Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things by University System of Georgia

4.6
stars
1,514 ratings
391 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! You may have heard about the Internet of Things (IoT). But you may also have wondered about what it is. Or for that matter, what does it mean to you or an organization. This course is for you if you are curious about the most recent trends and activities in the internet capabilities and concerns about programmed devices. There are complexities and areas of necessary awareness when the industrial sector becomes connected to your home. Security policies and practices have not yet caught up to the internet capabilities of some of our most common products. The “connected home”, “consumer wearables”, or even an employee’s HVAC system may cause an unanticipated threat to your business environment. You will explore current security and privacy related concerns in each of these areas. Every module will include readings, videos, case studies, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts we talk about. This course offers a place to learn, reflect, and plan for a smart community approach to IoT. Portions of this course may seem extremely technical in nature. That is because the “things” in IoT represents engineering. Try to grasp the concept in that case....

Top reviews

PK

Jan 23, 2017

This module gave me basic understanding on the IoT concepts and the relative security issues associated. It gave me confidence in the field and steps to learning more about this topic.

KR

May 06, 2020

The course provided me with lot of new information about where IoT devices are going to bring changes in our daily to life and how it is important to secure these valuable datas.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 387 Reviews for Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things

By Vinanthi.N.Nayak A

Aug 03, 2020

good work

By Shubham

Jun 06, 2020

excellent

By Ganesh V N

Jun 03, 2020

excellent

By Anupam D

Apr 24, 2020

very good

By Shivam k

Apr 16, 2020

Helpful

By Thiruveni

Jun 18, 2020

good

By Ramakant K

Jun 06, 2020

nice

By Harshavardhan t

May 22, 2020

good

By M P

May 22, 2020

Good

By Rujuta V

May 20, 2020

good

By Mohan K v

May 19, 2020

good

By Amisha

May 08, 2020

good

By Chaitanya S T

Apr 22, 2020

Good

By Sujit V

May 09, 2020

zxc

By Sangeetha N

Jun 13, 2020

.

By M D

Feb 18, 2020

This course provides a lot of reading material, which now appears dated. Attempting to follow links from ancient 2012 manuscripts led me to the conclusion that the course is guilty of believing the hype of the time. Some links and technologies have already perished / passed their sell-by date. From the course t I was expecting more about practical security of IoT devices. I was happy enough doing the reading, but felt that the quizzes gave marks for memorizing percentages and estimates.

By Vishal S

May 07, 2020

Course was more about reading rather video explanation, as been expected by me. Moreover, a mini project or some tool should have been introduced in order to make more informative & fun. Several times during the course it seemed, to be like reading the paper and just answering the quiz. Various protocols & applications should have been introduced.

Overall, its a nice platform to build up basic concepts, and get a strong grip over Cyber Security.

Thank you for introducing this course

By Ronald S

Dec 11, 2017

I really wish we would get out of this "read a white paper and ask me 10-20 questions on it" thing. First, that is academically lazy, and does not demonstrate mastery of content. Second, if you want people to understand IoT, then make them DO something with the knowledge. The course has interesting materials, but the exams and quizzes show a level of academic laziness that you would not see in industry. If I taught a class like this at my company, I'd get yelled at.

By Francine S

Dec 26, 2016

Some good content however it is too reliant on reading a lot of white papers and articles. Some of the readings are very good, however a number of them are out of date for example 2012 in a space that has already rapidly evolved since then. I would have liked to see more examples of how people are exploring ways to address vulnerabilities and activities for cybersecurity

By Nishitha N

May 20, 2020

Thank You so much for the course but the videos were so less, it was more like self reading course.

Moreover the material provided for reading disappointed me, the pages we were supposed to read should have been made to summary or short notes, we were given thesis for professors and websites to just go through.

By Keshav K A B

Jul 02, 2020

The course should depend more on video explaination than attaching some files and asking the user to read. the disadvantage is that we users need to strain or eyes a lot to read the articles that are attached by you.

otherwisw, the course is a good one and informative

thank you

By MD. K H

Jul 19, 2020

The articles provided in this course are great but we need more latest articles as the course is updated till 2016. Also the video contents are not enough and more video lectures are needed. Also the audio in some video is very low.

By ANKITA B

Jun 01, 2020

Instead of giving us soo many research papers to read from, short to long videos explaining those could have been incorporated. But overall a very nice and informative course! :)

By Nikhil S

Feb 27, 2019

Reading material is too much which can be consolidated in a presentation format so that it is easy to understand the concepts. Video content is helpful and easy to understand.

By ATLE C C 1

Jun 24, 2020

Though informative, the data was a bit old. A small update with the current trends might be very crucial as in the world of technology, being up-to date is a must.