Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
28,428 ratings

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Professor Bloom has quite engaging style of teaching and the animations in this course provided nice visual reference.Overall, it's a nice course if you want to learn basic introduction of psychology.

SA

Invalid date

To be honest, it was an overwhelming course for me. It has expanded my eyesight and way of thinking. Hopefully, the acquired knowledge from this course will help me in my personal and practical life.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 6,232 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By meta

Nov 18, 2019

I took this same course on Academic Earth 10 years ago and benefited from many insights due to that experience. This was review for me but I was pleased that the lectures had been updated with recent recearch. I appreciate the interactive quizzes as they help to remember the material, I just wish there were more optional supplementary questions as well. Professor Bloom is an infectious lecturer and I'll be looking for more courses from him like this in the future.

By Raymonde B

Mar 16, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as I had not taken a basic Psychology course before. I found the material fascinating, the lectures stimulating and motivating and overall I consider Professor Paul Bloom to be a fantastic teacher ! I graciously thank him for this course!

Finally I would like to say that as an auditor, I can honestly say that it is a wonderful way to pass the winter months in learning something that inspires one and encourages one to study more!

By Benedict A

Dec 17, 2019

This course touched upon many of the topics that I have been curious about and discussed socially in a very structured format. Many of the topics presented and the optional readings reinforced the concepts taught that I feel confident that I can provide insights to others on these topics. It has also further enlightened me on my thoughts and behaviors as well as the people around me. I truly enjoyed and am grateful for the knowledge that I obtained from this course!

By Puja R

Jul 13, 2020

It's a great course if you want to under psychology as a field and what all it deals with. Of course, it's not going to give you in-depth knowledge about everything because that's too vast to be done, but it does a pretty impressive job at piquing your interest by making the most of the limited time. The Professor is absolutely amazing- not only does he know what he's talking about but he explains everything from different view points and is very open to new ideas.

By Olga K

Apr 19, 2020

An excellent course to get introduced to the most important part of the basics of Psychology!

The lecturer is grasping my attention! The illustrations, sources, external materials and graphics make the lessons not only more attractive but also more clear and understandable!

I would suggest this course to anyone being interested in Psychology, even for first year students! The information presented are also part of every good "Introduction to Psychology" study book!

By Chris N

Dec 13, 2019

This course has been a great experience! The course is sectioned out into separate topics that provide interesting information and flow into the next topic. Professor Bloom does a great job of explaining interesting and complex topics in a way that is easily understood but doesn’t feel watered down so it is easily understood. The animation and video style is great for those who learn best through visual learning. The course definitely deserves a five-star rating.

By isa g

Oct 24, 2023

De alguna forma te abre mas el panorama hacia lo que es la psicología, sus bases, pioneros, hallazgo etc. De verdad mesenti muy bien haciendo este curso...claramente lo recomendare. Muy buena las explicaciones del profesor Bloom, muy sencillo, facil de entender y su manera de explicar es muy importante. Este curso es el primero que realizo de coursera y debo admitir que me ha gustado que este haya sido el curso numero uno. que maravilla haber podido realizarlo.

By ARITRA G

Jul 28, 2020

A fantastic medley content that examines a range of issues & implications of psychology. The narration is smooth and his vocabulary easy to comprehend. This course easily unravels a lot of layers and can help you to ask yourself some critical questions - do you wish to pursue an academic or a professional career in this field? Does the brain fascinate you or the social/medical ailments? After this course, you will be begin to see the path that you should take.

By Hannah

Sep 12, 2021

This course was really great! The videos were constructed well, Professor Bloom was engaging and knowledgeable, and the additional readings/resources were relevant and helped to get a better understanding of the topics discussed within the course. In addition, the weekly exams weren't too difficult and could be completed fairly quickly, depending on the questions. Overall, I would certainly recommend this to anyone who is interested in the field of Psychology.

By Prayas C

Aug 25, 2022

This course hits the sweet spot in terms of content. Anyone seeking a basic understanding of the subject should definitely consider taking this course. Professor Bloom is extremely engaging. The lectures are well structured. The animations exceeded my expectations, being minimalistic yet engaging. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to get started with psychology, be it for academic reasons or just for a better scientific understanding of life.

By 7717 y A

Jun 28, 2021

paul sir is the best, after completing this course i went to youtube and i found intro to psychology by paul sir. now i am gonna do that , thank you sir for fulfilling the curiosity of learning in me. i am from a finance and accounting background and i am so much drawn to psychology that it has lead me to change my field and next year i will pursue msc in psychology conversion course. thank you paul sir once again. sending you love from india and freud haha

By SP

Nov 8, 2021

When a friend told me about this course, I was overjoyed! My interest in psychology has grown steadily since middle school, and as a former high school junior, I'm eager to take advantage of every opportunity to expand my knowledge in the field. This course was very engaging and well-designed, by far the best I've seen online! All of the lectures and topics covered piqued my interest and raised new issues, as well as arguments, that I am excited to discuss. 

By Tory

May 30, 2020

Great course! I first saw it in the app from Apple for studying. It was free, but there were video lectures lasting for 1 hour each (or more). I was sure I wouldn't have the time and persistence to watch all of them. So, when I was given access to Coursera from my university and came across this course, I was more than happy to see that its format is changed. Funny drawings and visual aid were great but I appreciate short video lectures even more! Thank you!

By Daniel A

Sep 23, 2022

Ein super Kurs. Er baut sich selbst auf und ist in sich schlüssig. Hervorragende Beispiele, die die Theorie verdeutlichen. Das begleitende Studienmaterial von Noba geht gut in die Tiefe und die Externen Ressourcen veanschaulichen sehr gut die besprochene Thematik. Die Lehrenden ( insbesondere Professor Bloom ) haben sich sichtbar Mühe gegeben, Lernende in die Psychologie einzuführen und sie zu einem weiteren Interesse an dieser Wissenschaft zu motivieren.

By Shaheeda M

Oct 14, 2020

This is an extremely well-constructed Introduction to Psychology by Paul Bloom. It's clear that he went to great lengths to make the material accessible for both those who simply wanted to dip their toes into it and those who wanted greater depth (with the inclusion of the readings). I greatly appreciated his well-designed videos and the additional reading material to support the topics he presented. I thproughly enjoyed the course and highly recommend it!

By Sumit D

Apr 13, 2022

Professor Bloom's sound knowledge of the subject coupled with his ability to convey the most complex of topics in the simplest possible way, makes this course engaging and worth the times & money spent. The modules covered during the 6 weeks, give you enough bakground to pursue more specialized courses. This course definitely lays a strong foundation. I wish I had the opportunity to do a regular offline course under the able mentorship of Professor Bloom.

By Adithyan S (

Aug 13, 2021

I loved this course throughout. This has made me feel better by enlightening me with the rich knowledge. I enjoyed each part of the course,it was extremely helpful. As I'm myself at a depressive period of my life. I also hope to help others with the knowledge I've gained. Maybe pursue more of psychology later on. Sending lots of LOVE for prof. Paul Bloom and Yale along with coursera for providing me this platform. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you.

By Fabiha K

Aug 18, 2019

This course was absolutely amazing! It has exceeded all my expectations for sure. I am currently studying psychology as one of my A-level subjects and hope to continue studying psychology in uni. This course was a great opportunity for me to learn about the different aspects of psychology that is not in my a level course, therefore prepping me for uni, but also reinforcing the content I have learnt in my college to. This course was definitely worth doing!

By Peng ( L

Aug 9, 2021

This course contained specific explanations about some fields of psychology and gives an understanding of "Psychology". This course contained many lectures that are great for further exploring to learn about social science. The professor made this course very interesting with videos of experiments, highlighted some questions that might be interesting in further learning and recommended some books and reading to start the brain thinking about the brain.

By Eshhh

Apr 19, 2021

Awesome explanations and some mind-blowing things - basics - learned about Psychology. Covers every little about happiness in the end but whatever covered makes sense and helps your personal growth, which is awesome. We discussed a lot about some fascinating stuff like babies being smarter than adults. Definitely recommend trying out this course till the end!!! I would like to see the correct translation without any typos though for good notes. Thanks!

By Rahul D R

Aug 26, 2020

My experience with Coursera's Introduction to Psychology was truly outstanding and fabulous. I have acquired a lot of knowledge and an ample amount of understanding of the human mind. I'm certain that this course will come to me arsenal in times of adversities and needs.

Thanking You,

Rahul Dutta Roy

By Kim

Sep 1, 2020

great course that offers an introduction into core topics of psychology. However, I disagree with some of the perspectives offered in the class. Especially in the nature vs nurture debate. Upbringing has a significant effect. If they don't find that in studies, maybe they should use a different method or setup rather than go around and basically tell parents that it doesn't matter how (or wether) you raise your kids. Seems like an irresponsible stance

By Maria T Q

Jun 1, 2020

I came to this course expecting it to be useful for my profession. I am not sure if it was and I am not yet sure how to practically apply it to my job, however, I enjoyed it immensely. Paul Bloom just has a way of lecturing that will capture your attention and enjoy whatever subject he is talking about. Also, he appears to be extremely humble in his career, which I greatly appreciate and allows me to trust in his work in this course. Highly recommend!

By Thuse D

Apr 3, 2024

This was my first online course, and I would like to thank you for the great experience. Thank you for amazing facilitator. I learned a lot and benefited from your course. It was well planned and easy for me to follow. Assignments was just enough, and I could finish before due date. My nkowledge has been extended now. All the modules of the course were very beneficial to the entire learning process. I would like to further my Psychology with you.

By Putri A A

Jun 3, 2021

"Fire, fire, fire!" yeah this course so fire!! I really love for join on this course. It really help me to more understand how the way of human thinking that relate in aspect in human life even from the basic thing like in our daily life. Professor Bloom was amazing when it comes to explained lectures and personally that's unique technic that we learn by animation, it really fun and I enjoy during the course!! :)

Thank you Coursera and Prof. Bloom!