Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
23,290 ratings

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

OB

Jul 27, 2020

This course is very insightful and I have learned quite a lot. My favourite area though is Clinical Psychology and Positive Psychology. I believe I will be better able to understand persons around me.

IA

Dec 30, 2020

The lectures were very fun, engaging, and interactive. Taking this course gives you a deeper understanding of life and helps answer questions we have about ourselves, others, and the world we live in.

Filter by:

4701 - 4725 of 5,152 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By chloe w

May 13, 2022

It was such an amazing course. It is quite a different format to what I was used to so it takes a while to understand the course but it was really engaging and loved having key notes on the screen as he spoke. Some of the animatins made me laugh which I was always happy about.

By Vanessa H

May 3, 2022

This course was a little different and had some time to do this. It was kinda interesting there were stuff that I didn't agree with so I just picked up what I needed to do. I enjoyed the part about how are minds work when we had part of our brains that aren't working right.

By Margarida B F

Mar 4, 2021

Unrealistic estimation of effort, specially on what concerns reading articles.

Videos great but too superficial when comparing to readings.

It is important to have timetables but it is also important to be flexible so the courses can be performed by moms, people working, etc.

By L P

Dec 2, 2020

Me ha gustado mucho el curso, ha sido sencillo, claro y he aprendido mucho acerca del comportamiento humano y he descubierto algunas claves para incrementar mi bienestar personal, ojalá supieramos más sobre que nos hace ser mas felices y como afrontar los eventos adversos

By Marisa G

Oct 6, 2019

Material excellent and I found the animations actually less distracting than watching a person. I found it a novel way to present the lectures. Very interesting articles and length of course manageable for a busy lifestyle! Please do more courses Professor Bloom!!

By Jamie Z

Apr 12, 2020

This was certainly a course that serves its purpose of introducing beginners to psychology. I really enjoyed it! However, personally, I wish it would go a bit more in depth. Nevertheless, this is definitely a great course that I do not regret to have learned.

By Emong M

Sep 7, 2021

Mr Bloom, thanks for the psyc insights. I have learnt a lot here and this has exposed me to new knowledge and practice.

You and your team are just resourceful in this area.

I have been learning from here and promise to learn more through Coursera.

Best regards.

By Israfitul I S

Jun 4, 2020

The course materials was arranged very nicely and presentation was awesome. It would be better if i could see paul bloom directly while giving the lecture. I didn't like the animation he provided. May be he needs to think more about animations in future.

By Fatima M

Aug 5, 2020

It was a great overview of the types of topics psychology plays a role in. It was informative and engaging, particularly when the Professor Bloom spoke of studies and psychological phenomenons/theories to give a better understanding of its application.

By Anaemilia X G H

Jul 9, 2020

It was a good introduction for me to deepen in this area. There are interesting points as well as challenging ones that I want to clarify furthermore, such as parenting. I think there was a good grasp of what psychology studies and why it is important.

By Pavithra L

Jun 11, 2020

Broad overview across several topics.. Found the animated style super engaging.. the relevant examples and videos definitely enhanced my understanding. Keen to see more offerings from this professor. Super valuable grounding in this subject. Thank you!

By Vaishnavi N

Jun 4, 2020

This course though was a bit long, it provided an overview of almost every aspect in the field of psychology. Course gets more interesting with every new week, It also provides interesting research clips.I enjoyed the child psychology chapter the most.

By Muhammad S S

May 5, 2020

Examples need improvement. Extra credit and free certificate should be given to foreigner as English is their second or third language but they arre doing great job by clearing this course. This course should be given as a reference to go USA for study

By Dhimaan B

May 7, 2021

This is a mindblowing course! Anyone who wants to develop a foundation in psychology, should definetely try this course. Prof. Paul Bloom has explained each concept in such an interesting way. Really glad to have experienced such a beautiful thing.

By Alpha K A

Nov 24, 2020

learned a lot, great overview and readings are very interesting I think worth actually doing, I would recommend online audio word read the website and you can do things while listening. doing this encouraged me to actually pursue this subject at uni

By Carmen M

Jul 4, 2019

The content is very good, but it's format is poorly constructed. I loved the lectures of Professor Bloom, and I highly recommend the course, with a small disclaimer: the format, which is 100% animated, will likely distract some of the audience

By Aparna J

Aug 20, 2020

The only thing I found negative is the fact that there is no way you can complete the readings in 10 minutes. The reading itself took 2+ hours every week. It would have been better if the reading material were also included in the lectures.

By Gloria M

Aug 12, 2021

​I really enjoyed the course and loved the animation! Being diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder this year is what lead me to wanting to learn about Psychology and this course has definitely made me want to learn more. Thank you!

By Rachana P B

Sep 27, 2020

This is one of the best courses that I have taken. The course was very engaging, interesting, stimulating to think beyond our preassumed set of thoughts and beliefs. Thanks to the Professor who made this course a wonderful experience.

By Martha L C S

Jun 22, 2020

Fantastic introduction to psychology. Lectures are clear and well structured. Gives an overview on the fields and allows to deepen in the topics of interest. Would be better if lectures had actual video, but is in general very good.

By SHIVENDRA A S

May 30, 2020

Very great course with a lot of fun and learning. There was some mistake like the number of videos in a particular week were more but the overall course was very nice. I would emphasis my friends to take this course and have fun.

By Sheng L

Nov 16, 2019

I have changed my opinion about psychology, especially about the content of psychology with this course. It's so useful, informative and fun in the mean time. Perfect trail courses if one is considering to take long-time courses.

By Md.asif B Z ,

Jul 3, 2020

It was really eye opener for me. So many misconceptions got cleared. But the videos get repetitive sometimes as the interactions between the professor and students is less. Otherwise it is a tremendous lecture series. Thank you.

By Shikha K

May 21, 2020

Loved the course and the teacher. Professor Bloom is very articulate in his explanations and he has successfully managed to spark my curiosity for a subject that has remained fascinating to me since a long long time. Thank you.

By Anthony R

Aug 10, 2020

Great content. The lecturer has a wonderful voice. However the delivery in terms of diction and syntax was poor. The robotically captured script was inaccurate. People who are not native English speakers will have difficulty.