Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
10,426 ratings
2,681 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

2576 - 2600 of 2,649 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Nayan N

Sep 5, 2020

Assignment was not updated

By Prajjwal W

Jun 12, 2020

Course content is very old

By Carl E

Feb 1, 2017

The course was too easy.

By Siddhant S

Jun 21, 2020

enable discussion forum

By RASAL K M

May 2, 2020

more practical required

By Justin C

Nov 20, 2016

Didn't learn very much.

By Rui W

Mar 27, 2016

I like this lesson.

By 121710407008 B A M

May 20, 2020

thanks to coursera

By Richard F

Feb 12, 2016

Very basic course.

By Claudio H d C

Feb 11, 2016

Very high level.

By AVALA S

Jun 18, 2020

Nice experience

By Nourhan M

Apr 24, 2020

too long intro

By Akshat A

Sep 6, 2018

Good Course !!

By Ayush M

Mar 10, 2019

decent course

By ABHISHEK T

Aug 23, 2020

good course

By Mohe

Jul 18, 2020

good

By Sayed M R

Jul 3, 2020

good

By Srimathi. S

Jun 24, 2020

Good

By MADISETTY R M

May 24, 2020

Good

By Jorge L A G

Oct 25, 2016

good

By Kevin M

Oct 1, 2015

This class is an extreme example of an introduction to a subject - very basic information. I would guess that anyone who actually knows the term "Internet of Things" and was able to find this course already knows all of the content presented here. For completeness and ensuring that everyone is on the same page, I suppose it it required. I took off one star for how basic, yet drawn-out the information is (it could have been covered in a single week). The other two stars came off because of how tedious the peer-review assignments are and how little they add to the understanding of the content (it is not hard to understand, so the assignment ends up just being busy work). The two stars I gave were because the instructor seems knowledgable and the rest of the specialization looks promising.

By Leonardo M

Sep 21, 2020

The content is very simple and general. I did not feel like I was learning any real concepts behind embedded systems, just some vaguely explained marketing terms. The quizzes, like in most Coursera courses, were absolutely useless, most of the time the wrong options are extremely obvious so there's no need to pay much attention. There's also no incentive to put much effort in the peer reviewed assignments, since you'll likely either get graded by people who won't even bother to check your work properly and give you low marks, or just get full scores without any feedback. The Wireshark assignment was a total pain to finish since the instructions were unclear, the video on the topic is very outdated and there isn't even a discussion forum to get help.

By Shawn P

Aug 27, 2018

The information presented is all useful and interesting, but it is hard to call this a course. I could see this instead being done as 2 videos, each 30 minutes or so long and presented as an introduction during the next course in the series. What there is of the course though is excellently presented and explained.

The peer review is, as often the case, something of a gamble. While this is a popular course, so the peer reviews will be completed at least, the resulting grades can look like something from a rng.

By Abbas S

Oct 19, 2015

I thought the material was presented at an overly high level and was not particularly useful, particularly in the second half of the course. Add more detail. Furthermore, the presentation style of the professor is not engaging, nor does he address interesting archetypes or examples in his lectures. The early material was fine but again presentation could be dramatically improved. Lastly, the assignments were rather interesting early on but once again quality decreased as the course progressed.

By Juan J C

Mar 3, 2016

Course address some elementary issues about IoT, but the instructor at times seems like he does not have a good grasp of the lecture materials. No access to quizzes or evaluations as auditing participant, which is a shame since most of the Coursera MOOCs allow access to evaluation material under the auditing modality.