Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,592 ratings
464 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

GB
Mar 29, 2017

Good and practical training approach to solve real worlds problems. Assignments and quizzes are quite challenging and interesting. Greatly motivates us towards programming and problem solving skills.

CT
Jul 19, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 456 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By BEE B L

Aug 4, 2020

A lot learned from the course, thanks... ;)

By Liusicong

Feb 15, 2016

The homework is too time consuming.

By Ashaba A D

May 25, 2020

challenging but lots of learning

By REX H

Jun 11, 2018

It's really a good way to learn

By Ahmad O

Sep 24, 2020

Some resources are missing.

By Rene M G

Aug 14, 2017

Thanks... very interesting.

By Bocheng H

Feb 22, 2019

No so much assignments

By SULEYMAN Y

Jan 29, 2020

thank you very much

By Akshay k

Aug 26, 2020

Exellent courses

By Yogesh R S

Sep 30, 2020

Great Course !!

By AKASH V

Jul 12, 2020

very difficult

By 153 S S

May 14, 2021

Good course !

By Slimane D

Jul 17, 2020

for begginers

By Auke E

Jan 30, 2019

Pretty good

By Aydar A

Dec 20, 2017

It was good

By Jesus G

Apr 8, 2016

Good job!!

By mahadeva g

Jul 2, 2020

so good

By Rohit K S

Sep 20, 2020

Nice!!

By Atul k S

Jul 3, 2020

good

By Sathyapriya P

May 27, 2020

Good

By Wan B

Sep 22, 2017

good

By Rachid A N

Mar 6, 2017

g

By Krishna K

Jun 14, 2019

I recommend skipping this course if you have done SOME programming before. This is a LONG course just to cover concepts of Array and hashes which really should be a one or two hour lecture. It is nice that you learn some beginner cryptography though. That said, some of the assignments were unnecessarily frustrating at times and a bit too long. While I think it is a good course. It wasn't right for me. A bit too basic and assignment too long for a subject matter I had a very low level of interest in.

By Mikhail K

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't understand why BlueJ is used, while there are lots of other free Java IDEs (Eclipse, IDEAJ, etc.)

Also i don't agree with some OOP things you say. I don't see any point in creating a separate class for each test case, one class for every single functional class is more than enough (e.g. we need to test a class called MyClass with 4 functions, thus we make no more than one test class with 4 or less (or more) test cases. Especially when you can use JUnit tests)

By Nathan S

Aug 2, 2017

Very good content, however many of the assignments are not worded very clearly and can get confusing. They take much longer than the 10 minutes the course providers allocate and as such it can be easy to get behind on the course.

However, a very good course nonetheless.