Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,223 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

OA

Jun 30, 2023

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 3,555 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Alejandro M

Jan 4, 2021

Everything has been interesting, what I have struggled with the most has been with the translations and the amount of acronyms, my next steps are to expose it to my employment counselor and together plan my spasos to follow, I think it will be to continue training, I would like to learn the Web development

By Parsuram P

Oct 24, 2020

It was totally worth it! I am happy and satisfied with the outcome. this course has been a difficulty journey but it was amazing for me. I learned a lot and this has given me confidence in my skill set and ability. I recommend this course to anyone looking the take that next step in Information Technology.

By Rucavanne H

Feb 20, 2024

This course was amazing! Thank you to all the instructors and especially Coursera. If I have one criticism it would have to be the certificate! I just feel that the certificate should have been signed by a Google official instead of just being signed by Google. That would have given it so much more power.

By Vineet J

Jul 25, 2020

THanks you for all your guidance and sharing the indepth knowledge which can be fruitful for me or for anyone who is willing to spend some time and learn about the IT secuirty . I would definetely do a refresher as to make to keep myself upgraded and share my knowledge and skill with my friends and family

By Md. G R D M

Feb 5, 2022

Google IT Support SpecializatiI enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organized and focused on practical situations. This is an excellent course especially for professionals, The instructor is great, explains the material clearly. Thank you instructor, google and Coursera

By Rolando F

Jun 18, 2022

Great courses It gives me knowledge and experience on how to protect myself and company that I will work for on the danger and implement a solution. Even though it was a beginners course it's give a very strong foundation. This course is great for novice and profesional who never expose on IT security.

By Marius K (

Jun 26, 2018

This course is a very good one. My only concern is that it is less practical. We need some practical experience. If you cna include at least one software to exercise this new tool, it will be great. Too many new terms are digested here without any practical take away. Please take in consideration this.

By Seannae L

May 3, 2022

Very captivating and I loved the labs because it allowed me to get hands on experience with both Windows and Linux systems. This is the perfect starter course for someone interested in getting into IT Support. I highly recommend this course to everyone who asks me how to get started in the IT field.

By Kaniesha W

Aug 28, 2020

Of all of the five courses in the IT Support Specialist specialization, I found this one to be the easiest to grasp. That might be because by now we've learned a lot of different information in the first four courses. I definitely just had an easier time grasping new information in this course.

By LFTP

Dec 2, 2019

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR AS FAR AS A DIVING IN COURSE FOR NEWTWORK SECURITY. I USED TO THINK I HAD SOME SOFT OF IDEA BEHIND WHAT IT TAKES TO SECURE A SYSTEM, OH MY GOD I WAS SO WRONG THERES SO MUCH GOING ON OUT THERE AND YOU GUYS SEEM TO COVER ALOT OF IT IN THE COURSE SO. IM HERE

By mengyi

Jan 23, 2021

It is absolutely amazing learning experience. I highly recommend it for new entrant to have an overview understanding of IT and master the skills to handle common IT problem. The explanation were detailed and right on the point. Highlighted concept is my favourite part. I am glad I made it!

By Angel N

Jul 16, 2023

Was a great course to do and I'm glad it made me more aware of certain things I didn't know prior to becoming invested in it. Hope more people go through this course if they wish to have more advanced knowledge and methodologies of how to protect themselves or others against cyber attacks!

By Ian S

Aug 6, 2018

My favorite course in the series. The other day, I was made aware of a major security breach in a top 10 social media news source. I UNDERSTOOD EVERYTHING IN THEIR POST-MORTEM! In my opinion, this was the course that really pushed me for the first time in the series. Give me more Google!

By Madelin G

Mar 6, 2023

this course was by far the most challenge and much longer than the other 4 course i had taken. I felt i wasnt going to never finish. Overall you get the concept of what course is about i feel one quiz on week 6 was a bit of a challenge to figure out the steps in order to pass the quiz.

By Akash S

May 22, 2021

This course provides some serious and technical insights on IT security. With good number of assignments and quizzes, you will be able to relate security practices that are being used in your current firm as well as use them when you get a chance to become sysadmin for an organization.

By Hawra

Sep 16, 2020

Wow was this comprehensive! Just basic information of course, but so many things! Recommend for people who want a basic overview of how IT security works. Managers and non-tech people will benefit by learning where their organization is lacking in security and how it can be improved :)

By Brian B

Aug 22, 2023

I really enjoyed this course, particularly the one on IT security. Having just completed this entire course, I now plan on taking the Cybersecurity course offered through Google/Coursera. Thank you Google and Coursera for providing this opportunity and for all that you put into it!

By Brandon M

Dec 30, 2020

Course 5 was very informative and gave me a new perspective on computer, networking, and online security. Nothing is 100% secure. But with the right methods and backups in place, you can minimize the impact of an attack and increase your security with a defense-in-depth mentality.

By OMKAR D

Nov 1, 2020

Please, complete the course fully. Because, at the last they giving to you an amazing 'Big Interview' Opportunity sponsored by GOOGLE where you can improve your Interview Skills for your Professional Career. and Finally, an Awesome Course which I've been looking so far... Thank you.

By Malik Y S

Sep 9, 2022

C'est un cours très insructif et pratique qui peut aider à trouver les solutions necessaire à énormément de problemes en matière de securité,et il reste une référence à la quelle on doit nous retourner dés que le besoin se fait sentir.Merci. à toute l'équipe qui a conçu ce cours.

By Tyvon Z

Oct 3, 2019

Although I've already taken and passed the CompTia Security + exam this was an amazing course, it's a great refresher for those looking to recap on previous knowledge or anyone looking to get their feet wet. I'm looking forward to more courses by Grow with Google in the future.

By Josh K

Dec 3, 2019

Excellent course to develop a breadth of knowledge. I had some basic coding experience coming in, and this course definitely opened up some interesting paths to explore. I feel comfortable after going through the material a couple of times, to take on an entry level IT role.

By Lamar O

Jan 9, 2021

A lot of useful and valuable information packed in each week. If you take your time and re-read the supplemental material, you should not have any issues. I was surprised at the new information that was available. Also, I appreciate the words of encouragement in the videos.

By Julian A W

Aug 13, 2023

I Like This Course I Won It is Great It Is Really Beautiful. I Like This Place Of Coursera Its Is Wonderful Too Bound Too A Do A Make A's In bought A He Won This Course Is Wound Good Way Way's Doo A Just Cutiful Down Way Just Good Down Way Not bad Down Wards No Good Way.

By Regina A N

Oct 12, 2021

In pursuing certification this part for me was the most challenging. Once completed I realize this is the best part. Not a week goes by in the news without mentioning ransomware, data breaches, et al. Data security should be protected from bad actors now more than ever.