Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,820 ratings
499 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

LB
Jan 9, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

GB
Mar 29, 2017

Good and practical training approach to solve real worlds problems. Assignments and quizzes are quite challenging and interesting. Greatly motivates us towards programming and problem solving skills.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 496 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By Fahmidur R

Aug 2, 2020

Great

By 郭亭佑

Jun 12, 2020

Good!

By Ivy L

Aug 8, 2017

Good!

By Deleted A

Aug 4, 2017

good!

By Krishna K G

Sep 29, 2021

good

By K.M. C

Jun 25, 2021

nice

By A.M.CHAMINDA S B A

Dec 20, 2020

nice

By Mohammad A H R

Nov 11, 2020

cool

By Engy M F

Nov 3, 2020

good

By Rahul S

Oct 6, 2020

Good

By Reddy L V

Aug 2, 2020

Good

By Chathura S R

Jul 30, 2020

good

By TEJENDER S

Jul 21, 2020

Nice

By PIYUSH K 1

Jun 6, 2020

good

By M P

Jun 5, 2020

GOOD

By Eromosei E O

Sep 24, 2017

best

By Maria M

Aug 26, 2016

Good

By PIMPHISA L

Jan 11, 2016

good

By Gagan

Jun 5, 2020

..

By Erick Z

Mar 16, 2020

A

By Chiazo A

Jul 26, 2018

As someone who had slight knowledge of Java and who is looking to study computer science, this course filled in the gap that IB Computer Science 1st Year couldn't do - I actually got to code and apply concepts like writing private vs public methods or using getters or for loops. I also had the luxury of having a free summer to complete this and with days of work ranging from 3-6 hours, I managed to finish the course in 26 days. I believe it relies a bit too much on its previous courses at times and the time needed to complete assignments is very off but this is a great way to actually see a project through and push yourself. Thank you Duke!

By Krisztian T

Oct 14, 2018

Great problem sets for a beginner. Teaching good approach to the problems, good algorithm design and build technics. It has to added to all those previous thoguhts that they are hard not easy, so a lot of commitment is needed. This course is not about to make programming sympathatic but to show how to approach a seemingly impossible problem. A definite con of the course is that somewhat unreal with the BlueJ and custom edu libraries, but you can substitute those with real features if you have the commitment to do it by yourself.

By chandu r

Dec 11, 2020

There is a need for help in the week 4 project and on adding to that we are facing a problem to get the first String to print as bluej not able to print all the texts it has a limit of lines to print suppose if we want to print 1000 lines while it can only print 500 lines then it only shows from 500 -1000 lines. so please change questions as to print the last line of the encrypted string. Over the course is superb but needed help in videos some much in the mini project.

By Trần C L

Oct 25, 2019

This is a Dark Souls among courses, I git gud and failed lots of time which enhances my learning so I can debug, look up to stackoverflow and dissussion forums(but yeah I still mostly fail) . This time I passed, feel like a boss! 8/10 would recommend this to my fellow casual programmers what the hardcore one is.

(Edited) Did you guys set this course difficulty as beginner? Wait, that 's illegal!

By João T

Mar 15, 2019

This course optimizes your basics skills concerning programming with java and take you to the nest level. This course increases the workload, practicing and debugging your code.

New concepts are introduced like, Arrays, HashMaps, and object-oriented-programming.

Once more, the professors bring the extra quality and professionalism to this subject.