Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
22,836 ratings
5,003 reviews

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

IA

Dec 30, 2020

The lectures were very fun, engaging, and interactive. Taking this course gives you a deeper understanding of life and helps answer questions we have about ourselves, others, and the world we live in.

SS

Aug 4, 2020

Professor Bloom has quite engaging style of teaching and the animations in this course provided nice visual reference.Overall, it's a nice course if you want to learn basic introduction of psychology.

Filter by:

4651 - 4675 of 5,068 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Maria E B M

Aug 2, 2020

Me gustó muchísimo el curso,

La plataforma, la voz de Paul, las exposiciones, la traducción.

Pero las tareas estaban sin traducción y me tardaba mucho en hacerlas.

Creo que deberían de tener su traducción correspondiente.

By Hemant B

Mar 13, 2019

The course is very interesting the way it introduces us to the different psychology theories and the professor is amazing. Special mention to the designer of the course with whose efforts the videos were very engaging.

By Aiden D

May 21, 2022

I only got through about 7% of the course material, it was pretty interesting to learn more about the science of our brains. I recommend this to any other scholar/person attempting to learn more about our emotions.

By Asmita M

Apr 27, 2020

Professor Bloom was fun and brilliant while the animated lectures were knowledgable and engaing. I enrolled to gain some insight into the field of psychology and I must say that I don't regret this decision at all!

By Sanjana I

Aug 14, 2020

Professor Bloom's unique method of teaching made it so easy to understand the fundamentals of Psychology. I didn't want the session to end at all. Thank you Coursera and Yale University for making this possible :)

By Nagesh N

Jul 4, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learnt about Psychology and it is very need full to every one. And i share this with my colleagues and relatives and all people who are connected to me, thank you for providing this course

By David C

May 16, 2020

Excellent course from Professor Bloom who makes it more lively. The noise of the animations on the screen is a bit annoying and sometimes it blocks a few words which he mentions but other than that, great course!

By Laura A

May 12, 2020

This course was a great introduction to psychology. There was a great level of detail and optional further reading and I enjoyed the different uses of learning media which were tested in the tests each week.

By Richard Z

May 2, 2019

I particularly enjoyed his speaking voice and mannerisms. He made it feel like I was in the room with a real person talking to a full class of students. I will be searching for anything else he presents.

By tellataletarot

Sep 18, 2020

The course is like a breeze courtesy Dr. Bloom engaging lecturing style ably supported by witty animations. Hope there were more courses wrapped like this on Coursera ...this makes learning so much fun!!

By Wendy T

Feb 22, 2020

Very informative and it gives an insight into psychology world for beginners like me. I've always wanted to learn about Psychology and i think this course is a good start for me. Thanks, Professor Bloom.

By Brenda S

Jun 17, 2022

The course was easily understood and gave plenty of thought provoking content. The instructor was clear and concise and used real world references to keep interest up. I enjoyed the course, thank you

By Sadia A

Apr 27, 2021

To be honest, it was an overwhelming course for me. It has expanded my eyesight and way of thinking. Hopefully, the acquired knowledge from this course will help me in my personal and practical life.

By Adityan S

Nov 29, 2020

I have always wondered how human psychology works. This module has helped to learn so much about psychology in a systematic way. The content is very descriptive and one can grasp the concept easily.

By Harriet P

Jun 3, 2020

Great lecturer, great content, great animation, only thing missing - graded assignments. Great job Paul Bloom, Yale University and all the other people who contributed to the creation of this course.

By Satya C R S

May 29, 2020

This course offered me a lot to think about what we are as Human Beings and I'm glad that I took this course and Prof. Paul Bloom is excellent in this course and I find this course thought provoking.

By Michaela M

May 30, 2020

Extremely good and relevant information as well as the accumulation of noteworthy scientific thought regarding human psychology, including child development, human behavior and abnormal disorders.

By Ludmila G

May 15, 2020

El curso me gusto mucho, la unidad nº 5 es muy interesante pero algunos videos estaban repetidos con otras unidades y sin subtítulos, me quedo un poco inconclusa. El profesor explica muy bien.

By amaidhi

Dec 6, 2019

I found the course very interesting, Prof Bloom has explained the concepts very simply and clearly. Please let me know if there is a follow-up course as I would like to leam more on the topic.

By Uday S

Feb 2, 2021

Good introduction to Psychology. Clear overview of various areas of investigation. A little too much emphasis on terminology which, without further in depth study, is unlikely to be retained.

By Aqsa n

Sep 27, 2020

it was a great course for the beginner to get the start up on further knowledge regards of psychology ahead. it was really engaging and the format was great. I enjoyed it overall. thank you.

By Dipak A

Jul 29, 2020

The course was engaging and gave me a thrilling insight into psychology. Provided me answer to questions and gave me insights into various theories; how the human brain thinks and perceives.

By Sourov S

Jul 4, 2020

In my sense, most of topics were just discussed but my quench for that topic was not fulfilled. More reasonable things like causes and effects should be added in some lectures. Overall Okay

By Asir I I Z

Jun 17, 2020

course content and the speaker was good but i expected him to be present rather than being in the animation. this is just my personal opinion so nevermind. this is a course to be suggested.

By Viktoriia

May 16, 2020

Thank you a lot, Paul Bloom and the company, for creating this course! It helps me to understand this particular field - my goal is reached :)

The idea with video illustrations is amazing!