Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
28,428 ratings

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Professor Bloom has quite engaging style of teaching and the animations in this course provided nice visual reference.Overall, it's a nice course if you want to learn basic introduction of psychology.

SA

Invalid date

To be honest, it was an overwhelming course for me. It has expanded my eyesight and way of thinking. Hopefully, the acquired knowledge from this course will help me in my personal and practical life.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 6,232 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Dust 2

Jul 6, 2022

I loved this course and how I was engaged in it from start to finish! I find it hard to finish things I have started but this did not feel like them- I was happy reading about things and learning about the world around me! The instructor Mr.Paul Bloom was engaging and a teacher I would love to study under! It makes the things I looked at much more interesting and engaging! I had so much fun and would recommend everyone to go through the course

By Olga K

Mar 3, 2019

It's a pleasure to study with such interesting and fascinating lectures by Professor Bloom and exciting animation! The additional literature is very interesting and informative. I took this course to begin my way in psychology and neuroscience and it's very inspiring to continue! At the same time I learn English, so it's kinda difficult to me to understand the material in 100%, but that didn't prevent me from successfully passing the first test.

By Isabella여자 이

Dec 23, 2023

This is a very beginner-friendly and concise course that delves into the world of Psychology. I just finished this course for my vast curiosity in Psychology, and this course is best for those who want to major in Psychology themselves. There are many different branches of Psychology that can be very interesting to learn, and knowing about the self and others! Kudos to Yale University for establishing this free and wonderful course on Coursera!

By Gautam S

Jun 17, 2019

Incredible course with an even better teacher. Professor Bloom explained all aspects and perspectives of psychology perfectly and definitely worthy of praise. It was also personally very helpful to understand people, the origins of emotions, why people behave the way they do, mental illnesses and to some extent social engineering as well. Would definitely recommend among all other available courses on this platform corresponding to psychology.

By Shelley L

Apr 24, 2021

This was amazing, thank you so much, Professor Bloom. I had a bit of a difficult finals period and this was very nice to listen to at night to wind down while learning interesting things that happened to keep being coincidentally synchronous with things happening or that I'd been thinking about that day. I was always a little afraid to study psychology in case I found out upsetting things but turns out it's all very cool. The therapeutic-est.

By Boopalan M S

Jun 22, 2020

Definitely recommend it to everyone, who is interested in Psychology.

The best course for introduction to the field of psychology. Excellently structured. Brilliant examples, case studies and thoughts shared. As a person with no background but lot of interest in this field, I can say I kick started at the best place possible.

On a personal note, became a huge fan of Paul Bloom. Will go through his works and ensure to catch up to it, till date.

By Jacob B

Aug 22, 2019

Absolutely wonderful course. The professor is extremely engaging and clearly very passionate about the topic. I have gained a great deal from participation in this course and would implore anyone who is unsure as to wether they should enrol on this course or not, to do so, you will not regret it! fantastic course! has really opened my eyes and introduced me to the world of Psychology and has peaked my interest in studying this topic further.

By Sidra F

Apr 30, 2022

I wholeheartedly recommend this course to everyone who is interested. I didn't know anything about psychology expect this; Freud, therapy and shrink. This course really is for beginners. No prior knowldge is required. Nothing expect enthusiasm and desire to learn or maybe basic interest. Professor Bloom was a good teacher. He transitioned into the topics at a moderate pace. The lectures are written in a simple way and are easy to follow.

By Nigina K

Nov 14, 2021

I would like to say Thank you for professor Paul Bloom such a wonderful course! I learned many helpful knowledges, tips, suggestions, facts, researches from course and I found many answers to my questions which I was thinking fo a long time! I suggest this Introduction to Psychology course for everyone who want to improve their psychological knowledge, to understand themselves, and to change the to better side. Thank you again Professor!

By Joshua L S

Feb 7, 2021

Dr. Bloom is a world-class instructor with a passion for psychology that is infectious and a voice as soft and smooth as silk. Prior to this course, I self-studied psychology for the MCAT, having not taken any psych courses during college, and it was miserable. Horrible. The absolute worst. Dr. Bloom breathed life into a subject that I had nearly dismissed as being legitimate or worthwhile. This course, and this man, are absolute treasures.

By Dr B k s

Aug 30, 2023

I extend heartfelt gratitude to Professor Paul Bloom for his exceptional course. His insightful teaching in the Introduction to Psychology course from Yale University on Coursera has been invaluable. The knowledge gained has enriched my understanding of the subject, and I'm truly appreciative of his dedication. Thank you for providing this remarkable learning opportunity that has undoubtedly made a positive impact on my academic journey.

By Tiers H

May 24, 2020

A perfect Introduction to Psychology. The lecturer shared his passion for the field through his videos and awesome perceptions and interpretations of scholars of psychology. I loved how he related it to real life situations that we face everyday which made the concepts easy to understand and to adapt at work. I would highly recommend this course to any person in Leadership roles as well as those who have a passion for the human mind.

+3

By Joshua S

Dec 24, 2018

While I did have some complaints outlined in the exit survey (I'd prefer single lecture videos rather than multiple mini-lecture videos, and more challenging quizzes), I found this class to be fascinating. I now have a keen, excited interest in psychology that I never would have expected to have. I found the professor to be extremely understandable and engaging, and the animated videos we both entertaining and helped keep my focus sharp.

By Amanda N

Apr 28, 2024

It was very educational. The lectures were fun, interesting and full of information. The test were just the right amount between simple and challenging. The additional readings were a fun extra and so was the optional survey. Paul Bloom made this an enjoyable lecture with adding detailed examples and videos to help explain everything. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in or wanting to learn about psychology.

By Priscila F

Jun 12, 2021

Taking this course helped me improving in self-awareness. At the end of the course, comparing my scores at the survey I realized I also improved my well-being. The videos are very well-made in its contents and the resources fo taking notes and capturing screens helped me on taking notes on my paper notebook. I suggest to evrybody that wants to take this course to save the links to the readings to review the readings whenever they want.

By Maria S

Jun 4, 2020

This has been the course with the most open approach I have taken. Professor Bloom explains in a very delicate way that someone who has no previous experience with psychology can understand. I was curious about the subject but as it was advancing, I became even more intrigued about the many different approaches and subjects one can study in psychology. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and time and for inspiring me to keep learning.

By Sandra B

Nov 21, 2021

Professor Ploom, I absolutely loved this course! I enjoyed the flow you used to teach us every aspect of psychology. I have always been interested in the internal and external social well-being (SWB) of people's mental health and how it affects their social life and physical being, this is why I have chosen my career path. In this I have learned more about major depressive orders and the Big Five personality traits, and so much more!.

By N R M

May 14, 2020

I found this course very useful to know more about the mind and its functioning, though it remains a deep ocean to unravel. Prof. Paul Bloom delivered the course in an excellent manner and it is very important to get conceptual clarity in a subject like this. And the course ends with reference to humility (we know very little about mind) and optimism (but we are using scientific means to understand mind and we are on the right path).

By Meredith T

Jan 22, 2020

I found Professor Bloom to be wonderful at describing abstract ideas using modern and simple examples. The lectures are my favorite part of the course because I am a visual learner I found his explanations coupled with the animations to be quite powerful. The best way to take this course is to really think of it as a course you are enrolled in and take notes and read the recommended reading etc.

Can't recommend this one highly enough.

By Yukiko O

Jul 14, 2019

Well designed course covering the introduction of psychology. I have learned the overview of what psychology is and the different field/areas of the subject. The lecture was easy to understand - a great professor! The materials (videos, reading materials, transcripts, etc) were all well designed/presented to help understand what are being taught. I very much enjoyed the class and learned a lot through this course. Very happy with it!

By My N

Jul 22, 2020

Leave aside the comprehensive foundation of psychology provided by the Professor and the dedicated staffs , I think I have learned more than what I expected from the course (things that I thought I know turn out that I do not know it accurately :) and especially the very fine reading references). In addition, my PERMA results after completing the course is more positive than the first one, and that makes me quite excited. Thank you!

By Mochammad R

Dec 10, 2021

Very engaging and thorough course, I'm so astonished by how Prof. Bloom could discuss that plenty amount of materials clearly and systematically in such a short amount of time. If there's one suggestion I can give, then it'll be a suggestion not to make the video animated next time, if possible. But overall, amazing course, I enjoyed it a lot, thank you to Prof. Bloom, Yale University, and Coursera for making this course possible.

By Mar343

Sep 22, 2022

Excellent content; interesting topics. Prof. Bloom has been very engaging in his lectures. capturing my full attention. I wanted to listen to his lectures non-stop.. No doubt, I have learned quite a lot of interesting and brain storming subjects and questions.. to be asked .

Thank you for this great opportunity;

I want to continue in this same domain. What is the next course that I can take ??

All the Best;

Maral Tossounian

By René v d W

Jun 4, 2021

A very good course and it addressed more interesting subjects than I expected. I was also surprised about the limitations science is still dealing with when it comes to clinical psychology. As a layman I expected more knowledge in the area of neuro psychology dealing with chemistry/drugs. A lot of the contents of this course could be part of education in secondary school, giving children some insight in themselves and others.