Chevron Left
Back to Investment Strategies and Portfolio Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Investment Strategies and Portfolio Analysis by Rice University

4.1
stars
210 ratings
49 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn about latest investment strategies and performance evaluation. You will start by learning portfolio performance measures and discuss best practices in portfolio performance evaluation. You will explore different evaluation techniques such as style analysis and attribution analysis and apply them to evaluate different investment strategies. Special emphasis will be given to recent financial market innovations and current investment trends. After this course, learners will be able to: • Describe performance measurement measures • Evaluate portfolio performance • Describe and contrast different investment strategies • Propose investment strategy solutions...

Top reviews

FR

Aug 25, 2020

The techniques learned i this course can be applied in various investment settings. The excel workings really make things easy and applicable

DG

Jul 02, 2020

Best course. I was able to apply what I learned to my job. My office loved the ideas I brought to the table from this course.

Filter by:

26 - 48 of 48 Reviews for Investment Strategies and Portfolio Analysis

By Bob C

Jul 31, 2017

A really good course that I would certainly recommend. The only thing that let it down was that some of the solutions to the final quiz were incorrect and led to some frustration on the forum!

By Vadim F

Dec 17, 2017

I think that this particular course could have a bit deeper dive into the topic, felt more like a general overview compared to previous courses in the specialization.

By Thierry D

Mar 10, 2017

Excellent presentation on investment strategies and portfolio analysis, Thanks you! Noted a few issues with the quiz and spreadsheet presented which had some errors.

By Ritika K

Jun 19, 2020

It was great learning from a reputed university. I learnt a lot of things but the practical assignment were awesome and very helpful.

By Kweweli T

Jun 20, 2017

Quizzes and assignments have some errors. The forum response is slow, but the lectures are superb. I learned a lot!

By Letlhogonolo M

Mar 13, 2017

Very informative and enlightening. Learnt quite a lot.

By Neelkanth S M

Sep 24, 2019

Expect a little more rigor and real life exercises

By Aravindh P

May 13, 2020

the course is completely fine to pursue...

By Ritvik S

May 01, 2018

Week 2 could be explained a bit better.

By 高鑫禄 ( X

Sep 30, 2018

some mistakes in the final answers

By Gideonwa N

Aug 15, 2017

Excellent course, but there were some errors that have been discussed in the forum but not yet integrated into lectures.

By David L B

Apr 13, 2017

Interesting course material, but there were way too many mistakes in the exercise files. I felt we reached a low point when the only way to pass the assignments was to figure out what the instructor did wrong in the assignments, recreate those problems in my files, and then answer the questions "correctly" with the incorrect data. Really bad.

By David G H

Aug 23, 2019

Confusing explanations referring to other explanations in other courses (so that, it is not self-contained).

Alpha, Beta model not well explained... too theoretical.

IMHO, the worst within the specialization.

By Daniel F

Sep 05, 2017

Material was fantastic. Generally informative, and clear, however the quizs and projects, were often unintuitive, unclear, and at times, simply had the wrong answers. Very frustrating.

By Petri T

Aug 06, 2017

A lot of errors in quizzes and lecture material which are not corrected in timely fashion.

By Fasih K

Jul 10, 2020

Im not that happy with the tutor. teaching style is kind of reading the book.

By David K

Aug 15, 2020

I'm rating this course as a 1 star not because this course is bad, uninformative or unhelpful. This course is actually good, yet I agree with some of other reviewers that previous courses of this specialization were better. With that in mind I would give it 3-4 stars. Nonetheless I am giving this rating because of many errors, typos and staff, that hasn't corrected any of the mistakes several years later after they were pointed out. Those mistakes and errors were frustrating at times and made my learning experience far worse. Let's hope that someone will notice and at last make this course more user-friendly.

By Thomas H

Jul 14, 2017

Errors in support materials abound. Solutions to practice quizzes are incomplete. No response from course staff to address mistakes. It is disappointing to have taken the first three courses in this sequence and to run into such sloppiness in this one. Impossible to build upon what one has already learned.

By Steven E S

Apr 16, 2017

The subject matter for this course is very, very interesting! The professor does a nice job of layering the complexity from basic concepts to more advanced concepts. However, this is where the "good news" ends. The course is full of all sorts of calculation errors on the graded quizes

By Hongze Z

Oct 29, 2017

Graded quiz two is badly designed. Very hard to follow. The course materials do not explain how to calculate these measurements clearly at all.

Strongly not recommend this course.

By Boyi Y

Jun 20, 2020

Dispointing course, just as bad as other courses in the series. I am taking it only because there is no other good alternative on courera.

By Himanshu P

Mar 11, 2017

Way too many errors in the graded assignment. Non-reponsive teaching assistants.

By Xiaochen H

Jul 19, 2017

So many errors in quizzes and solutions. Waste of time.