Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by University of Toronto

4.9
stars
3,732 ratings
1,242 reviews

About the Course

This course will highlight the most interesting experiments within the field of psychology, discussing the implications of those studies for our understanding of the human mind and human behavior. We will explore the brain and some of the cognitive abilities it supports like memory, learning, attention, perception and consciousness. We will examine human development - both in terms of growing up and growing old - and will discuss the manner in which the behavior of others affect our own thoughts and behavior. Finally we will discuss various forms of mental illness and the treatments that are used to help those who suffer from them. The fact of the matter is that humans routinely do amazing things without appreciating how interesting they are. However, we are also routinely influenced by people and events without always being aware of those influences. By the end of this course you will have gained a much better understanding and appreciation of who you are and how you work. And I can guarantee you that you'll learn things that you'll be telling your friends and family about, things that will fundamentally change the way you think of yourself and others. How can you resist that?!...

Top reviews

HW

Feb 17, 2017

I loved every minute of this course! Professor Joordens was very engaging and it was set at just the right pace. I'm looking forward to my next course already! The discussion forums are very helpful.

EC

Dec 16, 2016

good course. suitable for starters. I learnt some basics and something interesting. I now can analyse some social events from the psychology point of view. I understand humanity a little bit better.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,220 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Jim K

Jan 01, 2017

I love this course very much and it was a great 10 weeks' study. All the lectures are very well prepared covering a lot of areas of psychology. Professor Steve's is quite humorous and explain those topics very clearly. I am looking forward to his next course.

By Gayle M

Sep 03, 2020

Great course! Best MOOC I've taken on Psychology so far. Steve Joordens is a fantastic teacher. Loved his style, easy to learn and he made each lesson funny as well as entertaining. I would take any of his courses in the future. Thanks for the memories.

By Büşra G U

Apr 20, 2020

Professor Joordens taught everything crystal clear with supporting the content with examples and experiments. I believe I could not learn this much if I had this course at my college. I am eager to learn more about psychology, thanks to Professor Joordens.

By Milca d S H

Jul 21, 2020

The classes were amazing and I am sure that they will help me as in my personal as in my professional life. I recomend it for those who are both interested in learnig about Psychology and would like to improve the understanding of psychological concepts.

.

By Hariharan B

Jun 23, 2020

I really like the course contents and the delivery by Professor Steve Joordens. I was watching the entire thing at 2x and still had no difficulties understanding anything whatsoever. Looking forward to him possibly making more advanced psychology courses.

By Waleed A

Aug 19, 2017

It is really a great course, and I recommend it to everyone, especially professor Steve Joordens, I can't express how much I like his personality, although I did not meet him but it is clear in his videos, and wish one day to be one of his class students.

By Pitchapa N

Jul 31, 2020

Very detailed, intensive course. This courses is good for who familiar with biological/scientific words, but who is not from scientific area of study can also learn from the lessons. I learned a lot about psychology without studying similar class before.

By Keya V

Jun 08, 2020

Professor Steve Joordens is absolutely brilliant. He teaches every concept with interest and is a delight to listen to. The course content is already very interesting and the professor makes it even more so with well thought out explanations and examples

By Katrin T

May 22, 2020

Very good overview with interesting contents. Challenging, but not too difficult. The good explanations help to understand the contents, even if you are a beginner. Still, you don't get the feeling that it's all just beginner's stuff. Thank you, Steeve.

By Emome T

Sep 22, 2020

Sir Steve has been the most insightful and friendly person and a teacher. Even if I was learning online, the feelings reached out, and the way he teaches maks me forget how time passes by. Thank you sir for your efforts.Would love to meet you someday.

By Somtoo N

Jul 07, 2020

Thanks to the lectures of Prof Joordens, I am exposed to a lot of concepts which I now understand vividly. My appreciation goes to you Sir and the whole Coursera team for making it possible for me to acquire this much knowledge in such a brief period.

By Enrique C G

Aug 20, 2018

Prof. Joordens provides a very clear explanation of a very wide range of topics in a very engaging and entertaining fashion.

Certainly, one of the best MOOCs I have engaged with recently.

All my appreciation to those who made it possible.

Cheers,

Enrique.

By Carolyn T

May 09, 2018

This course has been really helpful in understanding the basics of psychology. Steve is very knowledgeable and easy to understand, and the lectures are interesting and informative. Would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in psychology.

By Olga M

Jan 03, 2017

The course is very fascinating! I learnt a lot about psychology as a science and of course applied it to my everyday life! The external links provide additional material for those who are eager to learn more. The lecturer is knowledgable and friendly!

By Paolo

Feb 18, 2018

The course is really well organized, and it deals all the topics in a very systematic way. Moreover the professor is really involved in teaching and trasmits passion for the subject. I really recommend this course to anyone interested in the subject.

By Caroline T

Mar 01, 2019

Amazing course... I loved it and the teacher is awesome and fascinating

it gives you great understanding and a real good general culture on psychology digging into various aspects of it.

I highly advise taking this course even just out of curiosity...

By Luna L

Dec 19, 2016

Excellent course and definitely worth learning. It has interesting and enriched content, the professor is humorous and gives great lecture. What is best about this course is that it has many additional reading and video sources with proper guidance.

By Simone d C A d C

Mar 03, 2020

Professor Joordens rocks! Really! Amazing classes, very high level content and awesome books, articles and videos appointed. Thank you Coursera for the opportunity. Very high level of Authoritativeness, trustworthy and expertise. I recommend 100% !

By MD. A A

Feb 14, 2017

This course is a must for every human being. It teaches us about ourselves . The instructor, Steve Joordens, is a awesome guy who knows how to implant difficult knowledge in our brain smoothly. Enroll this course and learn about yourself in depth !

By Charitha S

Jul 17, 2020

It was an exceptional experience to listen to Steve Joordens. He made everything so simple and easy to understand. I'm so thankful for completing this course. It made me understand the importance of mental health and taught me how to deal with it.

By Liz

May 04, 2017

Most Excellent. Professor was engaging, knowledgeable, and motivating. I looked forward to going home after work to learn from his videos. I would like to see more of his work if there is anything offered. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

By Giselle H

Jul 09, 2020

Having graduated with Psychology as one of my subjects I was impressed that the course covered a lot of content

I thoroughly enjoyed hearing about some of the Masters again

Thank you Steve for making it something I looked forward to almost everyday

By María d P R G

May 04, 2019

I deeply enjoyed learning about something completely unknown to me. Steeve makes the lectures fun and interesting. I like the fact that everything is made to be completed at your own time and preference. Thumbs up for coursera and Steeve! Thanks!

By David L

Mar 10, 2017

I was always looking for a course on psychology that provides a full overview through the evolution of psychology with its key concepts and how these shape our behaviours. The course provides all this with a great and fun way of content delivery!