Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
22,719 ratings
4,981 reviews

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

KJ

Dec 27, 2020

I just ended this course smiling & 'happy' with the final topic. 🎉 Thank you for the wonderful experience. Professor Bloom did a great job in explaining and a very pleasant, soothing voice to present!

IA

Dec 30, 2020

The lectures were very fun, engaging, and interactive. Taking this course gives you a deeper understanding of life and helps answer questions we have about ourselves, others, and the world we live in.

Filter by:

4576 - 4600 of 5,044 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Prathima S

Mar 15, 2022

I have thoroughly enjoyed the course. I took it up as a personal challenge to pursue my interest in psychology which is different from my profession. I am glad this made me realise that I am still passionate and motivated to learn.I want to take up advanced courses . I loved the voice modulation and the lectures of Paul . Animation is excellent. Reading is elaborate but worth the time.

By Sarah B

Dec 6, 2021

The professor is extremely captivating, all videos are well broken up so you don't get bored, the discussion forums are very alive, the formatting of the videos are never boring, and I feel a million times smarter after completing this course. I greatly appreciate the professor of this course, and Coursea itself for giving me the opportunity to expand my knowledge on Psychology itself.

By Inge S

Jul 31, 2020

I loved the honesty of the professor, the cartoon-style college lectures, the playful and relatable examples and demonstrations of Psychology concepts, and the professor's ever-changing cartoon outfits in all the videos. The class covers a ton of information, but its also told in a way that most people can understand, and I love that! I'm so glad I got to take this course :).

By Kavya B

Apr 21, 2021

As the name suggests , its a great introductory course. It goes over all the basic concepts and leaves you wanting to know more. It is in fact a great course for somebody who is just starting out or knows nothing about psychology.

I would not recommend it at an intermediate level as that is not the demographic this course is trying to cover.

Hope this helps ,

Happy learning !

By Fayaz R

Sep 8, 2020

Paul Bloom is a passionate teacher . I would rather loved to see him on a live recorded classroom lecture rather than his animated avatar . You can always pitch in the graphics on this recorded lecture , also would be glad to get a glimpse of what happens inside an Yale psych session . Ending the note with gratitude for making this course available to us . Thank You !!

By Stephen W

Aug 25, 2021

The course gave me a great feel for much of what psychology has to offer. The lectures were good and the reading material excellent. This probably says more about me than anything but sometimes I feltma little overwhelmed with information - particualrly the number of authors of all the studies that have been done over the past 150 years. Other than that it was good

By Mark W

Aug 31, 2020

Excellent lecturer, and a stimulating introduction to psychology. Many topics will be familiar to students of other social sciences or humanities, and more review at the end of the course (or a summary PDF for each module) would be helpful to concretise knowledge for learners. Readings are from a digital coursepack, and are useful for course quizzes.

By Kenly K

May 17, 2019

Great course overall, a good foundation to start working/study etc. on psychology, knowing what psychology is about in general, or simply get a grasp of how our brain works. I believed one might improved overall happiness, or self well-being if you prefer, simply by knowing the basic of how our brain works and how our environment affect our brain.

By Ly D

Jun 9, 2020

I took this course just to dip my toe into the world of Psychology and prepare myself for AP Psych next year (I'm in high school currently). There were some concepts that I felt needed to be expanded on and connected to (some lectures just seemed unrelated to the previous ones and it was hard to understand the main ideas) but it was really great.

By Matt W

Feb 10, 2020

A bit more overview of different forms & applications of clinical psychology would be great to help students get a sense of which pathway may be best suited for them if they were to pursue more research & begin research career choices (ie if that's why they took the course - to see which path would be "best" for them to conduct further research.)

By Sharmistha

Apr 6, 2020

My intention of attending this course was to get a feel for the subject area, particularly how it can help in day to day life. To that extent, the course has been successful. I think this course delves into western psychological perspectives. Given the global nature of the audience, it would have been good to know the oriental perspective also.

By Julie M

Feb 11, 2021

I enjoyed the course, including the wide range of topics covered and comprehensive overview of psychology (broader than I was expecting). I did find the videos hard to understand at times and had to pause and read the transcripts (which do contain some mistakes). I think it might be hard for someone who does not speak English fluently.

By Aditi A

Aug 28, 2020

This was a highly insightful course which was the perfect culmination of technical jargon and layman explanations. I have learnt a lot here that I will be sure to apply in life moving forward, not only in personal context but a professional one. This is a course no one with the slightest interest in psychology will come to regret.

By TANUJA S

Aug 13, 2020

Simply wow! Effectively organized and structured. This course is a must-do for all those who would want to grasp the concepts as well as pursue a career in psychology. It was worth my time and effort. I thank the professor and all those who contributed to this course for coming up with such a detailed yet brief output. Thank You!

By Sinmoy J L

May 11, 2019

Happy with the course module and its in-depth yet concise explaination by the Professor. Would certainly recommend this course to individuals who are academically interested in Psychology and to professional who want to improve their soft skills as this explain the science behind human behaviour in an effective manner.

By Priyanshu R

Jun 18, 2021

I am so glad to learn this subject and it teaches me many new skills and how are mind works and how we performs our activity. At last i want to suggest something that you should also provide some option to on subtitle during lectures in English and different languages so that they can learn by their own comforts also.

By Abdullah A

Feb 27, 2021

it was an exiting experiment ,that gave to me a comprehensive view on psychology and the its aspects .

the videos was interesting and the links to read also , may have some different opinion in some point view, but in general I learned a lots of information and opened may mind to some aspect that i didn't know

By Gert B

Jan 31, 2022

Great content and Prof Bloom is great. Only reason I gave it 4 and not 5 is because there is no certificate of completion. Unless I can't find it but even on the forum I saw many people asking for this. The end ruins the experience a bit as we also leaned in the last section. Other than that, great course!

By Fabiha A

Aug 8, 2020

Great information about psychology i gained through this course and this could help me in my career in psychology. As well as i also want to recommended them use some more understandable data in the course so this make it more easier for us to get better understanding and provide data in the notes form.

By Yu T T

Apr 27, 2019

Very useful as an introduction to psychology which linked to mystery of human behavior and how we are different and similar as individual. The course was put together systematically, using language that even non-psychology academics can understand. The use of animation makes it less dull to learn as well.

By Ferial

Jul 2, 2020

Overall it's a good general overview of the subject of Psychology, giving you information about the different aspects and specializations in the field. Some topics are more rich than others , but still it provides you with the essential keys to dive deep on your own afterwards. The readings are great!

By SUDARSHAN V

Jul 12, 2020

As I said this course is best introductory course, I mean you won't total psychology here itself but you get how to approach psychology or how to think like psychology and we can have a basic understanding of all fields of psychology. overall, this course met my expectations and I enjoyed the course.

By Roshni C

Dec 28, 2020

Excellent explanation with fascinating animation. I was really invested in Professor Bloom’s classes and making detailed notes. One small suggestion: the English captions are often wrong, which can be confusing for those who might not speak English as a first language or have a hearing disability.

By Terrell N B

Nov 23, 2020

I have a masters in math and a law degree. I thought the course was great but the test questions a little obtuse. I know what the Flynn effect is ad have a theory about its causes including nutrition and increased complexity of western life. Do not feel tests followed the material very well..

By Pippa P

May 28, 2020

This course was very well presented and the animations within some of the videos were very engaging and helped me to remember the information. I particularly liked the `ted talks and also the videos from specific scientific studies within the lectures as they helped further my understanding.