo C

Apr 19, 2020

Quite interesting course for a person who has no idea what investment instruments are. However for same kind of person it lacks more practical part as to how to build portfolio (tools, platforms, time-related plans)...

Definitely recommend for all beginners

By Parag S

Jun 27, 2020

Designed by a top-tier Business School (EDHEC Business School) and taught by top level Professors (Lionel Martellini and Vijay Vaidyanathan) provides a high quality technical knowledge on portfolio construction, leveraging Python programming language.

By Ciaran J O D

Dec 8, 2020

I found the course very interesting and educational. I think the course could be improved if the labs were more intereactive (e.g perhaps a concept is explained and then there is a pause for the user to attempt to write the functions first)

By Soheil S

Jan 4, 2020

A very robust curriculum with good coding instructions and explanations. It is helpful for even someone who has not any portfolio construction experience. But definitely need some level of understanding of the financial market.

By Wayne Z

Jun 14, 2020

The week 4 content is not as applicable as the rest, especially some code does not work well at my side. So it took me extra time to complete the course. But I generally enjoy it and look forward to continue the learning.