Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,814 ratings
499 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

CT
Jul 19, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

LB
Jan 9, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 496 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By Chongjun H

Sep 29, 2017

Useful and helpful, a millstone in the specialization path, but not so preferable if you only enroll this single course.

By Dieter R

Nov 25, 2018

The final quiz has 3 difficult questions for which I could not find a good answer. Luckily my guesses were good enough.

By Zakir S

Jan 23, 2020

Good course but not much help is available to complete assignments and hints are not very helpful when taking quizzes

By Cyan C

Oct 9, 2017

Hope the mentor can be more responsive on forum, as the quiz is getting tougher and need more help on it

By Shridhar S

Aug 9, 2017

It would be helpful if explanations of the problems in the quiz were made available after passing them.

By Ashutosh D

May 23, 2017

A nice course on cryptography. Learned many new data structures like HashMap, HashSet and ArrayList.

By Nuggu S V R

Dec 25, 2015

Great course. Learning Java Data Structures and Cipher encryption was fun.

Good material and problems

By Антон В

Oct 9, 2020

The wording of questions in tests is sometimes misleading, this was not the case in other courses.

By Orlando C

Feb 3, 2018

It is a good start for Java programming. Is very much practice oriented and the videos are clear.

By Masaru N

Nov 11, 2017

One of the most **practical** Java programming courses that I've ever taken.

Thank you so much.

By JP B

May 22, 2020

This is a very good course for the price, assuming you are at the beginner level (like me).

By Pratap B

Jul 16, 2020

Its good training and i gained more on java programming as Array, Lists. Structured data

By Rohan P

Jul 20, 2021

well i learned a lot and more advance function of java plus how to approach any problem

By Devul N

Aug 19, 2017

A pretty challenging and engaging course which taught me a lot of new concepts of Java!

By Nguyen V H

Jun 21, 2017

This course is useful, the teachers have step by step directions to easy understand.

By Anel O

Dec 11, 2016

Excellent course to learn about Structured Data. Challenging exercises and quizes.

By Yash P

Feb 18, 2020

Great for learning about arrays, web logs, list, array lists and structured data.

By Joseph E

Sep 4, 2017

Insufficient detail paid to how syntax works inside programming exercises.

By Ankur A

Dec 21, 2020

Good course, for getting hands on practice writing simple Java programs.

By Pete F

Mar 27, 2017

Challenging, though I seemed to do more than was required. Great course.

By HARSH Y

Sep 21, 2021

i think it is a great course for learning arrays ,list in java deeply

By Nikolay A

Sep 5, 2019

Level of support and quality of content went down from Course 1 and 2

By Himanshu K

Aug 16, 2020

very Nice plateform to Learning....Must Enroll.Thank You soooo much.

By Thomas H

Dec 17, 2015

Week 2 was wayyy too difficult but everything else was just right.

By Mohamed A

Jun 25, 2020

واحدة من الدورات الرائعة لانها تهتم بربط المعلومات بوقائع