Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Virtual Reality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Virtual Reality by University of London

4.7
stars
1,564 ratings
410 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to Virtual Reality (VR). The course will teach you everything from the basics of VR- the hardware and the history of VR- to different applications of VR, the psychology of Virtual Reality, and the challenges of the medium. The course is designed for people who are new to VR as a medium. You may have experienced some virtual reality before, and may have some hardware- but this course is suitable to individuals who have never experienced VR and those who do not have much hardware- we will explain Mobile VR as well as devices such as the Oculus Rift and HTC Vive. Introduction to Virtual Reality is the first course in the Virtual Reality Specialisation. A learner with no previous experience in Virtual Reality and/or game programming will be able to evaluate existing VR applications, and design, test, and implement their own VR experiences/games using Unity by the end of the specialisation....

Top reviews

MA
May 13, 2020

The course is highly recommended by me. Learned so many things at once. All the lecturers are too good in illustrating a complex issues and now my basic ideas about virtual reality is clear and wider.

NC
Jan 28, 2018

Very good overview of theory of VR and a great start to deepen the knowledge. The course encourages you to seek out additional information and prompts you to think of applications of the technology.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 410 Reviews for Introduction to Virtual Reality

By A. S

Oct 29, 2020

Good

By Swarolip C

Sep 27, 2020

good

By DHANUSH S

Sep 24, 2020

Nice

By Vimonisha.a

Jul 29, 2020

good

By Arif S

Jun 30, 2020

good

By DIVYANG G

Jun 11, 2020

#:-)

By V S V

Jun 2, 2020

good

By Philip S

Jun 15, 2021

g

By Roli G

Jun 1, 2020

This was my introduction to VR and I am happy to have taken the course. They have been fairly particular to ensure that information is understood by people from all backgrounds, and discussions on the psychology of why VR beats some other media in immersion are well explained. There are a few places that the course could do better

(1) Week2 and Week4 assignments are fairly similar

(2) the reading assessment time of 10-mins is wrong for many readings. It takes much longer and many times, watching the video is much faster. Most people don't need to read the research papers

(3) it leaves the user with a feel of a "theoretical" course, while this subject is all about the experience and being hands on. Not sure how, but perhaps some simulations could be included that gives users the feel of VR better.

By Elisa C

Sep 24, 2020

This review covers the 5 class specialization in virtual reality. The curriculum and the lectures are excellent, and the material is interesting and fun to learn. The project work can be hard because the class materials are out-of-date due to Unity breaking forward compatibility. Peer grading doesn't work well, partly because there are so many different version of Unity, and because Unity projects are often too large to upload. Most people upload the runnable application only, and sometimes just a video. The other issue with peer grading is that there is a significant percentage of people trying to get credit despite not doing the assignments. But if you take the classes seriously, you will learn a lot.

By Kartikeya A A

Apr 9, 2020

FAULTY GRADING SYSTEM

The course is good. It gave me a good insight into the VR field and I am going to continue with the specialization.

The fact that they use the peer grading system is very faulty. I have seen peer students just going through the review section without paying heed to what the person has written. If peers are going to be critical about the grading system they should at least write down what was missing. In my final submission, 3 guys reviewed me.

First 2 went on and gave me 16/16 and 15/16, but the third guy just went on and gave a 7/16. I do not know how this makes sense. Maybe he might have seen something missing but never mentioned. Or he just did it on his wimp.

By Nicole A

Jul 2, 2020

This course was pretty good. The lectures are helpful and there are a lot of supplementary materials (like articles and videos) posted alongside the lectures, which is understandable given that the world of VR is developing rapidly. I found the quizzes frustrating because there was no feedback. If you got an answer wrong, there was no way of knowing what the correct answer was, which was counter-productive, since a lot of the answers were quite nuanced (and sometimes required more than one answer - again, not particularly intuitive). But overall the course was very informative.

By Richard

May 9, 2018

Very good content!

Only 4 stars because some of the videos seemed a bit repetitive and didn't have enough point forms in the videos. The scripting could definitely be a bit tighter on many of the topics.

For a lot of the basics, I recommend the Google VR and 360 class, or the Michigan Teachout on VR first.

Would give 5 stars if they cleaned these up a bit otherwise. It was really interesting and helpful otherwise! This included a lot of content the other classes mentioned did not cover and vice versa. Looking forward to the next in the specialization!

By Pier L L

Oct 12, 2018

Very good introduction to VR. Unfortunately, I had to stop for a month waiting for the incoming peer review feedback and this was quite stressful. I could not actually review other people works since there were none available so at the end it has been quite tiring and I lost momentum in my activity but the lecture are really interesting.

By Tanay A

Aug 25, 2020

The course is amazing and extremely informative. The only problem I had was the peer review system because out of 8 reviews that I did only 2 had actual answers and the rest were blank. On my submission as well someone had marked 0s for some answers which were clearly explained and rated full by others which is kinda concerning.

By Gerhard L

May 9, 2018

Interesting introduction to VR hardware, theory and history. The lecturers are clearly experts in their field, however the videos would have been a lot more interesting with richer images, graphics and examples to accompany the script, especially considering the pace is quite slow. I look forward to doing the other modules.

By Freddy E

Jul 15, 2020

I thought the course was informative and offered a lot of interesting information about the basics of VR, however I didn't feel like the course challenges you to think too critically about the technology. Many of the students also appear to be bots that paste random info into assignment fields.

By James S

Sep 19, 2019

Good course! Great content. Concerned about the issues with getting the assignments peer reviewed! Took a lot of extra time waiting for the final assignment to be reviewed and caused an additional month charge/billing that would not have happened if the reviews were done in a timely fashion!

By Antti K

Jul 9, 2020

A clearly organized course. I appreciated that it explained e.g. the psychology behind VR concepts, explaining not only how to build VR applications, but also why certain things work and don't work, and why, from a physiological point of view we might encounter problems.

By TheBlue P

Jul 21, 2020

This course is an interesting take on the subject of virtual reality, and the tutors are fabulous in conveying the various concepts of virtual reality. However, it is just an introduction and has very little to do with the technical aspects of it.

By Carol C

Nov 27, 2017

A very interesting history and context to the use of VR in the field of Psychology. This course provided interesting insights into how the VR media is experienced differently from other electronic media (pros and challenges).

By Anton A S

Dec 21, 2019

I wish there could've been a one-and-one facetime for the "final project" or just a professional feedback for that last paper that we all did. Otherwise, overall a good course to take for beginners.

By Mykhailo M

Oct 3, 2020

The 4th week was really interesting and the assignments were fun. However, other lectures were a bit boring and the material was quite obvious, so giving it 4 weeks is too long.

By Mustafa A

May 10, 2020

It was a really informative course. I got to know about a lot of things regarding virtual reality. The lectures given are really in a simple manner and easy to understand.

By MAKBOOL S W

Aug 13, 2020

This course is very beneficial for anyone who want to gain knowledge in VR (virtual Reality).

And I feel that now I have more knowledge,more Idea about in this VR field :)