Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
22,712 ratings
4,978 reviews

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 4, 2020

Professor Bloom has quite engaging style of teaching and the animations in this course provided nice visual reference.Overall, it's a nice course if you want to learn basic introduction of psychology.

KJ

Dec 27, 2020

I just ended this course smiling & 'happy' with the final topic. 🎉 Thank you for the wonderful experience. Professor Bloom did a great job in explaining and a very pleasant, soothing voice to present!

Filter by:

4676 - 4700 of 5,043 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Lil G

Nov 23, 2020

Thank you for the opportunity to complete this course. Taking this course during Covid 19 restrictions was a productive way to apply myself -- and the price was right.

By Roman R

Jul 28, 2020

It was almost a five star experience. The only thing that discouraged me was the tempo and diction of the lecturer who is without any doubt a great expert in his field.

By Bhushan P

Apr 29, 2020

To know the various aspects of psychology and some high level scenarios; this course is really good. This course will not give you deep acknowledge about every aspect.

By Vicki Q

Nov 15, 2021

My biggest issue was with the course format - I believe it would be more engaging if the lecturer was in front of the camera. I didn't like the animation type format.

By Paul L

Jun 5, 2022

A very well rounded course. I learned a lot and was pleased with Professor Blooms' clear definitions on what he was explaining. I'd reccomend this course to anyone.

By Angel C

Dec 16, 2020

solo un puntito menos por el idioma. (me hubiese ugstado escucharlo almenos con doblaje al español y tambien encontre algunos errores en la traduciion (subtitulos))

By Bielkina O

May 11, 2020

would like to have a bit more focused and extended explanation on some topics. For me this course perfectly match together with similar one from Toronto university.

By María G

Sep 20, 2021

ME PARECIO MUY BUENO ESTE CURSO, EN ESPECIAL PORQUE ME GUSTA ENTENDER A LAS PERSONAS Y DIFERENCIAS LOS POSIBLES PROBLEMAS QUE ELLOS PUEDAN TENER E INCLUSO LOS MIOS

By Saurabh

Nov 19, 2020

well, it was worth every second of my attentive engagement. And the content, the teaching and the learning experience was pretty above my expectation. I thank you.

By Aniket B

Jun 12, 2020

Got to learn a lot of new things,BUT A FEELING is there something more could be there.Resultant i enjoyed the process and felt little sad when the course ended....

By Arjunsiva S

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you for the great course. It really enlightened me on various concepts of psychology. The professor had a great humor sense. I loved the additional content.

By Sevin C

Sep 15, 2021

I​t was a wonderful course and I enjoyed the videos. It would have been more helpful if more of what was written could have been discussed throughly. thank you.

By shubh r

Jun 24, 2020

Absolutely had a great time doing this course .got to know about depression, babies , memories, happiness and etc . Thanks coursera for providing this course .

By Tinju T P

Jun 13, 2020

The course was well constructed, really informative and motivating to learn more on the subject. The lecture could be more of a lively type than mere animation

By Claudia

Nov 2, 2020

Great introduction to psychology for people coming from any background. Great examples to explain and clarify theories, very relatable and easy to understand.

By Mitesh L

Mar 30, 2020

It is good course to learn and understand basics of Psychology. It is interesting and involved subject if you are interested in understanding human behaviour.

By Neeraj V

Jun 12, 2020

Prof. Bloom did establish a good foundation for the scientific study of psychology in this introductory course with a good compilation of reading materials

By Tahsin T

Jun 19, 2020

it was quite good, satisfactory for me.. i got all the topics and information that i wanted. the professor was very engaging even through the technology.

By Proma S G

Nov 18, 2020

An extremely well researched and compiled beginners course . A few classes recorded in a live classroom environment would enhance the course even more.

By Erin M

May 25, 2020

A wide range of engaging content across all branches of psychology. Extremely beneficial for anyone looking to discover the foundations of this field.

By Cristina w

Mar 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It gave a clear view of the broad spectrum of psychology. Allowing me to understand that psychology in itself is broad .

By Elizabeth K

Apr 21, 2020

The content was good but it felt like there was more contents crammed into an entire lecture and the lecture were a bit tedious otherwise it was good

By Nancy K

Mar 28, 2022

I took this course as a refresher from the Psychology courses I took in nursing school many years ago. I found this course engaging and informative.

By Ramana B G

Jun 9, 2020

It was an excellent course to provide an introduction to psychology. But I feel too much animation failed to connect me personally to the professor.