Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Product Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Product Management by University of Alberta

4.6
stars
5,925 ratings
1,118 reviews

About the Course

This course highlights the importance and role of software product management. It also provides an overview of the specialization, as well as its goals, structure, and expectations. The course explains the value of process, requirements, planning, and monitoring in producing better software....

Top reviews

NK

Jan 11, 2019

The course was very interactive, useful and interesting. I can definitely apply the knowledge that I gained out of this course to my day on day work on Software Management. Kudos to the production and

ED

Feb 19, 2018

Though it is an introductory course, it is packed with great information about managing a software product. I enjoyed the course, and I am moving on with the next course on the SPM specialization.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 1,094 Reviews for Introduction to Software Product Management

By Syed M O S

Jul 22, 2020

nice

By Narendra P M

Jun 07, 2020

Nice

By Arun P S

Jun 06, 2020

good

By Muhammad S A

Oct 02, 2020

ok

By Darren D

Feb 26, 2016

G

By Vikas G

Jan 31, 2016

I

By Freek d B

Dec 22, 2018

It's challenging to teach and learn product management through an online course. You can get an overview of the important topics and learn the theory, but this doesn't enable discussion, exchanging experiences, and forming balanced opinions. A product management does a lot of her/his work by talking (to many different people involved), which is very difficult to train online (it could be done with role playing assignments supported by video conferencing, but I think learning from experienced colleagues in practice is a much better way). The quizzes are often a good way to rehearse the topics that have been explained, but sometimes feel like an extremely simplified black-white view on very nuanced issues.

The best parts of the Software Product Management courses for me were the larger assignments you make that are reviewed by fellow students (getting feedback is very useful and it's also instructive to see what approach your peers took) and the interviews with experienced product managers which offer valuable insights in the complicated situations product managers often have to deal with.

I recommend this course to anyone that is new to software product management and quite new to software development. The course can be a good first step on your path to becoming a product manager, as long as you realize that you will also need a lot of skills that an online course cannot teach you.

By Jimena C

Feb 11, 2018

I really like the themes, but for me, the videos go so fast, and there is not a value added to see the teachers talk, I would prefer to see slides with the content that they are explaining.

Also, in the exams, when I have a wrong answer, I like how it shows why is not right my answer, but also I want to see what is the correct answer.

The discussion forums, have entries so old. And here I would like to have Questions and Answers about each week, or each module ( So we can go in each group to see if somebody else has the same questions).

Thank you!

By ckt0922

Mar 25, 2016

This course provides general introduction to software product management which can help students to pick up founding concepts of a number of how a product management cycle looks like as well as the spirit of agile practices.

As an introductory course, the material do not cover practical tools or details on how the actual product management should carry on. Expect the students should take the full specialization to advance the skills and knowledge to take the knowledge into a practical level.

By Denis B

Apr 09, 2016

Nice introduction, although I don't see any reason to call this "a course", if it's less than 2 hours total (at least it felt that way) while we have to listen to an intro every 5 minutes of it.

Would've rated it 2 stars based on the content, but the level of presentation was really good and I appreciate the effort.

By Paloma J

Apr 21, 2020

I thought the course to be a bit in the superficial side, it could have gone deeper on the subject. Also, too much time was spent in outlining its content. But I do appreciate the complementary resources, especially the TED videos as they help make the course more dynamic.

By Ivo V D R

Dec 06, 2015

Aunque está muy bien producido, creo que lo han alargado innecesariamente; al fin y al cabo, es una introducción, y podría haberse resumido en un video o dos, dejando todo el material que dan (bien poco) repartido entre el resto de cursos de la especialización.

By Kimberly K J

Jan 16, 2016

Very weak on modern-day best development practices, and many of the "phases" discussed are closer to the anti-pattern of Waterfall, not Agile. I'm surprised to see an entire course on Software Product Management without a single mention of Lean principles.

By Onil M

Dec 08, 2019

Good foundation for Software PROJECT Management.

Important Correction here, this course nor this Specialization seem to really be about "PRODUCT MANAGEMENT" they call it that but its all really Project Management for Software.

By Megha G

Oct 12, 2016

It is a super-short course and is helpful mainly to give one an idea of what software product management means. I found the lectures on Agile principles, etc., very theoretical and textbook-style -- not too interesting.

By Sean H

Nov 26, 2016

Good information, but the material is a little dry (the subsequent courses in the specialization are much more fun) - it's hard to make the introduction exciting, but adding some interactivity would be helpful.

By Scott K

Oct 26, 2015

Very theoretical course. If you don't know much about software management, this course might have some good info, but covers things you probably know if you have been involved in any software management.

By Rahul N

Sep 20, 2016

This course is very theory heavy. Not sure how memorizing concepts from the Agile manifesto will help in becoming a better product manager. I hope further courses are more application oriented.

By Steven S

Oct 23, 2015

Seemed like more of two week advertisement of the specialization and Agile, rather than a course. Some good information in the video lectures, but very heavy handed on the delivery.

By Alexander P

Dec 12, 2018

A very basic entry level course for people without any background in Product Management, in my opinion should be integrated within follow up courses and not be a standalone course.

By Omar E F

Jan 05, 2016

This is good content, but way too broad and general to be considered a proper introduction. The course was too easy for my taste to be considered worthy of a certification.

By Janneke S

Dec 19, 2016

Good intro course on software product management. The interviews with software product managers were interesting, as well as the supplemental materials (TEDtalks, reads).

By Gabriella H

Jan 10, 2020

Not suitable as a course on it's own - definitely more of an introduction to a more detailed course.

Supplementary resources need to be updated as not all links work.

By Lindsay R

Dec 30, 2018

I appreciate the material covered but would have preferred being able to opt out with an alternative "Agile refresher" for people coming from a software background.

By Larisa R

Jan 19, 2019

Questions in quizzes sometimes are not difficult, but confusing (wording itself). So even knowing the correct answer might not help to read the question properly.