Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
22,731 ratings
4,983 reviews

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

KJ

Dec 27, 2020

I just ended this course smiling & 'happy' with the final topic. 🎉 Thank you for the wonderful experience. Professor Bloom did a great job in explaining and a very pleasant, soothing voice to present!

OB

Jul 27, 2020

This course is very insightful and I have learned quite a lot. My favourite area though is Clinical Psychology and Positive Psychology. I believe I will be better able to understand persons around me.

Filter by:

4601 - 4625 of 5,052 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Abdullah A

Feb 27, 2021

it was an exiting experiment ,that gave to me a comprehensive view on psychology and the its aspects .

the videos was interesting and the links to read also , may have some different opinion in some point view, but in general I learned a lots of information and opened may mind to some aspect that i didn't know

By Gert B

Jan 31, 2022

Great content and Prof Bloom is great. Only reason I gave it 4 and not 5 is because there is no certificate of completion. Unless I can't find it but even on the forum I saw many people asking for this. The end ruins the experience a bit as we also leaned in the last section. Other than that, great course!

By Fabiha A

Aug 8, 2020

Great information about psychology i gained through this course and this could help me in my career in psychology. As well as i also want to recommended them use some more understandable data in the course so this make it more easier for us to get better understanding and provide data in the notes form.

By Yu T T

Apr 27, 2019

Very useful as an introduction to psychology which linked to mystery of human behavior and how we are different and similar as individual. The course was put together systematically, using language that even non-psychology academics can understand. The use of animation makes it less dull to learn as well.

By Ferial

Jul 2, 2020

Overall it's a good general overview of the subject of Psychology, giving you information about the different aspects and specializations in the field. Some topics are more rich than others , but still it provides you with the essential keys to dive deep on your own afterwards. The readings are great!

By SUDARSHAN V

Jul 12, 2020

As I said this course is best introductory course, I mean you won't total psychology here itself but you get how to approach psychology or how to think like psychology and we can have a basic understanding of all fields of psychology. overall, this course met my expectations and I enjoyed the course.

By Roshni C

Dec 28, 2020

Excellent explanation with fascinating animation. I was really invested in Professor Bloom’s classes and making detailed notes. One small suggestion: the English captions are often wrong, which can be confusing for those who might not speak English as a first language or have a hearing disability.

By Terrell N B

Nov 23, 2020

I have a masters in math and a law degree. I thought the course was great but the test questions a little obtuse. I know what the Flynn effect is ad have a theory about its causes including nutrition and increased complexity of western life. Do not feel tests followed the material very well..

By Pippa P

May 28, 2020

This course was very well presented and the animations within some of the videos were very engaging and helped me to remember the information. I particularly liked the `ted talks and also the videos from specific scientific studies within the lectures as they helped further my understanding.

By Dara S

Apr 26, 2021

The course material and lectures were interesting and presented in a comprehensive manner, however, the time allotment for readings was unrealistic. The readings took much longer to complete, especially if you were taking notes along the way. Overall, I enjoyed this course very much.

By Megan M

Mar 12, 2021

An interesting course, Prof Bloom is very agreeable to listen to and I love the graphics. Really brings back the university feeling. Some of the videos just finish mid-sentence, which is a bit of a shame and the reading assignments are usually a lot longer than the anticipated 10min.

By Sergio V

Jan 20, 2020

Good material, very thorough. Its videos are animations which was not the best for me. Prof. Bloom is knowleadgeable, funny and humble. The course is exactly what it says it is, an introduction, an overview of the field but with option to further your studies according to interest.

By Thanh H

Sep 12, 2021

the course gave me an overview of psychology in each path. Some information makes me have to think again and revise my perception before. reading optional relevant to what I learn (sometimes it's over information but it's not a problem) The quiz help me recall again what I learned

By chloe w

May 13, 2022

It was such an amazing course. It is quite a different format to what I was used to so it takes a while to understand the course but it was really engaging and loved having key notes on the screen as he spoke. Some of the animatins made me laugh which I was always happy about.

By Vanessa H

May 3, 2022

This course was a little different and had some time to do this. It was kinda interesting there were stuff that I didn't agree with so I just picked up what I needed to do. I enjoyed the part about how are minds work when we had part of our brains that aren't working right.

By Margarida B F

Mar 4, 2021

Unrealistic estimation of effort, specially on what concerns reading articles.

Videos great but too superficial when comparing to readings.

It is important to have timetables but it is also important to be flexible so the courses can be performed by moms, people working, etc.

By L P

Dec 2, 2020

Me ha gustado mucho el curso, ha sido sencillo, claro y he aprendido mucho acerca del comportamiento humano y he descubierto algunas claves para incrementar mi bienestar personal, ojalá supieramos más sobre que nos hace ser mas felices y como afrontar los eventos adversos

By Marisa G

Oct 6, 2019

Material excellent and I found the animations actually less distracting than watching a person. I found it a novel way to present the lectures. Very interesting articles and length of course manageable for a busy lifestyle! Please do more courses Professor Bloom!!

By Jamie Z

Apr 12, 2020

This was certainly a course that serves its purpose of introducing beginners to psychology. I really enjoyed it! However, personally, I wish it would go a bit more in depth. Nevertheless, this is definitely a great course that I do not regret to have learned.

By Emong M

Sep 7, 2021

Mr Bloom, thanks for the psyc insights. I have learnt a lot here and this has exposed me to new knowledge and practice.

You and your team are just resourceful in this area.

I have been learning from here and promise to learn more through Coursera.

Best regards.

By Israfitul I S

Jun 4, 2020

The course materials was arranged very nicely and presentation was awesome. It would be better if i could see paul bloom directly while giving the lecture. I didn't like the animation he provided. May be he needs to think more about animations in future.

By Fatima M

Aug 5, 2020

It was a great overview of the types of topics psychology plays a role in. It was informative and engaging, particularly when the Professor Bloom spoke of studies and psychological phenomenons/theories to give a better understanding of its application.

By Anaemilia X G H

Jul 9, 2020

It was a good introduction for me to deepen in this area. There are interesting points as well as challenging ones that I want to clarify furthermore, such as parenting. I think there was a good grasp of what psychology studies and why it is important.

By Pavithra L

Jun 11, 2020

Broad overview across several topics.. Found the animated style super engaging.. the relevant examples and videos definitely enhanced my understanding. Keen to see more offerings from this professor. Super valuable grounding in this subject. Thank you!

By Vaishnavi N

Jun 4, 2020

This course though was a bit long, it provided an overview of almost every aspect in the field of psychology. Course gets more interesting with every new week, It also provides interesting research clips.I enjoyed the child psychology chapter the most.