Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,223 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

OA

Jun 30, 2023

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 3,553 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Joel L

Sep 2, 2019

Very intense course. I had a lot of learning of all the different types of security systems and getting to see how logs analysis worked for abnormal network usage, the different encryption protocols, most of the things here. It was nice to see how Security tied into sys admin with the use of LDAP or Active Directory, and that while complicated, it isn't all beyond my understanding and that there are literally youtube videos and internet articles to help explain everything. Thanks for a great course!

By Maribeth H

Mar 9, 2019

This was the most difficult and time-consuming of the 5 courses. I loved all of it except the final assignment, which I think had a poor grading structure and needed at the very least to have a better rubric for learners. The only way to complete it and earn full points was to either wing it and then redo it once you saw your peer grade or review the discussion forums to learn more about the assignment. It didn't really give a lot of room for creativity and the instructions were seriously vague.

By Daniel C

Jan 20, 2019

This course has been inspiring to me! I have learned sooooooo much in my two months of high-tech training. GOOGLE/COURSERA, you have taken my mind to new, amazing heights that I've always dreamed of...THANK YOU ALL! From the creators to the researchers and everyone in between, you have my sincerest congratulations on all time, patience, training, skilled educators and knowledge to devise this unique program to heighten ones knowledge and dreams! Again, I thank you all!

By Nasratullah K

Dec 28, 2018

Google IT Certification is one of the Greatest IT Certification which covered Hardware, Software, Networking, System Administration and etc, but I hope you will add iPhone and Android Phones in this IT Certification and I wish this IT certification will get the future soon amongst others

IT Certification as Microsoft, Comptia, Cisco, Linux, and others and I hope this Google IT Certification will be a requirement in soon and hopefully It will help in job search.

By Sherifat F

Feb 21, 2019

This happened to be the most interesting course of all (as far as I know). It did open my eyes into better understanding of some areas in IT security that I only had a little knowledge about prior to taking this course and also opened my eyes into much more new ones.

Its really been a very wonderful journey down the learning path. Thank you google for giving me the opportunity to be a better person in the realm of IT as a whole.

By Aaron H

Oct 3, 2019

I enjoyed the course. I really wanted to take more quizzes along the way and less supplemental readings (instead I would prefer it be covered in some way). Overall, I learned quite a bit in this course. I was hesitant to jump into some things I had not done in the past, but it encouraged me to do extra reading, alternative practice, and even look at the path I want to thank. I am grateful for this course.

By Habeeb R

Jul 9, 2019

this was a tough and difficult course for me as a beginner with no experience and very little background but with the well to learn and the drive as well as the videos of inspiration by google employees i push through and completed a milestone in my life and career as well.

GREAT PROGRAM EVERYONE THAT IS INTO IT WORK< CAREER OR WANTING TO JUST LEARN SHOULD TAKE THIS ENTIRE COURSE ON COURSERA

By Emmanuelle M

Sep 16, 2018

This was the true test of everything we learned. When it came time to do the final assignment I thought back and realized WOW, we covered a LOT of stuff! Network security is so important and I feel confident that I have learned pretty much all there is to know thus far in terms of what's out there on the market. Now it's just time to apply said knowledge so that I don't forget all about it.

By Murray T

Oct 23, 2018

IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts, fully deserves five stars. The subject is huge and our lecturer ensured we thoroughly covered the topic with examples of the good and the bad including how cryptography works! The final assessment was worthy of the course material and demonstrates the immense amount of thought and care that went into preparing the material. Thank you!

By Ronald P

May 13, 2019

i learned a bunch in this course. the intrusion detection and prevention and packet snooping is something i have been interested in for some time. i have utilized a few linux servers of the years and have never implimented any of the things i learned here.... you can be sure i will now. I just wish it was more in depth, however for the scope of the course this was still a great lesson

By Dishelesh J

Mar 21, 2019

The final project was/is a precursor to submitting a document for job assignment or contract. The information learned was useful and encouraged growth. I spent more than reading the supplementals than normal. I am better equip for a job interview in IT Support and Software Security Engineer, which was a goal. Thank you for this course, content and interactions.

By Gamaliel V

Mar 18, 2018

Definitely, this is the good challenge, I really enjoy "Google IT Support Professional Certificate", was a good experience, It helped me to remember some topics and to reinforce knowledge in IT.

It is important to stay in constant training, practice and read and deepen in this field of information technologies. Is an advice of an IT person.

Regards

Gamaliel Vazquez

By Tatiana P

May 16, 2019

Having completed this whirlpool of 100% CISSP secured retina scan 6-PACK

within the Radius of Heather Adkins Epoch Unix Time AI Lab,

Hats off to Google's fun+mental team for "deep diving" into rock solid 6 weeks of IT Security:

Defense against the digital dark arts

By Rushab J

May 8, 2020

An exceptional course with great insight and explanation on every single concepts. Helps students to understand the roots of security, slowly teaching them about its use-cases and applications in real life. Would recommend to anyone who has keen desire to understand security basics and have an overall idea about this subject.

Great work preparing the course!!

By Moon L

Apr 7, 2020

Very challenging but rewarding course to understand info sec and cryptology from scratch. While the content could go really (over) technical, but the course is full of good topics and addressing different key themes to make you think and research more. The quiz, lab and coursework was very difficult yet intuitive and engaging. Great course, learnt so much!

By Vera N G

Jan 12, 2019

The course was excellent and complete and I had to study a lot and work hard to accomplish it. The teacher explained very well and the practical tests and quizzes are very well prepared. I must say that after working with IT so many years, there were lots of new and very important subjects that I learned. Congratulations! Thank you very much!

By Jody S D

Oct 5, 2018

This course had its challenges. Going through each course there were things I already had a basic understanding and some was new to me. Coursera had its lessons and courses well thought out. Its instructors were knowledgeable and gave me knowledge and skills that companies are looking for. Thanks for this well designed certifications.

By shadow m

Feb 29, 2024

I loved the whole experience beginning to end. I came in already having a BA from state university. Well organized, well produced, and combined with note-taking this course is a no-brainer. Go for it!

By Prasun K

Apr 10, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

By Dazian M

Aug 14, 2023

Course was very knowledgeable and worth taking. I feel like the training wouldn't be complete if I didn't know about security and how important it is not just for me but for everyone using technology!

By Osisanwo A A

Jul 1, 2023

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

By Gourav D

Sep 5, 2020

Great course a lot to learn and a lot to know along with great and cool teaching staff I enjoyed much and learned a lot. Thanks to all the teaching staff and google for such a wonderful course.

By Arbind M

Nov 25, 2019

It's very nice even the teacher is very pleasant the way of representing things is just mind-blowing i am too happy to learn with it. I feel I am too lucky to have such a teacher!! Hats off!!

By Kinjal D R

Sep 19, 2021

The most wonderful course containing all concepts of IT security,defense in depth.Must recommendable cert for security professionals.Thank you !!

By Harsha M

Sep 21, 2021

Excellent mode of imparting knowledge...you made me go after knowledge...in a quest for fulfilment!