Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
11,234 ratings
2,877 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,841 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By ABESHEK B B

Apr 20, 2020

I had a good experience with the iot and embedded systems.

The explanation by the professor was really understandble and knowledgeable. This course helped me out to understand these concepts and chapters.

By malempati r

Oct 23, 2015

I like this course Introduction to the internet of things and embedded systems conducted by university of California,Irvine,it gives clear picture of what is internet of things,it is really good course.

By Tejaswini P

May 31, 2020

good and not only learning of course here, am glade to hear your rapid english ......i am feeling happy to do course in this coursera.....well feeling happy for completion of this course.Bye Bye....

By Utkarsh S

May 23, 2020

Thanks Ian Sir for introducing in such a great way about the IoT devices and Embedded systems, about Networking and its various related terms like router,server,switch etc.

I really enjoyed learning.

By Islam B

Jul 17, 2020

Very Great Professor and University. I really enjoyed this course, Of course this Course was not so sophisticated but I highly recommend this course to who ever is interested in Embedded Systems.

By Christian C

Jul 15, 2020

Please Review my Assignment!! I don't want my subscription to end!

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/QVfqbMbxEeqwjxJtwcpIbQ

By Harikrishnan S

Jul 3, 2020

A great course to learn as a beginner, gave intense knowledge about the basics of Embedded systems and their applications in Internet of Things. Thanks for this great experience and learnings.

By Sarvesh J

Apr 30, 2020

Very Helpful to get started with IoT and Embedded System. The Instructor is very skilled and presented the course very neatly. Good Job! I would surely Recommend this course to my classmates.

By kota N

Oct 1, 2020

This is really a very good course for the people who want to understand the IoT & Cloud computing from basic to enhanced level. The practical approach of assignment of each area is fantastic.

By Jovan D V

Jun 25, 2020

Great professor! One of my fave instructor so far. Very intuitive about the discussions and explains very well the topics. You will really learn a lot from him. Kudos! Thank you Prof. Harris!

By Parag R

Jan 26, 2019

Prf. Ian Harris has explained the basis of IOT in simple , effortless words. Enjoyed this online course wholeheartedly. Definitely for any new bee to take this course to clear concepts... :-)

By Waleed M

Jan 17, 2021

This is one of the most informative courses about the internet of things. It touches many fields for further studies. I wish if anyone interested in internet of things can study this course.

By Anbarasi K

May 26, 2018

Really awesome course that taught the basics of Internet of things in a real simple and clear way. Thank you Ian! I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to know the basics of IoT.

By Tsopnang S R

Jun 27, 2016

This course it very interresting. I'm now ready for connecting all my devices and all my embedded systems. Thanks for it. i'll procced to the next module of Specilization. Thanks again!!!!!

By Deleted A

Jan 10, 2016

I enjoy the manner how the complicated things are simply explained. Very practical approach. And the tasks are some... tricky)) so they provide you with possibility to think out of the box)

By Orsala M B

Aug 18, 2020

I Found Very Interesting while learning this course it made me to think over many new technological aspects this course gave new Wide range of Knowledge and an Opportunity to excel myself

By AMAN K M

Apr 29, 2020

Coursera is best online learning platform. i learned "Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems" from University of California, Irvine. i thankful to Coursera and U.O.C.

By Shruti

Apr 20, 2017

Perfect for a complete beginner in the field.. well explained, well-paced and interesting with practical assignments... learned a lot from this course... thank you, professor Ian Harris..

By Hemamalini S

Jan 14, 2016

The course explains the basics of Iot. I like the way the prof delivers the lecture, very easily understandable. A good brush up course for intermediate and advance level students too.

By Amit K M

Aug 24, 2019

Best IOT introduction course. Everyone must try. He teaches everything from basic so that a beginner will be easily able to understand every topic of IOT, Embedded and Communication.

By MN K

Jul 19, 2017

I have lot of applications in my industry where i can make use of micro controller projects as a IOT device and network protocols which will help in our industrial maintenance also

By Kevin M

Aug 15, 2016

I enjoyed doing this module of the IOT course. It is well structured and provides a good grounding for the IOT. Thanks Coursera. Off now to sign up of the next module of this course.

By Jose J T

Mar 15, 2020

It was a great pleasure learning through this course. Thank you for making it so easy to follow through. the assignments were thorough and well designed.

Kudos to the Coursera team!

By ahmad k

Dec 16, 2020

I would give the course 4.5. Overall I can say the course is good as an introduction but do not expect a lot of it as the course is just aiming to give you a brief understanding.

By Ramji B

Aug 21, 2020

Really i enjoyed learning the concepts presented in this course. Eventhough i belonged to non IT domain, but the the way prof. thought the subjet helped me digest every bit of it