Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Relational Databases (RDBMS)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Relational Databases (RDBMS) by IBM

4.6
stars
536 ratings

About the Course

Are you ready to dive into the world of data engineering? In this beginner level course, you will gain a solid understanding of how data is stored, processed, and accessed in relational databases (RDBMSes). You will work with different types of databases that are appropriate for various data processing requirements. You will begin this course by being introduced to relational database concepts, as well as several industry standard relational databases, including IBM DB2, MySQL, and PostgreSQL. Next, you’ll utilize RDBMS tools used by professionals such as phpMyAdmin and pgAdmin for creating and maintaining relational databases. You will also use the command line and SQL statements to create and manage tables. This course incorporates hands-on, practical exercises to help you demonstrate your learning. You will work with real databases and explore real-world datasets. You will create database instances and populate them with tables and data. At the end of this course, you will complete a final assignment where you will apply your accumulated knowledge from this course and demonstrate that you have the skills to: design a database for a specific analytics requirement, normalize tables, create tables and views in the database, load and access data. No prior knowledge of databases or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top reviews

EG

Feb 25, 2023

The final quiz is perfect as no one can use all the materials together and should use his/her information to pass the test so the point is realistic.

AM

Dec 31, 2023

It is great course to learn relational databases using different DBMS (Db2, PostgreSQL, and MySQL). Plus, the lab materials are useful to practice.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 107 Reviews for Introduction to Relational Databases (RDBMS)

By Lu

Jan 8, 2022

Please make sure lab instruction are 100% currect!!! A misleading screenshot waste at least 2 hours of my time!!!

By Dmitry K

Jul 29, 2021

Half of the course reference to non existant UI (cloud DB2 has new UI). Postgress lab don't work. Lab cli just hangs forever. Had to use my own local instance

By Aaron V

Aug 5, 2022

Unable to complete course due to broken labs. I'm paying for a broken product I can't refund. This low rating is deserved.

By Alaa B

Oct 14, 2021

old way of teaching. Alot of content is suitable for google search engine. Exercises are labor intensive yet the focus could have been put more on understanding and solving problems....

By MOAYAD K A

Sep 24, 2022

The course is good but not clearly explianed, at least for me, it's like giving you half the info. and the other half I have to check google or other resources so I can understand the whole idea.

The project was a huge mess, I like the idea but the implemntation was awful, even the peer grading was a mess cause the images aren't clear.

I would not recommend this course to anyone.

By Amarendranadh C P

Nov 29, 2021

The course is well structured and well explained with extra hands on experience. I strongly recommend this course.

By orakanma c

Jun 8, 2022

The course is amazing, challenging, educating and interesting.

By Jathine W

Feb 12, 2022

This is an introduction course, very basic. I was always able to connect to the Skill Lab server for the hands on assignments. I was also not able to get extension for my IBM cloud account to finish my assignment, this shouldn't part of requirement. When I post messages for help in the forums, there is no TA to answer your question promptly.

By Latoya D

Oct 16, 2023

Why does the peer review assignment dictate if we pass the course of not.

By NISHIT T

Apr 14, 2022

Very Bad

By Desten P

Sep 29, 2021

Really great and gives a foundation of relational databases.

By Michael C

Mar 17, 2022

The use of IBM services limited opportunities to study. Generally methods and common practices werre explained in great detail.

By Huynh N P

Jul 22, 2021

The position of course outline is not correct!

By Thibault

Nov 11, 2021

Many problems with the Skill Labs tools and I had to instal everything on my local computer in order to complete this course

By Yevgenia C

Aug 9, 2022

The content is interesting and informative but the mandatory lab software doesn't load properly and there isn't any way around it unless you pretend to do it. Not ideal.

By David H

Jul 24, 2022

This is a very good course. I got clear idea/concept about RDBMS which can support my further learning.

This cours includes many hands-on lab work. Possibly a little bit challenging. But I think those hands-on works are very critical and helpful.

By Natale F

Nov 10, 2021

Excellent course on relational databases. After a theoretical knowledge base you can apply it to PostgreSQL, MySQL and the IBM DB2 cloud.

The final project is complete and allows you to create your own database.

I recommend it!

By Santiago Z A

Sep 4, 2022

Great Course.

I think that it should go deeper about the Normalization concept, but for being an Introduction is really amazing!

By Roberto C U G

Aug 17, 2022

Final quiz was hard, took several attempts to score 100%, but it was good practice!

By 克兰弗

Oct 22, 2021

The course is useful for understanding the basic knowledge of database

By Subha V

Jun 11, 2022

This course gives very good undestading of RDBMS.

By Santiago B V

Oct 28, 2021

Muy completo a nivel practico y teórico.

By Joseph R M

Oct 14, 2021

Good overview of several popular RDBMS's

By Jumrus R

Apr 2, 2022

great introduction to how RDBMS works

By Abhinav R

Aug 26, 2021

One of the best courses for beginners